We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great cost-effective room.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Port Angeles Downtown Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Angeles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Port Angeles Downtown Hotel
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Port Angeles
Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great cost-effective room.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2010

We rented the suite (Room 10) that has a great view of the harbour. Yes, it's a bit noisy from traffic and the heat has two settings: frigid and volcano, but the location is awesome. The convenient walking distance to the downtown restaurants is perfect after a day exploring Olympic National Park. Overall the hotel was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CanadaOutdoorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    76
    29
    16
    6
See reviews for
26
83
26
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2009

This was one of the cheaper places to stay which was near the ferry to Victoria. We chose a room with a queen bed and its own bathroom. And that's just what we got, a bed and a bathroom, close to the ferry. Room has no closet, a tiny tv, and no phone. Room was clean and bed was reasonably comfortable. This is much closer to a B&B than a hotel. Be aware that you have to climb a large set of stairs to get to the lobby and then another set of stairs to get to the floor where most of the rooms are. There did not seem to be an elevator. Also, no AAA discount.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KLEwing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvoregon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2009

I wanted to come to Port Angeles so I could have a central place while I went hiking during the day. I didn't spend much time looking and just decided on this place based on the price and the reviews, and the fact I just needed a place to sleep and eat.

Pros:
-Prices are fairly good
-My room had its own bathroom (smaller ones do not), and was very cute like a townhouse and a nice kitchen area separate from the bedroom.
-In the Middle of Port Angeles, food easy to get to.

Cons:
-Right alongside HWY 101, traffic through the night and easily heard through windows
-I can hear guests in next room talking, using the toilet, toilet lid closing, showering, and snoring.
-Unless space along street (I came during twilight week) parking is separate from building with little lighting. No elevator and had to carry luggage from across street up two flights of stairs, not difficult just inconvenient.

Although the rooms are cute and the town is nice, I would not recommend this to anyone who is remotely a light sleeper. Or for going on a honeymoon, because then all the other guests would be enjoying it too.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lvoregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Angeles, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2009

The hotel is located on the busiest street in town. It's not as busy as a big city main street, but traffic noise is to be expected. That's how you get to be just one block from the ferry and the bus to Seattle & Sea-Tac airport.

The outside looks strange, and there's a long flight of stairs before you get to the lobby. Then another flight up to the rooms. Rooms on one side look onto the street (noise), the other side looks at a roof.

We have stayed here a few times, but always in the off-season, and there was never any noise from other rooms, but very few were occupied. We never saw anyone else in any of the baths. Having the 4 bathrooms across the hall was great -- we could each have our separate bathroom, using two at the same time! A real advantage when you have 2 people rushing to get ready to leave. Furniture in the rooms is sparse, but you can read in the lobby as late as you like, or use the computer or computer desk in the library.

We wanted to watch a DVD, so the staff moved in a large TV with built-in DVD player. We had 4 pillows but asked for an extra blanket, which came promptly. The free WiFi worked well in the rooms, in the lobby, and even in the restaurant on the street below. There is a computer-room/library with computer, printer, and desk for your laptop. Lots of good books. The towels are thick and fluffy, and you can have as many as you like. Staff are very friendly and helpful. If you need/want anything, just ask. They will do their very best to accommodate you.

Earlier reviews spoke of "dusty mini-blinds" -- no more. There are now new wood-look blinds that are as sparkling clean as the rest of the room.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GenevaShen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2009

I arrived from Victoria on the ferry and walked to the hotel. Dragging my suitcase up the stairs was not fun (there is no elevator). The rooms were very plain, but immaculate. We opted for the European plan with the bathrooms down the hall. They were spotless and there were enough so that there was never a wait to use the toilet or the shower. It was a bit noisy at night, but that's why I travel with earplugs. It was a great location from which to base our travels in Northwestern Washington.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank camperkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2009

Port Angeles was great! Everything from eating, shopping, waterfront, etc. is within walking distance. We stayed 3 nights and the hotel was very clean and comfortable. We had room 17 with the in room bathroom. What a great location to see the Olympic Peninsula.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank askssk715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2009

The Downtown Hotel was a great find. After reading reviews here on Trip Advisor I spent the night in one of the hotel's Euro Single rooms (no reservation). The room was quite large, with a double bed, clothes cabinet, night stand, and writing desk with drawers, as well as a sink with shelf. (Also, 2 windows that opened. That was a bonus and a curse. I loved the fresh air but the noise from what seemed like drag racing cars way into the night finally made me close them.)
The many bathrooms were very clean and several always seemed to be unoccupied. Before I left, I noticed a little library with a computer, too. The staff were friendly and the ferry to Victoria B.C. was only a block away (also very convenient if you are going hiking in Hurricane Ridge, as I was). For $55.00 it was great.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LukeyLou22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Angeles hotels
1.9 mi away
Olympic Lodge
Olympic Lodge
#1 of 15 in Port Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,417 reviews
0.2 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
#3 of 15 in Port Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,741 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Uptown
Quality Inn Uptown
#6 of 15 in Port Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Port Angeles Inn
Port Angeles Inn
#5 of 15 in Port Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
1.9 mi away
Super 8 Port Angeles
Super 8 Port Angeles
#2 of 15 in Port Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Victorian Motel
Royal Victorian Motel
#4 of 15 in Port Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Angeles Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Angeles Downtown Hotel

Property: Port Angeles Downtown Hotel
Address: 101 1/2 Front Street, Port Angeles, WA 98362
Location: United States > Washington > Port Angeles
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Port Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small yet elegant family-owned hotel in the heart of Port Angeles, just one block away from the Coho ferry to Victoria, BC. Recently remodeled, located in the shopping and dining center of Port Angeles, The Downtown Hotel retains its old world charm with neat and tidy rooms ranging from budget-oriented Euro-Style one-beds to a two-bedroom apartment suite with a full kitchen. Some harbor or mountain views available. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing