We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place to stay in Port Angeles”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Port Angeles
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
138 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Port Angeles”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

This hotel is as close to the water as you can get. While the rooms are average, they are clean and comfortable. This is a great place to stay if you like to be able to take a short walk to different dining options, however, if you are really lazy there is the Crab House restaurant on site.

Would definitely stay here again. I recommend paying extra and getting a room with an ocean view.

Room Tip: Book room facing the water, otherwise you face a parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PnSfromLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,841 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    467
    603
    431
    214
    126
See reviews for
575
668
84
202
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (521)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maple Valley, Washington
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Clean, renovated room facing the water. Friendly and accommodating staff. Walking distance to several restaurants. Pet friendly. Comfortable beds. Unfortunately the person above us liked to get up at 4:00 am and pace around a lot. However, all other noises were normal for hotel noises. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Water front view was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LittleBear21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
138 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

As with many Red Lion properties, they are older and somewhat dated. Our room was nicely updated, spacious, good bedding, clean and quiet despite the hotel being quite full, so we were able to overlook some of the drawbacks. We had two rooms, one water view and one not. The water view is great if you have time to enjoy it. Good location for walking downtown and the pier. As others have stated, great location for getting on the ferry. I appreciate rooms with two sinks, one separate from the other; nice flat screen. No complimentary breakfast which is a bit of a drawback but went to a nice little breakfast place just a short walk at the pier. Choices are a bit limited in Port Angeles so this worked well for us.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank redhills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

we woke up every morning to a beautiful view. the active harbor meant there was always something interesting to watch. we loved the wildlife we saw everyday. its a 2 minute walk to a tiny sea museum which kept up busy for 45 minutes. the rooms were very spacious. bed was nice and comfortable. we didnt really love the dinner restaurant and chose to do food in r room. they hada microwave/fridge. at night the big ocean liner had his lights on and it made the water sparkle.

Room Tip: water side most definately!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lorim56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

we have a small dog with us as we travel. we have spent many nights in smelly "pet-friendly" rooms. The Red Lion was clean, bed was very comfortable and no doggie smell. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dianne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronald
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

My husband & I chose this hotel because they allow dogs & were looking forward to long walks along the waterfront with our dogs. Sadly the path is closed for construction. I wish I'd known this before booking. When we called for our reservation we were assured it was open, also when we checked in. I believe the path is managed by the city, but it would have been helpful to know. The hotel itself is average, not well maintained or cleaned. The beds were comfortable but the bedding was too light for the wet, cold climate in Port Angeles.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KMurphey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn M, Director of Sales at Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you very much for providing helpful feedback regarding your stay. I am sorry to hear about the disappointment you felt after finding the walking path closed by the City. Unfortunately, that walking trail will be closed until mid-May.

We take all of our guest’s comments seriously as they assist us in providing better service. To that end, thank you again for your comments. We hope you will be staying with us again so we can prove our ability to exceed your expectations and you can also enjoy the beautiful water-front trail.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Port Angeles hotels

Sidney, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We chose this hotel for an Easter weekend getaway mainly because it was pet friendly.

They not only welcomed our dog but provided accommodation which was a very pleasant surprise. We had a king bed water view room, which was a generous size. There was a small fridge and microwave in the room, and one night we ended up just ordering in pizza so we could enjoy the view. The rooms are clean and the bed was comfy. Liked the fact there were 2 sinks, one inside the bathroom and one outside as well.

We used Port Angeles as a base to explore the Olympic peninsula, and it worked out very well for us. Being from Victoria, the hotel's location is perfect, less than 2 blocks from the ferry. We got off the ferry at 6 pm and were checked in and in our room by 6:15 pm. Couldn't be more convenient.

The only downside is the on site restaurant was awful. We ate there the first night we were in the hotel and we would never do that again. The food was expensive and just plain terrible. There are plenty of places within walking distance so there is no reason to eat there- don't do it!

Having said that, we absolutely would return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Spend the bit extra and get a water view room. The other rooms on the property all face the parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucydodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Angeles
1.6 mi away
Olympic Lodge
Olympic Lodge
#1 of 15 in Port Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,488 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Uptown
Quality Inn Uptown
#6 of 15 in Port Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Port Angeles
Days Inn Port Angeles
#13 of 15 in Port Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Sequim
13.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites at Olympic National Park
1.7 mi away
Super 8 Port Angeles
Super 8 Port Angeles
#2 of 15 in Port Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles

Property: Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
Address: 221 N Lincoln St, Port Angeles, WA 98362-2920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Port Angeles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Port Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles has been setting the standard for Olympic Peninsula hospitality for over 30 years. Situated on the shores of Hollywood Beach overlooking the Strait of Juan de Fuca, we are one block from the town center and steps away from ferries leaving daily for Victoria, B.C. Our unique location is one of the most scenic the Northwest has to offer. Nearby you'll find great shopping and the many natural attractions of Olympic National Park, including rainforests and beaches. Hiking, golfing, fishing, and skiing are also close by.Many of our 186 spacious guestrooms and suites have balconies overlooking the harbor and feature Red Lion's signature plush Sealy pillowtop beds, Eco Fresh Environmentally Responsible Products (ERP), complimentary wi-fi, complimentary parking and airport shuttle, as well as microwaves and refrigerators. All rooms feature coffee makers, complimentary wi-fi, telephone dataports and cable TV with Encore. When it's time to relax, we also have an outdoor pool, whirlpool and fitness center.The Port Angeles CrabHouse and Lounge serves up the best in seafood and steaks. We also offer Red Lion's signature Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet... and don't forget, kids 10 and younger eat free with each adult. With 3,010 square feet of meeting space, we are also able to accommodate up to 220 guests for your next conference or special occasion. Our superior staff and shoreline location, make the Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles the right choice, whether you are on the Olympic Peninsula for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Port Angeles
Port Angeles Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing