We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem!”
Review of 1842 Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
1842 Inn
Ranked #6 of 67 Hotels in Macon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 8, 2010

This Inn is absolutely top drawer. The service is first class and from the moment we arrived, we were made to feel very welcome. Southern hospitality at its best. We had booked the Mercer room, a great choice. A very large room with a lots of space and a lovely bathroom. We had breakfast in our room, the food was piping hot and very more-ish.

This is is beautiful building furnished in the period, well maintained and spotlessly clean. The location is great in amongst historical buildings.

Our only disappointment was that we had only booked one night's stay!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (216)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 216 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2010

Felt like we were at home. Loved the atmosphere, Very comfortable. Gloria's breakfasts are unbeatable .Again... why would anyone stay anywhere else?

Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank KathrynAnnK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2009

My stay at the 1842 Inn was perfect. The staff's hospitality was unmeasurable, and the rooms were beautiful. Everyone was so nice, and very helpful. They made sure we had everything we needed and more. The smell of breakfast the next morning was an awesome thing to wake up to and it tasted delicious. I couldn't have asked for a better night and only wished I would have booked for longer. The perfect place to get engaged. Thanks for everything.

M.T.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoadChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2009

I saw the 1842 Inn on a luxury travel website and thought it would be a perfect place to have a getaway with my bridesmaids before my wedding. I decided to bid on a 2 night package so that my mom and I could go check it out beforehand. I called the Inn and inquired of their availability, to which the man told me there were several rooms still available. Then, I told him I wanted to use the travel package and he stuttered and said that actually there was no availability. I questioned him and and he became short and said it was up to him whether he'd let me use the package on those days. I could understand if the place was booked, but just because he didn't want to "let me use my package" was quite upsetting. Furthermore, his curtness and irritation hurt my feelings, so I abandoned the whole idea of bringing my bridesmaids there and decided to take my business elsewhere.

Stayed: May 2009
4  Thank alwaysontheroad50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Commentreviewer, Manager of Guest Services at 1842 Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2009

We always do our best to accommodate all guest requests for certain dates. It is very rare for us not to be able to honor requested dates. Packages that are bidded on through other sights are handled exclusively by that particular site with their rules and regulations clearly stated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2009

So comfortable, great staff so much hospitality wonderful home on a beautiful street in Macon. Columns like "Tara" sit out on the porch and enjoy your coffee or tea. This is a diamond among inexpensive run of the mill chain hotels. Don't miss 1842 and most important don't miss Marcos Restaurant. Nazario will even supply a driver if you need a ride. So charming!

The entire staff is so welcoming and such pros at real hospitality just like we love in the
South!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grits2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2009

We stayed at the 1842 Inn in Macon, GA, last month. The inn exudes authentic, anti-bellum graciousness. The magnificent homes in the neighborhood put you romantically back in time to that period! It is hard to imagine that so many buildings as beautiful as these were built before the Civil War and have been maintained to perfection. The inn’s grounds have been meticulously maintained. Traditional Southern hospitality abounds with the sophisticated Italian flair added to the mix by the Italian host/owner, Nazario Filipponi . Service was excellent, outgoing and friendly. Should we have occasion to return to the area, it will be to stay at the 1842.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mindy2300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2009

This is by far the best place to stay in Macon! I was so impressed the first year that my husband and I are now making this a yearly trip! The Inn is absolutely gorgeous, the staff is top-notch (I just can't brag on them enough, every one of them goes above & beyond to make you feel "at home"), the Inn is VERY clean, and the food is just incredible (breakfast is included and it is SO GOOD!) I'd give the 1842 Inn 10 stars if I could!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trishbuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macon hotels
2.2 mi away
Best Western Riverside Inn
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Macon I-475
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Macon / Mercer University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Macon Marriott City Center
8.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Macon - North
6.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Macon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1842 Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1842 Inn

Address: 353 College St, Macon, GA 31201-1636
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Macon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Macon
#12 Business Hotel in Macon
Price Range: $219 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 1842 Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 1842 Inn blends the amenities of a grand hotel and the ambiance of a country inn. The guest rooms and public areas of the inn dwell within a Greek Revival antebellum house and an adjoining Victorian house that share a quaint courtyard and gardens. The nineteen guest rooms, parlors, and library are tastefully designed with fine English antiques and paintings, oriental carpets, tapestries and elaborate draperies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your 1842 Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1842 Hotel Macon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing