We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As Rooms go, it was Suite.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Magnuson Hotel Macon
Ranked #24 of 67 Hotels in Macon
Reviewed May 10, 2009

As other reviewers have mentioned, getting to it is a merry game! Our sat nav stated "recalculating" a number of times so once we entered the strip mall its a quick left then right under the portico and down the other side, where they do have a few Priority Card parking slots which is handy for cardholders. A quick tip, if returning at night head around the hotel towards the rear entrance is this is well lit - the other side is a bit gloomy and somewhat foreboding. Your key card will allow access.

Check in was pleasant and seemless and we were given a well provided room on the sixth floor. Bed comfy, bathroom clean but the window couldn't be opened, a problem as you can smoke in these rooms if that is your bag - smoke botherers beware! A few good touches were thrown in, such as bottled water and good toiletries, a reasonably sized desk and some local info which was useful.

There are plenty of eateries within a mile but not really much within walking, we went downtown - about three miles to the Rookery. All in a good stop off point. Breakfast was adequate and coffee good and yes my companion raved about the cinnamon rolls. For the Allman Band devotees like us the Rose Hill cemetary is approx one and a half miles on the left as you head into town. Even though we had to negotiate what seemed to be two teams of little leaguers, it was an ok one nighter. If staying on business I think a week would be max.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spiderpig41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (271)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

255 - 261 of 271 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2008

Interesting hotel- apparently it used to be a hospital, so some of the room design is a bit different. But I would say that it is a step above most holiday inn express around. I don't think there was a pool. Getting into the property is a bit wierd as some earlier stated, and the shopping center it is near to is virtually dead. But, honestly, when I am on the road what I want is a place close to the interstate without crazy traffic, a good, clean room, and good breakfast. Hotel delivered on all accounts well, and the staff was nice to top it off. Annoying, that I also experienced the slow drain from the tub when taking a shower, but taking everything into account, better than I expected.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debatecoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2008

Didn't have reservations as we didn't know where we were going to stop on our way to Florida; checked in late about 11. I agree with commenter about strange entry and location. The check-in girl was nice enough but I had to ask about a AAA discount that got us $10 off. We got two queen beds. Very nice and comfortable. We brought an air mattress and sleeping bag so we didn't have to mess with a roll-away. Main problem was the air was not turned on so the room was hot and took quite a while to cool down. I assume this was because we didn't have reservations and so they were not expecting us. The room was clean and large and easily accommodated the 5 of us. It would be nice if they would put more than 4 towels in a room (They probably would have given us more had we asked.) The breakfast was very good. Large selection of hot and cold food, good coffee, juices. A real good way to get the day started.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mojo_james
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2008

The rooms were clean. The lobby and the interior of the hotel were nicely maintained. The breakfast was fine. Most all of the staff were friendly and helpful, but not all. The management was somewhat lackluster in their response to the one rude and very unhelpful staff member, which was disappointing but otherwise the stay was fine.

It is in an odd abandoned strip mall. The location is not the greatest, but that has more to do with the city of Macon that the HIE.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank georgia_traveler22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2007

This is located in an interesting place, an almost-empty shopping center. It has one of the strangest entry ways, requiring a car to weave around to get in front of the lobby. All that said, our stay was fine. We had no problems.

We got in late (10p) and left early (7a). The king size bed was nice and firm. The room had another interesting feature - it wasn't rectangular, the far wall sort of jutted out so a window could be inserted. No spectacular view but it made the room larger. There was a sofa and chair. Free Wi-Fi worked.

Complimentary breakfast had hot food including eggs (a big deal with me since some "free hot breakfasts" are just hot rolls, hot gravy and sheer carbs) but, again, the design of the eating area was as strange as the location of the building and layout of the rooms -- cramped, tables stuffed in around walls.

It wasn't the Ritz and I wouldn't spend a week there but just what we needed for a short stay while passing through on our trip to St. Augustine Beach, FL. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TallTVTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2006

My family and I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express on Riverside in Macon, Ga. this past July coming back from Florida vacation. Our problems started out as minor when we were not provided a roll-away for the 5th member of our family per our reservation. What followed was a series of lies from the night clerk, who was inept and pretty rude too, and the manager (Mr. Shah).

We finally got the roll-away (about 45 minutes after arriving) after being told repeatedly that one was not available. After asking the right questions, it was apparent that the day shift had not done their job properly by delivered the bed, and the night shift refused to pick up the slack - laziness and poorly managed. To aggravate the situation - the night clerk and the hotel manager (Shah) decided to lie their way out of the situation rather than serve the customer properly. Some of the lies were 1)there was no roll-away bed on the reservation (but day clerk confirmed that there was), 2) we were not entitled to a roll-away (we were through Priority Club), and 3) the whopper lie was " Holiday Inn did not allow more than 4 persons in a room"- Ha! (obviously not true). The bright spot was that the day shift clerk was very capable individual and honest too. I would not recommend this facility for you or your family - they basically are just after the money and not interested in serving their customers well.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tillett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2006

Booked through the company website with my Priority Club membership number. Paid $80.00 weekend rate which was competitve based on rates for other comparable hotels in the area.

Arrived late on Friday night and check-in was very quick. Was not recognized as a Priority Club member. The room was o.k. A hole in the wall had been patched but not painted. Beds were o.k. Bathroom was good with an excellent shower head.

Breakfast was included and very nice for a family of four with diverse likes and dislikes.

Check-out was quick and efficient. But again no mention of Priority Club.

Stayed: July 2006
1  Thank comxkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macon hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Riverside Inn
4.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Macon
2.3 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#21 of 67 in Macon
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Super 8 Macon West
Super 8 Macon West
#17 of 67 in Macon
670 reviews
2.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Macon
5.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Macon
Comfort Suites Macon
#22 of 67 in Macon
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Hotel Macon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel Macon

Address: 2720 Riverside Dr, Macon, GA 31204-1435 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Macon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Macon
Price Range: $59 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Magnuson Hotel Macon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Magnuson Hotel Macon is conveniently located right off I-75, between Downtown Macon and Northside business districts/attractions. Not to mention only minutes away from the Macon Centerplex and Mercer University. A 93 room interior-corridor hotel with complimentary Hot breakfast and free high-speed Internet in all guest rooms and public areas. Macon is home to the annual Cherry Blossom Festival, Harriet Tubman Museum, and the native home to such musical greats as the Allman Brothers and Otis Redding. Whether you're staying for business or pleasure we look forward to hosting you in Macon, 'The Song and Soul of the South.' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Magnuson Hotel Macon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Macon (i-75 And Riverside)
Holiday Inn Express Macon (i-75 & Riverside) Hotel Macon
Holiday Inn Macon
Macon Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing