We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where are the tidepools???”

Salt Creek Recreation Area
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This popular coastal area was converted from an old military fort after World War II.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Where are the tidepools???”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

My wife and I were told there were sea otters and tidepools here. The old people in the RV reading books said "what is tide pool. Over there a rock." What?!? Apparently, the tidepools disappear and come back randomly, only going away when we arrived! We were promised an octopus and jellyfishes. No jellyfishes. No octopus. Some guy in a tight body suit that the octopuses were under water. What!?! Nobody told us that! We thought they'd be up on a rock during the day like the turtles we saw in the lake. Also: no. Sea. Otters. Anywhere! None!! The old people said, "what is otter? Like small sea bear?" I said NO. OTTER. Like...Like..."Weasel Fish." This elicited some thoughtful nodding. "Oh. Yes. I see it, this Weasel Fish. He have black hand...little mask...stripe on tail. He make the garbage pail open up. Eat feces in camp dump." No, elder! That's a raccoon. We were told the SEA WEASEL lives here, and FROLICS AND GAMBOLS about in the SEA KELP!!!! "Nyet. He have small hands and a fin like...who you say it...'Freedom Willy'? On this dolphin show that my grand daughter see it in New York. He have small black hand and a fin, skin like smooth belly of obese man that take to drinking. He have furry be-hind but flippers in the back. Some time he spit juice through a hole in his back, make a chit-chit-chit sound through buck teeth. He have tail like a flat sausage, for to carry mud to his block home in the stream-pond. He have a wife. He have child out of egg but yet...he is mammal and take milk from his mother's armpit. This...this is the one." Oh, I said. Just...oh.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Leezard123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    61
    12
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lowell, Michigan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Photo opportunities galore”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

What an amazing place. We only stopped by to see the scenery but if we were campers we would surely return to stay a few days.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank aswysz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Allen, Mexico
Level Contributor
169 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Nasty”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Just looked like a bunch of washed in crud to us. Why bother? The camping area reminded me of some refugee camp. No privacy in the RV areas but the tent areas had some minimal privacy.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank jacjsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fun Place to Spend the Afternoon”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We were in Port Angeles in mid June and visited Salt Creek late one afternoon after spending the morning hiking Hurricane Ridge. We had a lot of fun exploring the tide pools. Although we visited at the low tide for the day, the tide was not actually all that low, so there were not a ton of tide pools. But we had good time. We didn't see any of the big starfish here, but we did find some small ones of a different variety, and that was really fun. We also saw some otters swimming around. Overall, this is a very nice, relaxing place to visit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyofFive_Atl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“One of the best places to camp and relax”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stopped here for two days with our RV for a break from traveling, and found one of the cleanest, most scenic, well-run campgrounds I've ever seen. RV places are near the park entrance, and include hookups and an amazing view of the strait. The back of the park only has spaces suitable for very small RVs and tents, so don't bother to go back there if you have anything much bigger than a pop-up. Sleeping next to the water is very relaxing, as is listening to the fog horns in the distance at night. Views are best around the middle of the day, since fog often comes in overnight.

Staircases lead down to the rocks and beach, providing easy access to the tidepools. We had a lot of fun poking around in the water. Be sure and check the tides before you go, since most of the good stuff in only visible at low tide.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonthomp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salt Creek Recreation Area also viewed

 

Been to Salt Creek Recreation Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing