We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a beautiful place.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 1842 Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
1842 Inn
Ranked #5 of 68 Hotels in Macon
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“What a beautiful place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2011

Stayed here as a 60th birthday treat from my brother , sister-in-law and boys. A little touch of class and elegance made even more delightful by JoAnn and staff. Situated 10mins. walk from the very interesting town centre, this house was a sight to behold both inside and out. Pictures of the rich and famous, who have been guests, adorn the curved wall leading towards the back of the building where a small garden, tables and chairs were to be found. The room was spacious, clean and inviting, though t.v. in cupboard/wardrobe was somewhat strange. Breakfast was a little disappointing with an individual portion of marmalade and butter to accompany the 1 slice of toast. The cooked part of breakfast you ordered the night before from a very good selection. (perhaps I am just too used to 'full scottish')
Over all it was a wonderful 'one off' which I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brenhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    26
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
17
132
4
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the inn in the John Gresham room. The room was beautiful with four large windows and plantation shutters. It is on the 2nd floor of the main inn which has a large landing area at the top of the stairs. The inn's public areas are also very nice. Had breakfast on the front porch each morning (comes with room price). Inn is close enough to walk downtown and is located on a street with many other very historical homes. It is worth the trip to Macon just for the inn. The cherry blossom trees also bloom at the same time as the dogwood, azeleas and lilacs. Worth the trip. Go to Rose Hill Cemetary and Ocmulgee Indian Mounds if you like to visit old places.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on 2nd story of main inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ColCat86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2011

We loved it so much. My mother saw an article in a magazine on Macon and saw the advertisement for this quaint little bed and breakfast. It was wonderful. We walked right in and were greeted at the front desk and immediately offered hors d'oeuvres. Each member of the staff was very helpful and we had a wonderful time. The only problem with this inn was the apartments on the opposite side of the street. It was a college apartment building and there were college students making noise and zooming in their cars down streets. It was wonderful.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lizcarter1293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, VA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2011

The 1842 is the class act of Macon, GA. You are treated like old friends the moment you arrive. The front desk takes care of all your requests. In the evening there's a small spread out in the foyer area. Nice touch. The room service is wonderful in this elegant B&B. My wife & I are headed back in May.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank actorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2011

Staying at the 1842 Inn was wonderful, the friendliness of Emma's greeting when we arrived was unexpected. She took care of us as if we were staying in her own personal residence. She walked us to the room to show us all of the features, and reminded us to come into the parlor for a cocktail before we left for dinner. When we did, she gave us drinks and the hors d'oeuvres were very tasty. Emma made dinner suggestions for us and upon our return to the Inn, served us coffee and warm cookies in front of the fireplace! The room was cozy (Emma came into the room and lit the fire for us) and the bed comfy. We filled out our breakfast menu before going to sleep and in the morning JoAnn greeted us in the parlor with an enthusiastic smile. The meal was so good, served in front of the fireplace with a beautiful table setting. We did not want to leave because our experience was so wonderful! My husband and I had a romantic Valentine stay and would love to return again!

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LuauLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2010

The 1842 Inn is expensive, but worth the price. Located in the heart of the Historic District of Macon, it's a beautiful old mansion with a huge front terrace to enjoy while you sip your morning coffee and have breakfast. Rooms are large and comfortable with every amenity you could wish for. Take a walk in the evening when the historic homes are lit up - you may even get a chance to chat with the people who live in these beautiful homes. We were lucky enough to be invited into a private historic home for a tour - it was fantastic!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2010

I would open my remarks by mirroring those of "RoadChef" from WarnerRobbinsGA.

I cannot concieve of any person not thinking that they had just discovered one of the great "gems" of a life time of travel. The physical plant is enchanting. The interior is spectacular with wonderful period pieces everywhere. It's almost 170 years old and yet is very adequately air conditioned (we where there when it was 94 degrees outside).

We were there for two days and every member of the staff which we met were just special people who went out of their way to make your stay a delight. When we left we felt that each one of them was a new friend. When we walk back in, which will be SOON, we will call each of them by name and I'll bet money that they will remember our names as well.

Go to their website and look at the photos - they tell the story. What you will find will be just as special as those pictures.

Not quite twice the cost of the Fairfield Inn (which we like quite well) AND 400% OF WHAT YOU'LL GET on your best night ever at the Fairfield. Oh, did I mention that they'll serve you breakfast next morning, either downstairs - or if you prefer - in your bedroom.

All you folks that make the "1842 Inn" what it is, you have my most sincere "Thank You".

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank overthehill35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macon hotels
8.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Macon - North
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Macon / Mercer University
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Macon I-475
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Macon Marriott City Center
1.5 mi away
Towneplace Suites Macon Mercer University
5.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Macon I-75 North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1842 Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1842 Inn

Property: 1842 Inn
Address: 353 College Street, Macon, GA 31201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Macon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Macon
#12 Business Hotel in Macon
#13 Family Hotel in Macon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 1842 Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 1842 Inn blends the amenities of a grand hotel and the ambiance of a country inn. The guest rooms and public areas of the inn dwell within a Greek Revival antebellum house and an adjoining Victorian house that share a quaint courtyard and gardens. The nineteen guest rooms, parlors, and library are tastefully designed with fine English antiques and paintings, oriental carpets, tapestries and elaborate draperies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your 1842 Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1842 Hotel Macon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing