We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Riverside Inn
Ranked #12 of 67 Hotels in Macon
Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
Reviewed January 5, 2011

THis hotel is good for the price we paid. The rooms are very clean and the beds are comfortable. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good and a good variety of things were offered. Of couse the make your waffles are always a hit with my kids. The biggest complaint I have is the smoke smell. They have a lounge with the hotel and as soon as you walk in you smell smoke in the lobby. Our rooms did not initially smell like smoke, however, we began to notice a smoke smell every now and again. Not sure if it came from above or from the lobby with the lounge. The hotel is older but the rooms have been updated and are very nice. They really just need a better ventalation system with the lounge by the lobby.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdmap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    185
    70
    33
    19
See reviews for
180
143
30
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Newport, Rhode Island
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2010

What do you want for an interstate accessible room where the bed is comfortable, pillows fluffy and pool open PAST 10pm? I have read reviews below mine and don't feel as strongly as some. They were DONE with the obvious construction that potty-mouth Google Reviewer Crystal expounds on so we did not have to deal with this. We were walk-ins without reservations. In the summer expect to turn on the AC and have it pump cold air into the room when you get there, not when you first step in the room. Everyone needs to save on resources. The staff was friendly, the lobby is impressive and for $51.99 from a reg price of $89 you can save a lot without expecting it to be the Taj Majal. Get real people, if you need to sleep in clean sheets and use a toilet, this should satisfy you. If you are a princess, go pay princess prices. I recommend it for anyone on a budget (isn't that all of us...otherwise why would you be reading this review?) See my other reviews on a continued GA trip on Days Inn La Grange...not that will be a different story! Good luck!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YouWantMyOpinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2010

Our room at this BW wass truly one of the dirtiest hotel rooms we've ever stayed in. Driving home from a camping trip in Smoky Mtn. Nat'l Park, we stopped here late and they had one room available. The toilet had brown drip marks on it that I can only assume was feces, the blanket on one of the beds was stained, the ceiling had gum stuck to it and was stained with brown spots. The shower head was not adjustable and aimed directly at the back wall of the shower, spraying water outside the tub and all over the floor. If not for the late hour, we would have asked for our money back and moved on, but with 3 little kids, we just couldn't bear to pack everything back up and move on. Very disappointing for a Best Western which are usually very comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bacichica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sweethrt629
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2010

I booked a night at this hotel because it looked decent, clean, and the price was about the same as all of the other hotels on the street. I sort of just randomly chose it...didn't even think about reviews!!! i could kick myself!!! I am OCD about hotels and liked to have croaked when I walked in and was hit with the stale cigarette & cleaner smells....I felt sick to my stomach cause I know I had prepaid and was not getting a refund to go somewhere else. The nonsmoking room we reserved stunk just as well. Some of the rags were brownish, the bathroom floor was sticky, and there was hairs and black lint that was showing under the sheets...we looked and noticed the thin cover between the sheet and matress had not been washed...I was miserable! The walls are very thin also, and you can hear everyone coming in & out. It was a loud night. I sucked it up and told myself there had to be worse. I know I will never stay here again. Definately need to do something with the cleaning staff and the smells.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweethrt629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanaPaul
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2009

We stayed at this hotel for a family reunion from 07/17/09 through 07/23/09. Since this was a familiy reunion, we had some relatives who actually lived in Macon, GA and only visited us while we stayed at this hotel. One of in town relatives had a dog who he had leased BY THE POOL. The front desk clerk came outside, screaming and yelling and accusing my mother of allowing the dog into the pool. She didn't come over and ask. She was very rude and obnoxious. When we told her that no dog was ever in their pool, she went back inside. The manager came out a few moments later and, again, accused my mother of allowing the dog into the pool. She calmly told them that "No. This is a family member who lives in town, he is not staying here and we did not allow the dog in the pool. He is here to visit his daughter who is staying here with her family." There was no apology from the manager or front desk clerk. At 11:00 a.m. the very next day, he knocked on my family's hotel room door and told them to GET OUT right now! He was very rude, obnoxious and impolite. I would never again stay at this hotel and, probably, will not be staying at another Best Western as a result. The staff was very unprofessional, the room were dirty to the point of being filthy, you had to beg for clean towels and the place looks like it hasn't been updated since the 1980s. I work for a company where I travel here and overseas at least 100+ days per year and neither myself, my husband nor anyone from my company will be staying at this Best Western or any other Best Western if I have anything to say about it and, believe me, after many years of working for this company, I have plenty of say as to where our executives stay. I certainly have enough influence to notify my family, friends and fellow Tripadvisor travelers. DO NOT STAY AT THE BEST WESTERN RIVERSIDE (Macon, GA). It was a nightmare!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DanaPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville,Tn
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2009

This is an older property that Best Western has bought and refurbished as best they could.
For $52/night for our room, it was certainly acceptable. The staff was very efficient and friendly. Our room was a little worn, but clean. The walls are kind of thin, but that wasn't a problem. I would recommend this hotel to the budget-minded traveler who wants a clean, simple room at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DocAdvil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2008

Stay at this hotel for five days while traveling on business. Rooms were clean, furnishings average but comfortable, the friendliest staff I have encountered for quite awhile, Nice breakfast assortment for what they considered a continental breakfast. They had waffles, sausage biscuits, fresh fruit, basic ceral selection, grits and hot oatmeal, juice and coffee. A comfortable heated pool with pleasant landscaping. The outside was as clean as the inside. Internet access was available at no charge, small office center, a respectable lounge on site, small exercise room also.

  • Liked — safe clean
  • Disliked — no tea at breakfast
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank antlerlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macon hotels
5.6 mi away
Best Western Inn & Suites of Macon
3.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Macon
2.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Macon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Macon
3.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Macon North
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Macon / Mercer University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Riverside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Riverside Inn

Property: Best Western Riverside Inn
Address: 2400 Riverside Dr, Macon, GA 31204-1782 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Riverside Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Macon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Macon
#11 Romantic Hotel in Macon
#14 Business Hotel in Macon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Riverside Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit the 'Cherry Blossom Capital of the World' in Georgia and stay at this interior corridor BEST WESTERN Riverside Inn in Macon. We are located in the heart of Georgia off of Interstate 75. Our hotel provides easy access to local tourist attractions including the Georgia Music Hall of Fame, the Georgia Sports Hall of Fame and the Macon Coliseum. Guests traveling on business will appreciate the close proximity to corporate locations such as the Cigna Corporate Center, the Georgia Farm Bureau and McDonnell Douglas.All newly renovated guest rooms feature high-speed Internet access and cable television with HBO®. Guests can enjoy cocktails at the onsite lounge. Hotel amenities include an outdoor pool, exercise facility, meeting facilities and a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast. Pets are also welcome. The BEST WESTERN Riverside Inn is one mile from downtown Macon featuring a variety of restaurants and numerous shops. Guests of the hotel will also be close to the Tubman Museum and the Museum of Arts and Sciences. While in town, guests can enjoy the Cherry Blossom Festival in March or listen to music at the Southern Jubilee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Best Western, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Riverside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Riverside Hotel Macon
Best Western Macon
Macon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing