We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Accommodating to Requests”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Port Angeles Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Port Angeles Inn
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Port Angeles
Seattle
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not Accommodating to Requests”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

I recently stayed at PA Inn. I am a return guest from this winter. I remember a great stay with a clean room (on the second level), a friendly front desk staff and impressive housekeeping staff. They said "hello" and "enjoy your day." I decided to return again for a trip to the peninsula for the summer. This time, I was assigned a room on the ground floor. I requested a change in rooms and was told that I could not have a different room for two nights. I do not feel safe on ground level rooms since I experienced a ground floor attempted break-in at a hotel two summers ago and am still weary of staying anywhere that is not at least second floor or above. The heat in the room required me to the windows open which made me even more worried (which took away from my experience). I did not bring this up with the front desk staff member because I doubt it would not have made a difference since she was very quick to deny my request. I would have been satisfied if she could have at least looked to see if I could have been accommodated by staying in one room a floor up for one night and then move to another for the second night. I will think twice about returning to this property in the future.

Room Tip: 1. During the summer, avoid rooms by the ice machine. I woke up Saturday morning at 6 am, 7 am, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelswell007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoAnne C, Manager at Port Angeles Inn, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear Traveler,

I would like to apologize for not being able to move you to a better room. Depending on the time of year of your stay we fill up rather quickly and unable to move people around. We try very hard to be accommodating to guest needs. However there are days during peak season that it becomes hard to change rooms. I hope you will stay with us again and if you call or make an online reservation please make a request for an upper floor room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    128
    75
    23
    6
See reviews for
58
162
26
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
136 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

The most important thing to remember is that Port Angeles is a relatively small town in a quiet part of Washington. There are newer options in the area- Holiday Inn Express Sequim. Given that I am used to big, new hotels, I wasn't sure what to think upon entering the hotel. From outside, the motel looked very humble. Also, check-in was a bit slow. Given all that and the fact that we were reserved in a slightly awkwardly placed corner room, I wasn't sure what to expect. Once we got into the room, I noticed that the room was small and the furnishings were on the older side. The room was a little tight for three people. Still, the seating area and refrigerator made the room a bit more comfortable. I also liked that the walk to downtown was easy-there is a shortcut behind the hotel-and the clientele was pleasant. I noticed a lot of couples and some families. The morning breakfast was thoughtfully laid out and the desk agent was very nice and helpful. She answered all of our travel questions to the best of her ability. I left with a very positive view of the hotel. When I do this trip again-and in greater depth- I will probably stay here for a night as I got a good night's sleep and was quite comfortable overall.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lanakoala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock TX
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

Quaint and Quiet. We would definitely go back. Had a 2 night stay with a room on the second floor. Nice size bathroom. Our picture window of the harbor was wonderful! A mountain view welcomes you from the entry door. Simple breakfast with morning news on tv. Kids loved making their waffles.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martha N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

My husband and I traveled from the east coast looking to get an idea of the area and the hotel was perfect as it is centrally located and within easy walking distance to the water and a number of restaurants and shopping. As a number of other reveiwers remarked, it is dated but who cares it's CLEAN and the people who work there very friendly. We had a ground floor room on the harbor side with a great view. I would absolutely stay there again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a harbor view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anniesatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

My wife and I stayed here as part of a trip we took between Portland Oregon and Seattle, along the Oregon and Washington coasts. We chose the hotel based on comments on TripAdvisor, and it came as advertised. Clean, somewhat dated, friendly staff, good location if you are going to take the ferry to Vancouver or go to Olympic National Park. We had a room with a great view of the harbor. If you're a light sleeper, you may hear the bells of a clock tower (no idea where it is) on the hour (sometimes), or the ferry's horn during early morning or early evening. Complementary breakfast was nice, nothing fancy. A little pricey - we stayed in high season - but comparable to other places in the area.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Red_Sock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Tahoe, Nevada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

If you stay here, be sure to get a view room - we stayed in the center of the third floor - and were mesmerized by watching the waterfront including the ferry we were to take the next day. The room itself? Meh. Dated but clean. Beds are ok and the amenities few. The view room was $170 (including tax) and pretty steep, but there aren't many choices here. Wi-fi worked fine and the breakfast was sufficient.

Room Tip: View room, 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MTahoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is much like all of Port Angeles. Faded, frumpy and a weird mash up of early 20th century charm with 21st century strip malls and chain link. Needs good dose of Irony and could be hipster destination

If you stay here get a harbor view room and walk down the big stairs to town.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AbouSall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Angeles hotels
1.9 mi away
Olympic Lodge
Olympic Lodge
#1 of 15 in Port Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,490 reviews
0.3 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
#3 of 15 in Port Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,841 reviews
0.0 mi away
Quality Inn Uptown
Quality Inn Uptown
#6 of 15 in Port Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Port Angeles
Days Inn Port Angeles
#13 of 15 in Port Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
1.9 mi away
Super 8 Port Angeles
Super 8 Port Angeles
#2 of 15 in Port Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,096 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Victorian Motel
Royal Victorian Motel
#4 of 15 in Port Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Angeles Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Angeles Inn

Property: Port Angeles Inn
Address: 111 E 2nd St, Port Angeles, WA 98362-2916
Location: United States > Washington > Port Angeles
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Port Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Port Angeles Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Overlooking the Harbor". 1st motel on 2nd Street. Located downtown. Ocean and Victoria, BC. Views. 2 blocks from Ferries to Victoria. Continental Breakfast. Elevator. All non-smoking and no pets. Beautiful and friendly. AAA rated. Your Window to the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Port Angeles Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Angeles Hotel Port Angeles
Port Angeles Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing