We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A definite "gem" for kids”

Arthur D. Feiro Marine Life Center
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Feiro Marine Life Center is a non-profit organization that runs a Public Aquarium on the Port Angeles City Pier and provides educational programs in the community.
Madison, South Dakota
Level 6 Contributor
367 reviews
200 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
“A definite "gem" for kids”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

It's not like there's so much to see in this small-town aquarium, the key point is that it is presented in a way that kids can understand and appreciate it. Most of the "staff" are kids themselves and that makes the experience that much more fun. We had a 6 and 8 year old and the touch tanks were great for them. The tanks are full of native fauna that can be found along the beaches or not too far offshore. Watching an octopus eat a crab was "way cool" and being "hugged" by a sea urchin was fun. There's plenty for an older child to do including examining stuff under microscopes. The young volunteer staff are to be commended for their knowledge and enthusiasm.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank docj9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    31
    13
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Budd Lake, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great place to visit”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

This is an excellent small marine center where you can learn about what lurks in tide pools and further out in the Strait. The employees are helpful and will tell you about critters in the tanks and under microscopes. Experience the "hug" of a sea urchin (really fun) or feel the rough skin of a sea star. Further in you can see some incredible creatures of the deep devouring plankton and see an octopus eating a crab. Definitely worth a visit. Remember to see the "Rocktopus" by the parking area.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank nataliah86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canyon, TX, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Almost cost nothing, for tons of information”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

This place is little known, but the employees are amazing. It isn't very large, but kids can have fun for quite a while. If you are curious about the local marine life, have questions about local attractions, - the staff are SO friendly and full of information.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jenna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brigham City, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Little place, great experience!”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

When we first walked into this little place, I wasn't expecting much. However It kept all 17 of us from 1 to 65 captivated. For mountain dwellers like ourselves, seeing and touching starfish, sea anemones, etc. was amazing. The volunteers were right beside us answering questions. It was a great place to visit.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A Sweet, Educational family Attraction”
Reviewed April 28, 2012

This little town of Port Angeles has a little gem in this place right on the shore and they deserve our support.

They primarily had very cool small, interactive (you could touch many of the life-forms there), pools or aquariums filled with critters.

So if you are a fan of tide pool exploration, like we have in the SF Bay area (and like I did when I was a boy), there is nothing like finding all that life (and more) in a comfortable setting with great, knowledgeable, friendly volunteers.

All the colors and sizes of starfish, chitons, anemones, sea squirts, nudibranchs/sea slugs (gorgeous, amazing, little creatures), tide-pool or local fish, and even a crab-loving giant octopus are in this little, well-run place.

I was enchanted, as was my wife; we could not stop taking pictures!

Easily one of our favorite places while we were visiting this port town. During this time they accepted donations but I understand the would normally charge a small entrance fee, which is so worth it.

So we not only donated but also purchased a cap there to show our support of this place. This Center certainly takes some funds to keep it going, and a few dollars seems so little for so much.

Thank you, volunteers, for making this such a special and fun place!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank TanTien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arthur D. Feiro Marine Life Center also viewed

 

Been to Arthur D. Feiro Marine Life Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing