We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Loved our stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Port Angeles Downtown Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Angeles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Port Angeles Downtown Hotel
Save
You added Port Angeles Downtown Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Port Angeles
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
127 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Loved our stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We had a small apartment room facing the marina and loved waking up to seagulls and the sounds of the water. It was cozy and had a lovely atmosphere of a small town inn. The bed was wonderful, as was the decor - simple yet pleasant. The only thing to note - their blinds don't serve their purpose quite as well as you'd hope, so I would recommend bringing an eye mask for those who are sensitive to light - it was insanely bright in our room before 6 am and we couldn't go back to sleep. Earplugs are helpful to those sensitive to noise, as it could get a bit loud during Friday and Saturday nights. Loved this place though. Make sure to check out Juniors cafe for breakfast which is a couple of blocks up.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yuliya G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    76
    27
    15
    6
See reviews for
25
82
25
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Corvallis, Oregon
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I plan on returning and making this pleasant hotel a base for exploring. I was exhausted when I arrived. There was some confusion about my reservation; but luckily a room was ready. And, it was a charming space, clean with a wide open window to the sea air. A bit funky to look out onto a neighboring roof; but I was not there for the view. The stairs are steep with a suitcase. The bathrooms are down the hall (the sink in the room is a good feature; the towels were ample and the bathroom was as close as it is at home). But, it was definitely better than most chain hotel/motel experiences I've had. I slept soundly...no traffic noise; nothing particularly disturbing from the other guests. A good meal in the diner on the corner. A dandy doughnut from the next door shop as I headed to the MV Coho Ferry the next morning. Fun art to walk around and see.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grannygoes2c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

My family stayed at the Port Angeles Downtown Hotel for one night. The room was very clean and did not have any unpleasant odors at all. We were a bit confused on the entrance to the hotel and parking. Luckily we were there on a Saturday night and parking was not an issue. I was a little skeptical about sharing bathrooms with other guest, but each bathroom was private and very clean. The guy at the front desk was also very kind and helpful.

Room Tip: If you're staying for more that two nights, reserve a room with it's own bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SG W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

A good value above a delicious restaurant in downtown Port Angeles. There are many stairs to climb, and free parking behind Chase bank. Traffic noise at night merits ear plugs.

Clean, shared washroom facilities. So it turned out to be one of those lovely vacation mornings where I skipped the shower. Sink in the room, so I did shave. So I am not a total savage.

Memorable grandmother bedspread.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LodgerFromChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane Valley, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

My Hubbie and I were only staying one night in Port Angeles and were looking for a good value. This place is clean, quaint and provides for your needs well. We got a room with a bathroom. Our only complaint was that you could very well hear the other people in their rooms.... Other than that, we really enjoy this cute hotel and its great location!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Breeliant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

The hotel is located one block from the ferry landing to leave for Victoria Canada and within walking distance of lots of nice restaurants and shops. Our room was spacious and spotless. We opted for a room with shared bathroom. This was not a problem as there were numerous bathrooms with showers steps away from our room. All were squeaky clean.

Room Tip: There is no elevator and all rooms are either on the second or third floor of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dixie_Kangaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

There are two sets of stairs with no elevator for the bargain rooms with shared bathrooms. We upgraded so we only had 19 steps to climb. The hotel is on the main logging truck route. Sleep became impossible unless you are used to living on a busy highway where loaded trucks shift gears by your window. I'm not. Nice flat screen tv. Got to see Breaking Bad.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Angeles hotels
1.9 mi away
Olympic Lodge
Olympic Lodge
#1 of 15 in Port Angeles
4.5 of 5 stars 1,315 reviews
0.2 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
#4 of 15 in Port Angeles
3.5 of 5 stars 1,520 reviews
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Port Angeles
Days Inn Port Angeles
#12 of 15 in Port Angeles
3.0 of 5 stars 642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Uptown
Quality Inn Uptown
#7 of 15 in Port Angeles
3.5 of 5 stars 216 reviews
1.9 mi away
Super 8 Port Angeles
Super 8 Port Angeles
#2 of 15 in Port Angeles
3.5 of 5 stars 905 reviews
0.1 mi away
Port Angeles Inn
Port Angeles Inn
#5 of 15 in Port Angeles
4.0 of 5 stars 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Angeles Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Angeles Downtown Hotel

Property: Port Angeles Downtown Hotel
Address: 101 1/2 Front Street, Port Angeles, WA 98362
Location: United States > Washington > Port Angeles
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Port Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small yet elegant family-owned hotel in the heart of Port Angeles, just one block away from the Coho ferry to Victoria, BC. Recently remodeled, located in the shopping and dining center of Port Angeles, The Downtown Hotel retains its old world charm with neat and tidy rooms ranging from budget-oriented Euro-Style one-beds to a two-bedroom apartment suite with a full kitchen. Some harbor or mountain views available. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing