We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Red Roof Inn & Suites Macon
Nearby Hotels
$169
$119
Homewood
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$79
Country Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$108
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
La Quinta
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$93
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$128
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (275)
Filter reviews
275 results
Traveler rating
67
97
61
28
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
67
97
61
28
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmagnuson hotelfresh paintroom was cleanwafflesbiscuits and gravystaff was very friendlyhotel is locatedgreat pricedefinitely stay here againfront desk staffhot breakfastvery nice hotelinterstatemicrowavelinens
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
206 - 211 of 275 reviews
Reviewed January 28, 2014

This is an older building that appeared to be in pretty fair condition. It looked like it might have been built in the 1960s or early 70s. We arrived after dark. The hotel is located in an isolated area. This caused us some concern. Most of the hotel is not visible from the passing road. The hotel is situated off a busy city road that leads directly onto the I-75. But, the hotel is built on land that is set back from the road and behind a row of business buildings. The hotel is also located on land about 10 to 15 feet lower. Consequently, the front door of the hotel, and the hotel parking area can not be seen from the road. The hotel is accessed by an open parking lot for a strip mall. It runs adjacent to the hotel and behind it in an L shape. The strip mall was totally unoccupied. There was some lighting in that mall parking lot. There was parking for about 12 cars near the front door. The rest of the parking was located behind the hotel. There was room for maybe another 20 or so cars. This area was very well lighted; but was very isolated. The building adjacent to this area was behind a tall fence and was about another, 10 to 15 feet lower. This appeared to add some security to this parking area. Any other hotel guests would have to park out in the nearby strip mall parking lot. There were many warning signs about the hotel not being responsible for damage, theft, etc. to parked vehicles. The surrounding area looked much better in the morning. But, the area is isolated.

The room was clean. The room furniture appeared to have been in use for many years. The quality of this furniture was what might be found in a second hand store. But, it looked serviceable, was all still functional. The age of the building was evident in the appearance of the ceiling smoke detector. It seemed to be originally coloured in the standard off white of electrical light switches and wall receptacles. But, it had yellowed or turned brownish, over many years use.

The bathroom was very small. There was one sink. The bathroom counter was very close to the toilet. So, there was only room for one person at the sink/counter at a time. The shower head was in a fixed position. The water pressure and temperature was very good.

The hallways appeared to have a fresh coat of paint. The carpet was in good shape.

The breakfast area was small. All of the usual HI-Express items were there. There were 2 tables to the side of the food service area. There were another 6 or 8 tables a short distance away, in another area.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpartanTrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa H, Guest Relations Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Macon, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear SpartanTrvlr,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay at our hotel. As an IHG brand property we proud ourselves on guest satisfaction and we appreciate all guest feedback. We have taken note of your comments and are working on correcting these things. Thank you for staying at our hotel and we hope to accommodate you again in the near future.


Sincerely
Teresa Hunter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

The Hotel sits in a desolate parking lot that is not very easy to get in and out of. The desk clerk didn't really want to hang up her personal call to greet us but finally did. No Priority Member "goodies" were given to us. I heard noise all night. Now for the good part. There was a man working at the hotel - possibly maintenance or security - and he was so friendly. I wish I had gotten his name. In one elevator ride we discussed everything from rock music to religion. He was delightful! The desk clerk the next morning was very friendly also.

Room Tip: Be prepared as this isn't up to par with other HIEs
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carmie60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Macon, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear Carmie60,

Thank you for your review and your valuable insights. Your willingness to spare some of your time to relay your comments is genuinely appreciated. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. It is regrettable that your stay was not up to your standards. Please be assured that all comments are acted upon and used to improve the quality of products and service we provide to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope that we can better serve you next time.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

It is an older property. There is almost no businesses in the surrounding area. it is in a convenient location to I75. Clean and large rooms. Comfortable beds and a good night sleep. Staff was friendly and efficient. I felt that room could use more lighting.

Free breakfast was OK. My complain is that breakfast area is very small for the number of people coming to breakfast, even on a not so busy day.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Macon, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Dear ExpandMyHorizon,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your stay. I am very delighted that you found the rooms clean and the beds comfortable. I also appreciate and wish to thank you for the kind comments on the staff. On the other hand, I certainly apologize for the inconveniences you experienced over the breakfast area. Rest assured that this issue will be looked into. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

This hotel looks like it was converted from some other use. The cinder block walls are indicative. It is clean and comfortable; we had a pleasant sleep. The free breakfast was very good and fresh. We were really impressed with perhaps the best staff we have encountered in our snowbird travels. They responded to a minor mishap in our room assignment by offering a free bottle of wine and glasses, delivered to our room! The next morning the same staff greeted us by name. We felt like family! Way to go, Holiday Inn!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
Thank aktrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We found this hotel during a road trip on I-75, and decided to stay based on the extremely positive experience we'd had at another Holiday Inn Express earlier in our trip. While it wasn't bad enough to leave, I doubt I'll ever stay here again. The biggest issue was that there was hair (they looked very much like pubic hairs) all over the bathroom, including one of the towels. The staff was friendly and the breakfast was good, we were just turned off by the hair in the bathroom.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank khatcher25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa H, Guest Relations Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Macon, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear khatcher25,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay at our hotel. I would like to apologize that your stay was less than satisfying. We have noted your complaint and have brought it to the attention of the housekeeping supervisor. We hope that we will give us another chance to accommodate you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews