We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pillow Shame”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Magnuson Hotel Macon
Ranked #24 of 67 Hotels in Macon
Savannah, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pillow Shame”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

The Holiday Inn Express in Macon, Georgia is pretty typical of this type of budget wise hotel choice. Though newer than other hotels in the area, and consistent with the brand, the lobby and dining room are not surprising . . . but kept up well. The desk attendant was relatively cheerful and efficient even when I gave her the state tax exempt forms. She even thanked me for being a Priority Club Member - nice touch. This confirmed that my membership number had been included so that the appropriate points could be awarded without my asking.

The room, again, was typical with the notable absence of the 'comforter' or bedspread. Again, nice update. The bed covers/sheets had a clean look, done in all white with a red accent short cover at the end of the bed. I did find, that it seemed rather light for covers when I went to bed though. I would prefer an extra blanket. The bed was EXTRA firm, great if you like that in a bed. I like a bit more give. What I did not like were the pillows. They were small, made of foam that seemed to have been ripped by hand, un-supportive, and seemed old and tired. When everything else in the hotel seemed updated, the pillows seemed to have been made in the 70's, and never traded out.

Overall, I chose this hotel because it was close to the meeting I was attending at Macon State and seemed to be newer than the other choices in the area. This met my expectations. But be sure to bring your own pillows!

Room Tip: Room 202 was very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cnyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel Macon, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear cnyth,

Thank your for being a Priority Club member and for your review regarding your stay with us. I am very pleased that you found our front desk to be efficient.

I am sorry to hear that you didn't like the pillows. Please accept our sincerest apologies for we have fell short of your expectations on this aspect during your stay.

As a club member, your patronage and support to the hotel is very important to us and we look forward to that opportunity of serving you once again.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    93
    55
    27
    20
See reviews for
99
66
17
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
florida
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Had a fast stay here while working in the area. The front desk staff was helpful and quick. The rooms were at holiday inn exp standard. Clean, something I value more than anything else. Breakfast was normal hie standard, nothing great or special....biscuits with no gravy :(
Thank you HIE Macon for a place to catch some zzz.
Will stay here again.
Rates competitive with area hotels.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ontheroadalways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa H, Guest Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel Macon, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about stay at our hotel. I am pleased to hear that everything went well during your stay, as we proud ourselves on our customer service. We hope to accommodate you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Had a late arrival and was helped with getting a roll away bed for the kids. Uneventfull night and early departure. Breakfast was standard and with nice cinnamon rolls like always! Small breakfast area. Tight breakfast area also parking can be tough. Odd hotel location.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tayla13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa H, Guest Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel Macon, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Than you for taking the time to write a review on your stay and hope to accommodate you again in the future.

Thanks
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

The location was right off I75 so it was an easy quick overnight stop, but the area it was in was pretty run down and deserted, making a little creepy arriving at night. The rooms were clean enough, but really worn and in need of updating. The free breakfast was ok and they kept it well stocked. The staff was also very friendly. But even for just a quick overnight stay I would not stay at this one again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travllgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa H, Guest Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel Macon, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. We apologize for the shortfalls during your recent stay with us. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guest; therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Thanks you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I had a great stay at the Holiday Inn on Riverside in Macon. The room was extremely clean, and the staff was very polite. They acknowledged me every time they saw me, so I felt more than just a guest ! I really liked how they had coffee all through the day, and it was fresh. I had a pleasant breakfast the next morning, and was happy to see the selection. They had cinnamon rolls, bagels, biscuits, gravy, and Bacon !! Plus much more. Great stay, I'd reccommend it to anyone who wants the best.

Room Tip: Any room in the Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa H, Guest Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel Macon, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a revire about your stay. We look forward to accommodating you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greer, South Carolina, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We reside in Greenville SC and were called to be with a family member who was in ICU @ Macon Medical Center; shocking to say the least. We booked two nights here and I cannot express how well we were treated as guests under extreme stress...Stephanie and the other gentleman who worked the night shift (his name excapes me but I think it began with a C. ?) Stephanie prayed with us and went above and beyond her job. As far as the hotel; it was spotless.

Room Tip: We stayed in the corridor to the left of the entrance..no noise or disturbances at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vikki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa H, Front Office Manager at Magnuson Hotel Macon, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the our property. We are happy to here that the staff was able to accommodate so well in your time of need. We hope to accommodate you again in the future.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UNIONTOWN, OH
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

The hotel was an older hotel in front of a plaza that was for the most part abandoned. The room was clean. The room had a flat screen TV, microwave and refrigerator. I was disappointed that it did not have a desk but instead a table. It was difficult to work at the table because the chairs despite being comfortable were too low to work from at the desk. There was no closet but a rack for clothes by the door; it only had 4 hangers. The water was hot in the shower but needed to be much hotter. I requested that the handle be adjusted so I could make it hotter but maintenance never got around to doing it. You could definitely not burn yourself with the water. They had an issue with a water leak at the time that was more important but I was there 3 days and my issue was not addressed. The orange juice at breakfast was very watered down and in my opinion not drinkable. The lighting in the hallway was very dim. I will be in Macon again next month but will select a different hotel. This hotel needs some attention.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FENTON64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa H, Guest Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel Macon, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your stay. I am sorry we were not able to exceed or at least be at par with your expectations specifically with our services and maintanence control. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. Thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macon hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Riverside Inn
4.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Macon
2.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Macon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Macon
2.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#47 of 67 in Macon
224 reviews
5.4 mi away
Days Inn Macon I-475
Days Inn Macon I-475
#17 of 67 in Macon
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Hotel Macon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel Macon

Property: Magnuson Hotel Macon
Address: 2720 Riverside Dr, Macon, GA 31204-1435 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Macon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 67 Hotels in Macon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Magnuson Hotel Macon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Magnuson Hotel Macon is conveniently located right off I-75, between Downtown Macon and Northside business districts/attractions. Not to mention only minutes away from the Macon Centerplex and Mercer University. A 93 room interior-corridor hotel with complimentary Hot breakfast and free high-speed Internet in all guest rooms and public areas. Macon is home to the annual Cherry Blossom Festival, Harriet Tubman Museum, and the native home to such musical greats as the Allman Brothers and Otis Redding. Whether you're staying for business or pleasure we look forward to hosting you in Macon, 'The Song and Soul of the South.' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Magnuson Hotel Macon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Macon (i-75 And Riverside)
Holiday Inn Express Macon (i-75 & Riverside) Hotel Macon
Holiday Inn Macon
Macon Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing