We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs to be remodeled”
Review of Quality Inn Uptown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn Uptown
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Port Angeles
Reviewed October 2, 2008

We stayed at the Quality Inn for one night. The room needs to be remodeled. Small bed, very old small bathroom that needs updating. We were located on the second floor with no elevator. There is no A/C, the room was very stuffy so we had the windows open and you could hear people coming and going. The location is great if you are taking the ferry. The steps take you right downtown and you are two blocks from the ferry. Breakfast was minimal and I thought the room rate was expensive for what you got. Stay elsewhere.

Stayed: September 2008
Thank vacationlady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QIPA, General Manager at Quality Inn Uptown, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2010

I appreciate your review of our hotel. Our breakfast has been updated with many new options. Our full Q Corner hot breakfast is an improvement. We offer Queen bed and King bed rooms as a choice for our guests. We are a two - three story hotel and unfortunately do not have elevators. Please accept my apology that your experience you not enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (260)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 260 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2008

This is the best of the worst. It's clean but desperately needs renovating: torn upholstery, stained carpet, pink shower and toilet (!), painted plywood bathroom cabinets, fluorescent throughout. Staff is nice and helpful. Goodlocation near passenger ferry to Victoria. A better value for the same money is the Olympia Best Western West only a couple of miles on 101.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pippicali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QIPA, General Manager at Quality Inn Uptown, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2010

I appreciate your review of our hotel. We strive to ensure each guest experience is positive. We consistantly evaluate and update areas to provide guest satisfaction. Your comments matter and help us improve our overall guest satisfaction.Thank-you Liz Conrad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2008

We stayed two nights at this hotel located on a hilltop above the downtown Port Angeles area. A lengthy flight of stairs leads down to shops---the ferry dock is two blocks further.
The rooms in the main hotel were nice, clean, and remodeled, but there was no air-conditioning. A nice breeze from the open window and table-top fan provided cooling and ventilation.
Although my relatives stayed in a large room with windows facing the waterfront, our room was small with entry from an inner passageway with a window above the back street. The street noise quited down nicely enough for us to get good rest.
Breakfast provided protein in the form of hard-broiled eggs (and minimally in the form or yogurt), but the rest was carbs via waffles, cereal, muffins, breads, etc.
I felt the price was high, even with our AAA discount, for the quality of the room.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Nursemaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QIPA, General Manager at Quality Inn Uptown, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2010

Thank you for your review! Many of our guest rooms offer a view of Port Angele's inner harbor, however, we also have rooms that offer a spectacular view of the Olympic Mountains.From your room descriptions you stayed in one of each. I apologize for any discomfort our lack of air conditioning caused you. The Pacific Northwest has very few days of high temperatures, so it is not a standard at many of the hotels in our area. Our breakfast is always a work in progress and we listen to our guests and change\add items as guest preferences become known.
Thank you for your input. Liz Conrad General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2008

We stayed there one night, before taking morning ferry over to Victoria, BC. Room was small, but clean. We had a nice view of the Olympic Mountains. The breakfast was pretty good - expanded continental, with waffles, biscuits and gravy. Staff was pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OregonCoast44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QIPA, General Manager at Quality Inn Uptown, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2010

Thank you for placing your review on tripadvisor.Your comments let us know what we are doing right and where we can improve. If you travel to Port Angeles, WA again we hope to provide you with a satisfying visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2008

First the good things: Clean room, comfortable bed, friendly staff and decent breakfast ( waffles, cereal, fruit, yogurt, biscuits/gravy, juice, coffee). Also, requested a wake up call and recieved it at the time I requested which was appreciated.
Now the not so good: The hotel sits on a bluff overlooking downtown which includes the main street thru town. So you can hear traffic (semi-trucks included) most of the time. The rooms are situated so that the windows face the side (NOT northfacing - towards the water) so except for the last 2 rooms at the end, the "view rooms" aren't much of a view (views of parking lot). Plus the windows look right out onto the walkways which does not allow for much privacy if you keep the shades open. The walls are thin - I heard my neighbors as they stomped up the stairs and when they were in their rooms. Also, since the rooms look out to the parking lot, anyone arriving, leaving, unpacking, packing (morning, noon, night) can be heard with clarity. I also asked the front desk girl when I checked in, where I could get a good seafood dinner. She said "The Landing" at the waterfront had "The Best" fish & Chips. That may be true as I did go there but did not order that. I ordered a caesar salad with crab and cup of clam chowder. $25.00 later I had picked out some crab meat - ate the soup (just okay - have had MUCH better - even at Ivars...) and wished I'd just gone to the local bar - even the garlic toast served with the salad was awful - I couldn't finish even one piece. Service was lacking and there was a constant loud noise/vibration coming from the bar that I could not understand at all?? So, if you stay in Port Angeles (or passing thru) do not waste your money on the expensive and tasteless food at "The Landing".
Back to the hotel - this is not a horrible place to stay - just not as nice as advertised and is overpriced. This is basically an old hotel, renovated but still lacking.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SeattleBocat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QIPA, General Manager at Quality Inn Uptown, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2010

We strive to create a positive memorable experience for each guest staying at our motel. I sincerely apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay with us. Our motel was built to take advantage of the inner harbor and and Olympic Mountain views in our area. Not all rooms offer the same view experience and unfortunately it seems you were not happy with the view you received. I want to also apologize for the dinner recommendation you received and were not happy with. Port Angeles offers many great restaurants. Every guest experience is unique and our goal is to create a positive impression of Port Angeles and our motel.
Thank-you for placing your review on tripadvisor - your opinion counts!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2007

The Quality Inn Uptown was a nice, clean, affordable, and very convenient hotel for an early morning ferry to Victoria. The room was very clean, cookies in the evening a nice touch, and the morning breakfast enjoyable. I would stay there again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cruisingfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QIPA, General Manager at Quality Inn Uptown, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2010

I very much enjoyed your review of our hotel. Thank you for taking the time to tell others about our hotel. Your opinions count. I'm looking forward to welcoming you back to Port Angeles and our hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2007

A great place to stay in Port Angeles. Walking distance to downtown in one direction and a grocery store the other way. Stayed in the building across the street. Room was large with huge windows. Internet access worked well and breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sukhoi_584th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QIPA, General Manager at Quality Inn Uptown, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel. I feel one of our best features is our location. Port Angeles is a very walkable area. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your future visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Angeles
0.3 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
#3 of 16 in Port Angeles
2,279 reviews
1.9 mi away
Olympic Lodge
Olympic Lodge
#1 of 16 in Port Angeles
2,024 reviews
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Port Angeles
Days Inn Port Angeles
#15 of 16 in Port Angeles
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites at Olympic National Park
2 mi away
Super 8 Port Angeles
Super 8 Port Angeles
#2 of 16 in Port Angeles
1,309 reviews
0 mi away
Port Angeles Inn
Port Angeles Inn
#4 of 16 in Port Angeles
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Uptown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Uptown

Address: 101 E 2nd St, Port Angeles, WA 98362-2916
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Port Angeles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Port Angeles
Price Range: $84 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Uptown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Quality Inn Uptown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Uptown Hotel Port Angeles
Quality Inn Port Angeles
Port Angeles Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing