We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, but issues”
Review of Quality Inn Uptown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn Uptown
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Port Angeles
Gulpen, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Nice location, but issues”
Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is nicely located, on top of a hill overlooking Port Angeles. Our room even had a nice view towards Vancouver Island. It's a small walk to the town centre where you will find enough dining options of which we can recommend Jasmines. The room is clean and beds are ok. The bathroom and furniture however need to be updated. We also had some issues with the wifi. Internet connection was non existent or of a pour quality. When we reported this at the front desk, he replied that it worked well in the lobby and there was nothing he could do about it.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Elmer&Lizette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QIPA, General Manager at Quality Inn Uptown, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
We enjoyed seeing your review of our hotel this morning. Thank you for your comments. It was great to hear you enjoyed the view from your room and the dining choices near our hotel. It is unfortunate we have been having internet connection issues at our hotel, we are working diligently to solve the problem and improve our internet service. Updates are happening at our hotel. New televisions are the latest improvement and more are scheduled to follow. We hope you will visit us again when your travels bring you to Port Angeles.

Kind Regards,
Liz Conrad & Quality Inn Uptown staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    101
    49
    22
    21
See reviews for
68
112
15
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Out of 3 Quality Inns we stayed in on our Olympic Peninsula trip, this one was the worse but the employees at the customer service desk were the best. They were very friendly and helpful and gave us a great tip for a Chinese restaurant within walking distance from the hotel. The Dynasty had great food. The negatives were the rooms could definitely use some updating and because they were having a heat wave when we were there, the room was extremely hot with no A/C, just a small fan which didn't do much. The second night wasn't bad though because it was a little cooler that day. For the area, the hotel is about average all in all. The breakfast was good and it was very clean, just old fashioned and not enough air to let in the place when it does get hot.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bears_7737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QIPA, General Manager at Quality Inn Uptown, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for your review! It was a pleasure to have you say our customer service was the best you received during your recent trip.I was also pleased to hear you had a clean room and enjoyed our breakfast. I would like to apologize with regards to our lack of air conditioning, and the discomfort it caused you the first night of your stay. We recently had a few very warm days in Port Angeles. Room upgrades are happening! New televisions are arriving this week and more upgrades are scheduled to follow. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel when you return to Port Angeles.

Liz Conrad & Quality Inn Uptown Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Bernardino, California
1 review
Reviewed August 15, 2012

If you want to know where to go, suggestions on what to do, what to look out for, talk to Kimberly! All the staff at this Quality Inn were great, but Kimberly really seemed to go a little further to make sure we had a great time and found things to do in the fairly restricted amount of time that we had...The Quality Inn itself is older and not fancy but clean and convient to everything. Breakfast is included and consists of things like biscuits and gravy or waffels, cereal, fruit, danish , juice and coffee. We really enjoyed our stay there and will stay there again when back in the area.

Room Tip: There is no elevator so if you have trouble with stairs ask for ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QIPA, General Manager at Quality Inn Uptown, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Great Review! Thank you for taking the time to place a review on tripadvisor .On behalf of our hotel staff, We are delighted to receive your kind words of praise about Kimberley.Your review has been shared with Kimberley and all the Quality Inn Uptown staff. Kimberely is always warm and welcoming with our guests and is very knowledgable about our area .I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We welcome your future visits.

Liz Conrad & Quality Inn Uptown staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

I don't know quite where to start with this one. For one thing, it's expensive, although all hotels in this area are. We booked a room with a mountain view, which meant we stayed in the "high-rise" across the street. It's a three-story building across the street with covered parking, no elevators, and exterior hallways. The rooms have very large picture windows that give an above-average view of the mountains and an okay view of the harbor. We were on the top floor. When we were there, the weather was unseasonably warm (85 degrees out- August 4, check the Weather Channel archives). Because the sun shines onto (at different parts of the day) the bathroom wall, the black roof, and the dark carpet through the windows, the room was at least five degrees hotter than it was outside. We got there late, and the room felt above 90 degrees! All of the windows were already open, and there was a tiny swiveling fan on the floor. That was it. When the weather in the area is going to be this warm, even if it is a bit cooler other days, the rooms have to have AC. We normally like the house pretty warm (78 or so), but this room was nearly insufferable. The only place in this complex with AC is the lobby.

Their mentality of avoiding upgrades extends to other facets of the hotel as well. The toilet and tub were a very dated shade of pink. I don't care about the color itself, but it speaks to how old the fixtures are. The toilet seat was rusty and peeling, and the tub floor's anti-slip coating had long since worn off, making it treacherous. I found several long strands of hair in the tub. The solid surface countertop was severely cracked in the sink and around the edges. The light fixtures had flecks of rust. The curtains were dirty and stained, and they hung two inches above large, permanent space heaters (fire hazard). The TV was old and the artwork above the beds was laughably hideous and dated.

On the plus side, the desk staff was very friendly, the beds were average, and the cookies were a nice touch. Breakfast was okay, but crowded. The one breakfast employee would dart around and push between the guests in line to do minor things like stirring the gravy and ruffling the condiments.

Especially for the price, I just can't recommend this hotel. They seem to have touched the lobby and the beds, but not much else. If you're staying in the summer, check one of the newer motels near it. Most others at least seem to have air conditioning, and I'd say that if the outside temperature is supposed to be 72 degrees or above, a hotel is obligated to provide air conditioning, especially if its rooms don't have good airflow.

I don't want to be mean, but this was the worst motel (and one of the top 3 most expensive) on my trip, which included 13 hotels.

Room Tip: There are 15 other hotels in the area. Go there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johann8431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QIPA, General Manager at Quality Inn Uptown, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
I appreciate you posting your review of our hotel on tripadvisor. It is a dissapointment to hear you did not enjoy your visit with us. Please accept my apology. It appears you stayed with us during one of the warmest days in our area. Our hotel and many Port Angeles hotels do not have A|C as it is generally not neccessary in our area.Our hotel is not a new hotel as you mentioned however, our staff maintains it well. It is unfortunate your toilet seat was worn, and in need of replacement. Rest assured my Maintenance staff has replaced this. I agree hair should not be present in any area of the room and this issue as well has been addressed.
I am pleased to hear you found our staff friendly, our cookies nice, and our Breakfast acceptable during your stay.
Our goal is always to provide dependable service to each of our guests at a reasonable price
Liz Conad & Quality Inn Uptown staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Port Angeles hotels

Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 2, 2012

I liked my stay at the Quality in. I stayed at the Red Lion and prefer this hotel much more. While the breakfast is ok the rooms were large and the hotel is in a great location where you can walk to anywhere in Port Angeles.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MartinPallotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QIPA, General Manager at Quality Inn Uptown, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
I appreciate you taking the time to place your review on Tripadvisor. Thank you! I enjoyed hearing you enjoyed your stay. Breakfast is an area we are always looking to improve and I welcome your feedback, more improvements to come. Our location is a true asset. We are near downtown, many restaurants, shopping, the ferry to Victoria, and the entrance to Hurricane Ridge in the Olympic National Park. We look forward to your next visit with us.

Liz Conrad - General Manager and QIPA staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta Junction, Alaska
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We arrived very late at night with 4 teenagers in tow. We were treated very kindly by the gentleman at the desk on night shift. Our room was clean, quiet and comfortable. It is an older hotel but it is well kept. Breakfast was acceptable but not great for the price of the room - especially when compared to the other places we stayed on our long road trip.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QIPA, General Manager at Quality Inn Uptown, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to place your review on tripadvisor. Your comments help us grow and improve our guest service.I am very pleased to hear our Guest Service Agent on desk at your arrival took good care of you. This has been noted and acknowledged with the Guest Service Agent who checked you in. I appreciate your opinion. I believe our complimentary breakfast is the best complimentary breakfast Port Angeles hotels offers. I welcome all guest suggestions as a way we can improve our service. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly with any suggestions for improvement you may have.Thank you for choosing to stay at the Quality Inn Uptown Port Angeles. We hope to Welcome you back in the future!

Liz Conrad - General Manager &Staff- Quality Inn Uptown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goleta, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2012

I went to Port Angeles with my mother and my two granddaughters. The staff was friendly and warm, often going out of their way to make the stay more pleasant. Brian and Kimberly, were especially warm, friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QIPA, General Manager at Quality Inn Uptown, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Your kind words about our staff and hotel brought smiles throughout our hotel this Sunny Monday morning. Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor. Your review will be shared with all employees. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your visit with us. We welcome your future visits to Port Angeles.
Thank you,
Liz Conrad and Quality Inn Uptown staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Angeles
0.3 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
#3 of 16 in Port Angeles
2,122 reviews
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Port Angeles
Days Inn Port Angeles
#14 of 16 in Port Angeles
818 reviews
14.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites at Olympic National Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Super 8 Port Angeles
Super 8 Port Angeles
#2 of 16 in Port Angeles
1,214 reviews
0.0 mi away
Port Angeles Inn
Port Angeles Inn
#5 of 16 in Port Angeles
319 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Victorian Motel
Royal Victorian Motel
#6 of 16 in Port Angeles
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Uptown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Uptown

Property: Quality Inn Uptown
Address: 101 E 2nd St, Port Angeles, WA 98362-2916
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Port Angeles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Port Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Uptown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn Uptown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Uptown Hotel Port Angeles
Quality Inn Port Angeles
Port Angeles Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing