We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Black Ball Ferry Line” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Ball Ferry Line

Black Ball Ferry Line
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Black Ball Ferry Line operates the M.V. Coho passenger and vehicle ferry linking Victoria, B.C. on Vancouver Island with Port Angeles, WA on the scenic Olympic Peninsula. During the 90 minute crossing, enjoy the ship's many amenities including the cafeteria, gift shop, duty free store, comfortable interior lounges, solarium and pet-friendly areas. Year round daily service is provided. Save big by booking a ferry and hotel stay with our exclusive package deals! In addition to our great prices at the region's favorite hotels, we'll pay your reservation fee for a guaranteed space on your desired sailing time when you book a package. Our Captain and Crew look forward to welcoming you on board the ship!
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access
Port Angeles
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Black Ball Ferry Line”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

I have taken this ferry on several occasions and it has always been very reliable. They have the ability to carry foot passengers as well as vehicles. The service to get you on and off the vessel has been streamlined which makes for a pleasant trip.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dads58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCohoVictoria, Manager at Black Ball Ferry Line, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Hi Dads58,

Thank you for taking the time to review our ferry service, we always appreciate feedback from our repeat travelers.

We always strive to achieve high levels of customer service, and we’re very happy to hear that you’ve noticed the improvements to our loading and unloading process. We are also proud of our excellent safety record and our strong reputation of reliability in the local community.

We look forward to having you travel with us again in the future!

Kind Regards,
Black Ball Ferry Line
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    419
    286
    65
    10
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Angeles, Washington
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Ferry Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

The Black Ball Ferry has served this area for a very long time. It is a good service, and dependable.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lynne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun Ferry Ride”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

We took the Ferry down from Victoria to Port Angeles with our car. It was a pleasant experience and our kids had a lot of fun. We had been craving some warm clam chowder and surprisingly they had some very good chowder at a reasonable price at the self service restaurant towards the back of the Ferry. My son had fun ringing the bell on the front of the Ferry!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jerron J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCohoVictoria, Manager at Black Ball Ferry Line, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Hi Jerron J,

Thank you for taking the time to review our ferry service, we always appreciate feedback from our repeat travelers.

We always strive to achieve high levels of customer service, and we’re very happy to hear that you’ve noticed the improvements to our loading and unloading process. We are also proud of our excellent safety record and our strong reputation of reliability in the local community.

We look forward to having you travel with us again in the future!

Kind Regards,
Black Ball Ferry Line
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
190 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Free round trip on your birthday:-)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Recommend crossing w/o car to save time and money. Go on your birthday & round trip fare is your gift from Blackball! Good hotels are w/in walking distance in Victoria, a very walkable, compact city. Bus transportation is convenient.
If you walk or bike onto the ferry, quickly claim a window seat before car passengers arrive.Stop at Safeway or another grocer to get deli sandwich to eat lunch on board. Ferry food choices are dismal.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank CascadeSalem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCohoVictoria, Manager at Black Ball Ferry Line, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Hi CascadeSalem,

Thank you for taking the time to review our ferry service, we appreciate your feedback on how we can improve our service.

We agree with you that there are many great hotels within easy walking distance of Victoria terminal and many local attractions are close by. For our future guests, we would like to clarify the time requirements for our crossing. The sailing itself is 90 minutes, and walk-on passengers are required to arrive just 20 minutes prior to their schedule sailing times. Drive-on passengers must arrive at the Port Angeles terminal 60 minutes in advance of the sailing time and at the Victoria terminal 90 minutes in advance of the sailing time.

Our onboard cafeteria features a variety of options, including locally made artisan pizzas, Ivar’s Clam Chowder, fresh salads, sandwiches, and wraps as well as many other hot and cold items. Most of our food is delivered fresh daily by local businesses in Port Angeles and Victoria including Oven Spoonful, Shirley’s Café, Cock-a-Doodle Doughnuts, Northwest Fudge and Dairy Fresh Farms. We are proud to work with such outstanding local businesses. Please let our staff know if any product was unsatisfactory.

We appreciate your input on our service. We look forward to welcoming you aboard again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Black Ball Ferry Line
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
104 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Okay but not like BC Ferries.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

The reservation process was easy and having the Customs connected was convenient. The loading and disembarking process was not efficient and the cafeteria services were not very good. The vehicles were loaded too closely together and I had to climb in the driver side and over the console to the passenger seat because I was not able to open my door. This would not work well if I was a senior or overweight.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Ball Ferry Line also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Black Ball Ferry Line? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing