We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We go back and forth merely for the ride”

Black Ball Ferry Line
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Black Ball Ferry Line operates the M.V. Coho passenger and vehicle ferry linking Victoria, B.C. on Vancouver Island with Port Angeles, WA on the scenic Olympic Peninsula. During the 90 minute crossing, enjoy the ship's many amenities including the cafeteria, gift shop, duty free store, comfortable interior lounges, solarium and pet-friendly areas. Year round daily service is provided. Save big by booking a ferry and hotel stay with our exclusive package deals! In addition to our great prices at the region's favorite hotels, we'll pay your reservation fee for a guaranteed space on your desired sailing time when you book a package. Our Captain and Crew look forward to welcoming you on board the ship!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Stairs / elevator
Santiago, Region Metropolitana, Chile
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“We go back and forth merely for the ride”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

My wife and I usually and return go over and have lunch aboard to P.A. and have a returning dinner of some sort. Its a nice ride and we actually do see what we like from the ship. Better than going into Victoria or even Port Angeles as the food aboard is actually quite good and well it is simply a cheap cruise

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cliff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCohoVictoria, Manager at Black Ball Ferry Line, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Hi Cliff T.,

We appreciate you taking the time to let us know you enjoyed your experience on the MV COHO!

It’s great to hear that you enjoyed the food available from our on board cafeteria. As you know, we offer a variety of food options, including locally made artisan pizzas, Ivar’s Clam Chowder, fresh salads, sandwiches, and wraps as well as many other hot and cold items. Most of our food is delivered fresh daily by local businesses in Port Angeles and Victoria including Oven Spoonful, Shirley’s Café, Cock-a-Doodle Doughnuts, Northwest Fudge and Dairy Fresh Farms. We are proud to work with such outstanding local businesses.

We look forward to having you and your wife travel with us again in the future.

Kind Regards
Black Ball Ferry Line
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

901 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    481
    330
    72
    12
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Our trip to Victoria”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Lovely. The weather was great and the trip was enjoyable. Lots of sunshine the day we travelled (July 4). Remember that you have to go through Customs. Bring a bike if you have one!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank CynthiaWAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCohoVictoria, Manager at Black Ball Ferry Line, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Hi CynthiaWAtlanta,

Thanks for reviewing our ferry service and letting us know how much you enjoyed the sunny crossing.

We agree that bringing a bicycle with you is an excellent idea whether you are traveling to Victoria or the Olympic Peninsula. In Port Angeles, guests can cycle on the Olympic Discovery Trail along the waterfront, and in Victoria, many guests enjoy the convenience of not having to park a vehicle downtown, or exploring the Galloping Goose Trail.

We look forward to having you and your bike travel with us again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Black Ball Ferry Line
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Angeles, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“awesome”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Every one was courteous, and friendly. The trip takes hardly any time, and it is always smooth sailing.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank amayahk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCohoVictoria, Manager at Black Ball Ferry Line, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thanks for the great review amayahk. We’re very happy to hear that you had such a great experience, and we look forward to having you travel with us again!

Kind Regards,
Black Ball Ferry Line
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Best way to cross the border!!”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Staff are efficient and have the boarding/disembarking process down to a tee. The vessel is older but very well maintained and the gift shop has a nice variety of goods and is not as over-priced as you may think it would be.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bilibob2157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCohoVictoria, Manager at Black Ball Ferry Line, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Hi Bilibob2157,

We really appreciate you taking the time to review your experience on our ferry.

We always strive to achieve high levels of customer service, so we’re delighted to hear that you had such a positive experience with our staff during the loading and unloading of the vessel.

The MV COHO is a classic, 53 years young this year, and she certainly does retain some of her vintage charm! Our crew takes great pride in the maintenance and cleanliness of the ship, and we’re always glad when our guests notice how much effort is spent on keeping everything in top shape.

We hope to see you traveling with us again in the near future!

Kind Regards,
Black Ball Ferry Line
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Reliable”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I've lived in Port Angeles since I was 13. For the last 35 years I've traveled via the Black Ball Ferry many times with guests, on class-trips, work Christmas parties, couples retreats and family get-aways. There's never been a problem and always gets us there safe. They've changed with the times, adding a gift shop, duty free area, and new items in their snack bar. Safety, information and a staff that puts up with people thinking they are on a cruise ship. Also, they are a great employer in our small community. I'd give them a "very good"! New boats with all the "bells and whistles" adds a high price. We just came from trip in the beautiful Bay Area and took two ferries that had minimal information or signs, a crew that didn't speak to us, late take-off and return (more than 30 minutes). We left from Pier 41 and they brought us back to Pier "20-something" after 10:30 PM. We never experienced this on Black Ball ferry.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tami R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCohoVictoria, Manager at Black Ball Ferry Line, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Hi Tami R.,

Thank you for taking the time to review the MV COHO on Trip Advisor after so many years of being such a loyal traveler!

We always strive to achieve high levels of customer service, and we’re very happy to hear about how much you’ve enjoyed your interactions with our staff and crew over the years. We are also proud of our excellent safety record and our strong reputation of reliability in our local community.

Although the MV COHO is a classic that has maintained her vintage charm throughout the years, we definitely agree that we’ve made an effort to change with the times. We’re very happy to hear that you’ve made good use of our on board amenities, and we’re always looking for ways to improve the experience during our crossing.

We look forward to having you on board again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Black Ball Ferry Line
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Ball Ferry Line also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Black Ball Ferry Line? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing