We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay over before the ferry to Victoria”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Port Angeles
Reviewed September 16, 2013

This hotel will meet all your needs in this port town when travelling in the Olympic Penninsula or taking the ferry to Victoria the next day. It in on the water and rooms facing the harbor have balconies and huge windows to enjoy the boat traffic and soaring birds. The rooms are oversized and extremely comfortable. The adjoining restaurant has good service and good food. Breakfast is included with the room and is excellent.

Room Tip: Ask to face the water. The halls are very, very long and there is no elevator to the second floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CHTraveler2316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Namaste C, Manager at Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2016

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review and for being a guest at our hotel!

I hope that we get to see you here again!

Warm regards,

Namaste C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,265)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,798 - 1,804 of 2,265 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013

There are not a lot of "great" options in Port Angeles--this seems to be one of the better ones. It is located on the water close to the ferry terminal so it is easy to access the ferry to BC and relatively quiet and has good views. You can ferry and bus it to Vicotria and Bushardt. Access to the Olymipic Park and surrounds is also easy--don't miss Hurricane Ridge and Lake Crescent. There is a nice "boardwalk" that is good for strolling on the water side of the property. Several good restaurants are within walking distance. Like others we too thought that breakfast was included in our stay but found out the next day it was not--seems a bit shady to me. We did eat dinner in the hotel restaurant the previous night and found the food to be pretty good and reasonably priced. The property is showing it's age and is due for a make-over. Staff was friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinacoleggo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Namaste C, Manager at Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2016

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review and for being a guest at our hotel!

I hope that we get to see you here again!

Warm regards,

Namaste C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

The Red Lion employs super caring people who try to make your trip a very happy experience. The rooms are marvelous as is the large pool. I enjoyed the hotel breakfast, lunch and dinner. Relax and gaze at the boats and ferry arriving while eating in the dining room or walk the little beach in front of the hotel to look for sea glass. A walking path borders the hotel - no excuse not to get outdoors and move. Take a break and fly Kenmore Air for a sunny ride from Seattle to Port Angeles. You will have fun!

Room Tip: Make sure to stay in the rooms by the water. The building closer to the pool hasn't been updated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elaine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Namaste C, Manager at Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2016

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review and for being a guest at our hotel!

I hope that we get to see you here again!

Warm regards,

Namaste C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We just spent two nights at the Red Lion Hotel in Port Angeles, Washington and had a great experience. We stayed in just an ordinary two queen room unit - no view and we would have liked to have had a water view but we were gone early in the morning and back late at night and we saw plenty of the water etc. while we were out and about. Only complaint would be that there was no WIFI connection in our room - we were told that "we're having trouble with WIFI in that building." Well, that was disappointing as that was part of their advertisement. Food in their restaurant was excellent and the servers at breakfast went beyond making sure we had what we wanted and in a timely manner!

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room unless you cannot climb stairs because there is no elevator. The second bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marykh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Namaste C, Manager at Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2016

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review and for being a guest at our hotel!

I hope that we get to see you here again!

Warm regards,

Namaste C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel numerous times over the years, always in one of the waterfront building rooms with a beautiful view of Port Angeles Harbor and beyond. The property is starting to show its age a bit, but we still find it well-run and in the best location possible. Our check-in went well and the staff was welcoming and helpful.

Our king bed room was quite clean and spacious, bigger than most hotel rooms, which seems to be common with Red Lion hotels. Nice desk area, plus a comfy chair w/ ottoman. The bathroom is quite large, too, and hot water was plentiful.

Like others have noted, there was a very distinct odor in the room. We think it might have been the air conditioning, which we were using during this summer stay. We turned on the a/c when we were out of the room, but upon entering and encountering the musty, yucky smell, we had to turn it off and open up the deck door for some fresh air. At night, we couldn't it use it for long, as the room would be begin to smell, plus the a/c was extremely noisy. The a/c units should probably be cleaned and serviced to alleviate this problem. Not sure how often these a/c units are actually used, since Port Angeles isn't exactly the desert as far as temps go! :-)

We had great breakfasts at the hotel restaurant. Some of the staff have been there for a long time and it's always nice to see their friendly faces. Dinner was ok, but the environment wasn't what it could be. We remember years ago, when the restaurant was more upscale at dinner time, and there was a separate room for the bar. That's all gone now, and it's an open space. There was a family with two young kids in the restaurant and the kids sat at a table next to the parents' one, playing their video games very very loudly. We were at the other end of the restaurant and could hear it all. Just sad that the restaurant has become more like a "Denny's" atmosphere and not a real classy space. With the gorgeous waterfront view available, it sure would be nice to return the place to a nice dinner spot and not allow noisy people to bring in video games, etc.

With some updating and servicing equipment, this hotel would be rated "excellent." It is still a nice place to stay and we still plan on revisiting when we are in the area again. The waterfront trail is right in front of the hotel and you can quickly walk over to the city pier area (make sure you climb the stairs for the view at the pier tower). The ferry to Canada is not far, either, and from your waterfront room, you can watch the ferry come and go a couple of times a day.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mejulaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Namaste C, Manager at Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2016

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review and for being a guest at our hotel!

I hope that we get to see you here again!

Warm regards,

Namaste C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed here last week. The place has a great location, but the hotel leaves MUCH to be desired. The room had a bad smell, like mold mixed with moth balls. The bathroom had a lot of mold and mildew stains in the grout. The bed sagged in the middle. The carpet was worn and dirty looking. We asked for a king bed, and ended up paying $50 a night extra to "upgrade" to a king bed with a water view. That's a lot of money just to see the water.

Anyway, we had dinner in the restaurant the first night. Wow -- what a mistake. I had soup and salad. Pretty simple, right? The soup had lumps of flour goo in it the size of cherry tomatoes. Yuk! The salad was clearly well past its prime; the lettuce had a brownish, limp appearance and didn't taste good at all.

Fitness Center is a joke. Only three cardio machines. No weights or anything else.

If you stay in Port Angeles, try to find somewhere better than the Red Lion. The only good thing about it is the location.

Room Tip: Rooms on the water side have a nice view, but you will pay a premium to get them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LolaP541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RL_Customer_Care, Corporate Customer Care Department at Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

We value each and every one of our guests and I truly apologize that we failed to provide you the best possible service. We are very displeased to see that there were some areas of concern regarding the cleanliness in your guest room and quality of food in our restaurant. Please be assured that these issue will be addressed with our staff.
Thank you for your feedback you are a valued guest and we hope to have the opportunity to provide you better service in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This place is in a beautiful location, but 2 of the 3 rooms we booked smelled like cigarettes and one had no cooling. There were no free rooms available. When the complaint about the room went to the engineer, they stated they knew the compressor was out in that room- why would they put guests in there?
Floors were filthy- this place needs an upgrade badly. Travel to Port Angeles for business and will never stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CRI265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannah H, Manager at Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Good afternoon~

I want to begin by thanking you for being a guest at Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles and taking the time to complete a review after you checked out of our hotel
I want to apologize for the issues you encountered during your stay. I can appreciate how frustrating it can be to stay in a hotel and not be satisfied with the conditions of the hotel. I am sorry that there seemed to be an odor in your room. I also would like to apologize that the air conditioning did not seem to be working properly. I would like to update you, that we are in the process of replacing any units that are out of date.
The feedback you have provided will be used to determine areas of improvement for our hotels. We hope that you will allow us the opportunity to improve your experiences with us in the future
Thank you again for staying with Red Lion Hotels and providing us with your feedback.

Warm regards,

Hannah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Angeles
1.6 mi away
Olympic Lodge
Olympic Lodge
#1 of 16 in Port Angeles
2,008 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Uptown
Quality Inn Uptown
#5 of 16 in Port Angeles
259 reviews
16.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Sequim
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites at Olympic National Park
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Port Angeles
Days Inn Port Angeles
#15 of 16 in Port Angeles
868 reviews
1.7 mi away
Super 8 Port Angeles
Super 8 Port Angeles
#2 of 16 in Port Angeles
1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles

Address: 221 N Lincoln St, Port Angeles, WA 98362-2920
Location: United States > Washington > Port Angeles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Port Angeles
Price Range: $74 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles has been setting the standard for Olympic Peninsula hospitality for over 30 years. Situated on the shores of Hollywood Beach overlooking the Strait of Juan de Fuca, we are one block from the town center and steps away from ferries leaving daily for Victoria, B.C. Our unique location is one of the most scenic the Northwest has to offer. Nearby you'll find great shopping and the many natural attractions of Olympic National Park, including rainforests and beaches. Hiking, golfing, fishing, and skiing are also close by.Many of our 186 spacious guestrooms and suites have balconies overlooking the harbor and feature Red Lion's signature plush Sealy pillowtop beds, Eco Fresh Environmentally Responsible Products (ERP), complimentary wi-fi, complimentary parking and airport shuttle, as well as microwaves and refrigerators. All rooms feature coffee makers, complimentary wi-fi, telephone dataports and cable TV with Encore. When it's time to relax, we also have an outdoor pool, whirlpool and fitness center.The Port Angeles CrabHouse and Lounge serves up the best in seafood and steaks. We also offer Red Lion's signature Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet... and don't forget, kids 10 and younger eat free with each adult. With 3,010 square feet of meeting space, we are also able to accommodate up to 220 guests for your next conference or special occasion. Our superior staff and shoreline location, make the Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles the right choice, whether you are on the Olympic Peninsula for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Port Angeles
Port Angeles Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing