We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Food, Excellent Service, Fun Atmosphere”
Review of Colonel Hudson's Famous Kitchen - CLOSED

Colonel Hudson's Famous Kitchen
Cuisines: American
Description: Hands down, the best burgers in Port Angeles with thick, hand made patties, great sauce and homemade buns. You can drive past it, as it only has a window on the sidewalk but owner has a great sense of fun and dedication. Also has great shakes, burgers from other than beef and very good fish and chips. Small menu, large taste.
Restaurant details
Description: Hands down, the best burgers in Port Angeles with thick, hand made patties, great sauce and homemade buns. You can drive past it, as it only has a window on the sidewalk but owner has a great sense of fun and dedication. Also has great shakes, burgers from other than beef and very good fish and chips. Small menu, large taste.
Olympic National Park, Washington
Level Contributor
75 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Delicious Food, Excellent Service, Fun Atmosphere”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Not much for a sign, it's easy to drive past, there was a fish and chips sandwich board out that may help you locate it. The interior is very clean and the staff was attentive and friendly. I agree that they should have some menus with descriptions of food items printed out, instead of just the digital display above, so that the person at the counter doesn't have to go through the huge explanation of everything anytime a new customer comes in. Tried poutine for the first time ever. Amazingly addictive, they weren't kidding. We split a heaping plate and stuffed ourselves. The burger was not huge, but quite tasty and the buns were very flavorful. The onion rings were the best we've ever had and the sweet potato fries (although there weren't many) were the best we've had at a restaurant.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paper_monkE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    17
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brookings, Oregon
Level Contributor
401 reviews
282 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“what a find when you have no idea where to grab dinner!”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

we found colonel hudson's on yelp and went there bec of the high ratings. we were NOT disappointed.

my salmon burger was great. fresh and great tasting. while this was the first salmon burger i had every ventured to order, i am sure it will be the standard i will use to compare any future salmon burgers. :)

hubby's fish & chips were the best he has had in a long time.

i have to add, that Alexis, who took our order, delivered our order, checked on us several times, and was totally on top of everything in this restaurant, made the restaurant as great as it is. her attitude and enthusiasm was to be admired. she was totally the quintessential server, employee, and person.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dmc50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Burger Adventures”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Stopped in while on a trip with the grandkids, for burgers, based on favorable reviews. Thanks!

We have no idea who Colonel Hudson is, or why his kitchen is famous, but this spot was definitely worth a stop. The restaurant has a quirky feel, with a life-sized gorilla overseeing things, and a shark guarding the hall by the restrooms.The khaki color scheme and cool burlap window valances give a sense of old-time world travel, which is enhanced by cool vintage movie posters of safaris, and Mounties, and south sea adventures. Though not a big proponent of telelevision in a restaurant, this one was playing a classic old Godzilla movie. Extra points for that! While not exactly considered scenic by everyone, the view across the street to the large shipyard lends a certain ambiance of old-time adventure.

The food focus is basically burgers and poutine, and we were here for burgers. Our grandkids got sliders, which were perfect little versions of the regular burgers. Our burgers were well made, tasty, and built on home-baked, substantial rolls.All the components were fresh and quality. There is a good selection of side dishes, and ours were good.

A list of menu items is on a board above the order counter, which requires the attendant at the counter to explain every item; a lengthy process. A nice improvement would be small counter level menus, with descriptions of each burger, so we could each read our choices.

Not to overlook the people here: the owners and wait staff were very friendly and talkative. The restaurant is very clean and tidy. They have done an admirable job. I hope this nice little spot is appreciated and frequented by the locals; they are lucky to have it. I would like to know that the next time I return to Port Angeles I can count on this great burger place!

The restaurant is not highly visible, and better signing might be a good idea. It would be possible to miss it as you pass by.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carol d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle River, Alaska
Level Contributor
335 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Nice surprise”
Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

Clean, comfortable, but best of all delicious burgers, fries, and shakes. Great service too. Do yourself a favor and stop in. The posters on the walls are a total throwback to bygone days of pulp magazines, and there are a couple of really good games in the back-skeeball and non air table hockey! Great place!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Terry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Angeles, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great burgers and poutine”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We always enjoy eating at this restaurant and have tried several of their burgers. Our favorite is the Big Bleu. Also, as someone who loves poutine and has tried to find a good place to find it since moving to Port Angeles, this place is up to par. (The poutine serving is large, so be sure to split it.) This is not a fast food burger joint, so don't expect your food a couple minutes after you order it, and prices are about $10-$12 a burger. It's a small place that is on the edge of downtown Port Angeles (as you start heading into the port/marina/industrial area), so keep an eye out for it. It's also not noisy, so you can easily have conversations and enjoy your meal without having to shout.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank liongirl99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Colonel Hudson's Famous Kitchen also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing