We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here”
Review of Courtyard Macon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard Macon
Ranked #24 of 68 Hotels in Macon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't stay here”
Reviewed March 21, 2011

Maybe water damage, large part of third floor smelly and unused. Bed uncomfortable. Morning buffet - looked free, but cost a lot. NOT A MARRIOT!!!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KWS68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    45
    48
    20
    16
See reviews for
54
38
18
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
jackson ms
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2010

It is not non-smoking, as advertised. While our room wasn't smoky smelling, others nearby reaked.

We were in town for a junior tennis tournament. I (along with several other guests) called down and asked what time the (not-free) breakfast would be out. I was told 7am. After explaining that all these players would need to eat before that, I was told bagels, cereal, etc., would be out by 6am. I (along with several other guests) were down by 6:30, and the lady running the breakfast line said she did not know anything about it or why the front desk would tell us that. She said in a chair the whole time.

There was a dead roach on our floor when we came in one afternoon.

Upon checkout, I was unable to get a receipt because the printer at the desk didn't work. I was told it would be emailed to me. Two days later, still no email receipt, so I called to check on it. I was then told that they could not email a receipt.

Clearly, the need for better communication among the staff members exists.

I have stayed at Marriott Courtyards many times before. This one is not up to standards, in my opinion. There is a Holiday Inn Express less than a half mile away that is much newer, much cleaner, and a better value for the money.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank inmysparetime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2009

I stayed hear on business.
Pros
Check in was fast polite staff.
Nice pool, Nice work out room, Nice Hot tub. Ill just say this was a very very nice work out room, they had tvs built into the exercise equipment.

cons
my boss opened his door to a roach walking around.
My room was filthy the bathrooms floor was sticky and smelt of urine, my bed was full of hairs, my boss stepped on a roach upon entering his room( that was also dirty)
Then the highlight my fan went in my room and it sounded like a helicopter on and off all night.

In the end we left around 6 or 7 in the morning I couldnt shut the fan off and as the desk man said its hard to find good housekeeping, we were credited for our rooms and promptly left. I have stayed at many a marriot courtyard and this was the only one Ive have a negative experience at. I do feel bad for the rest of the people in the hallway as you could hear the fan clearly in the hallway for about 20-30 feet either directions.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2009

There is really no difference from the Courtyard Marriott in NYC and the Courtyard Marriott in Macon, GA. They are always clean, comfortable, and a bit overpriced since breakfast is not included. I usually stay at a Courtyard because they are nicer than no frills, but a step down from the Hilton (helping my wallet). They are a safe bet if you aren't sure about where to stay. The one in Macon is no different and my stay was pleasant.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelerfromTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
171 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2009

We bid "Macon North" 2.5* on Priceline for $42. At that price, this hotel was fine since we were only staying one night on our way home from Florida.

This hotel is showing its age. The lobby is fine, but the room felt more like a 1 star. Example ~ the Marriott has been non-smoking for a few years now. But the faux marble bath counter top in our room was covered with cigarette burns. It was just tacky. There is no wireless internet access in the rooms, but to be fair there is an ethernet cable provided. I agree with other reviewers here that you can hear every door slam in the hallway from inside your room.

This is the first time we've booked a Priceline room where I felt we got treated "differently". Our location was probably the worst in terms of distance from the lobby. Everyone seemed to get a free USA Today shoved under their door, but not us!

On the plus side, the front desk staff was super friendly. The climate control in the room was fine and the bed linens were comfy.

We might stay here again for a quick overnight at a Priceline rate, but I'd never pay close to full price.

  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SunDiego123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2008

We stayed here for one night on our way from Nashville to Orlando. The lady at the front desk was friendly and the check-in process was fine. We stayed in a room on the first floor, and the room was clean and the beds very comfortable.

The problem with this hotel is the poor construction - the walls and ceiling are very thin and you can easily hear people in the rooms on either side and above. The family above us apparently had several children (nothing against small children - we have 3), and they sounded like a herd of elephants on a stampede. Okay - a slight exaggeration, but it was extremely loud. In a different hotel, we probably wouldn't have noticed. Around midnight, it finally got quiet. At 6:00 the following morning, it all started again.

I called the front desk the following morning to let the manager know I expected more from a Marriott. To their credit, the manager reimbursed us the entire amount of the stay.

While the staff was very friendly and accommodating, and the rooms are clean and comfortable, the extremely poor soundproofing of the hotel led to a disappointing stay. If you do stay here, I recommend that you request a room on the top floor.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WarEagle2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2008

MARIOTT CORPORATE...you got some explainin' to do with this property.

Bathroom was not cleaned after last guest...still dirty towels hanging on door, dirty, used soap in tub, etc.

Worst of all, my 2 year old daughter kept finding "stuff" in the room...some woman's lipstick from under the bed, some old used kleenexes, and a sock.

NASTY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

$150 per night...that's a lot for Macon, Georgia.

  • Liked — Macon's an iffy place to stay and this hotel is in a relatively nice area.
  • Disliked — Disgusting, dirty room, poor service, wi-fi internet connection was slower than dial-up and I had a HUGE project to get done
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank bstro202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macon hotels
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Macon
Residence Inn Macon
#23 of 68 in Macon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Macon
1.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Macon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Macon
3.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Macon - North
0.5 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Macon I-75 North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Macon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Macon

Property: Courtyard Macon
Address: 3990 Sheraton Dr, Macon, GA 31210-1721
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Macon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 68 Hotels in Macon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Macon 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Courtyard Macon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Macon Hotel Macon
Macon Courtyard
Macon Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing