We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only ferry option to Vancouver Is. from Olympic Peninsula”

Black Ball Ferry Line
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Black Ball Ferry Line operates the M.V. Coho passenger and vehicle ferry linking Victoria, B.C. on Vancouver Island with Port Angeles, WA on the scenic Olympic Peninsula. During the 90 minute crossing, enjoy the ship's many amenities including the cafeteria, gift shop, duty free store, comfortable interior lounges, solarium and pet-friendly areas. Year round daily service is provided. Save big by booking a ferry and hotel stay with our exclusive package deals! In addition to our great prices at the region's favorite hotels, we'll pay your reservation fee for a guaranteed space on your desired sailing time when you book a package. Our Captain and Crew look forward to welcoming you on board the ship!
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Only ferry option to Vancouver Is. from Olympic Peninsula”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

This is the only ferry option between Vancouver Island and the Olympic Peninsula. It is also the shortest way to visit Victoria, BC, from Seattle if you want to drive so you have the option to explore more of the island outside of Victoria. (The Victoria Clipper is quicker for just walking on from Seattle.) So there is no competition for better service or amenities, which are at the bare minimum for an expensive 90 minute crossing and the significant wait time required prior to boarding. Though it's easy to go online and make reservations to ensure you have space on the ferry, there are no clear directions or explanations for all the protocol which is needed for both an international crossing with the proper documentation as well as ferry boarding with or without a reservation. There is a significant wait time of 90 minutes on the Victoria side in an enclosed space that you are not allowed to leave, without any amenities except a toilet. The free WiFi didn’t work.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Christy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCohoVictoria, Manager at Black Ball Ferry Line, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Christy,

Thank you for using our ferry service between Vancouver Island and the Olympic Peninsula. You are correct that we are the only ferry that travels from Victoria to Port Angeles. As a private, unsubsidized ferry operator, we endeavor to provide safe and reliable service while maintaining competitive fares and year-round service. In fact, our current fares for a vehicle and driver are significantly lower than other routes. Our ship’s amenities include an onboard cafeteria, gift shop, duty free store, ample seating and a passenger observation lounge.

Unfortunately, we are unable to alter the wait times for vehicle passengers in Victoria, as US Customs and Border Protection requires the 90 minute pre-trip inspection period on a secured dock in order to properly process the vehicles and passengers boarding our ferry.

We’re glad to hear that you found the online reservation process easy to use; we are happy to be able to provide guaranteed reservations for travellers who need to ensure specific sailing times. While both our web site and reservation confirmation pages provide detailed information on identification requirements and inspection times, we understand that it could be made even more prominent. To that end, we are currently redeveloping our company website to highlight international border crossing information and ferry boarding protocol.

We apologize that you experienced difficulty with the free wifi service. Should you encounter difficulty in the future, please let one of our staff members know. We offer free, password-enabled wifi in both our Victoria and Port Angeles terminals and docks, with limited wifi coverage (within 5 miles of Port Angeles and in Victoria’s Inner Harbour) during the actual ferry crossing. We test the service regularly and have experienced no recent outages.

Thank you for your review. On behalf of the captain and crew, we look forward to welcoming you aboard on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    437
    296
    68
    12
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cottage Grove, Minnesota
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Riding the Waves to Canada”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Excellent rate to get us and our vehicle to Canada, along with efficient ticketing and boarding processes. We felt like we were WELCOME aboard, and enjoyed the ride !

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank onehorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Efficient and clean”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Even though we had to go through Homeland Security/Customs on both side, it was quick and painless. The ferry operations ran very smoothly and we particularly enjoyed the Ivar's clam chowder served in the cafeteria.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kahlua5557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Badin, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Quick Trip to Victoria”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

The Black Ball Ferry Line offers a relatively easy way to get from Port Angeles to Victoria, on Vancouver Island. The visual approach to Victoria is stunning! If the skys are clear, the return trip to Port Angeles offers some beautiful views of the Olympic Peninsula coastline. Be sure to take at least a jacket along on the trip. Even in August, the air can be quite cool, (even cold), while on deck.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“On time!!”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

The service on the Coho is basic but it is always on time and the service and the food is pretty good.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Bertram C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Ball Ferry Line also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Black Ball Ferry Line? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing