We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Holiday Inn EVER”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Macon West
Ranked #15 of 67 Hotels in Macon
Reviewed July 11, 2012

My husband recently had to go Macon on business and I went along with him. The outside of this hotel looked like it was going to be a wonderful overnight stay. Well, looks can be deceiving. To start with, the front desk clerk was VERY unfriendly. Usually we get upgraded into a bigger room since my husband is platinum member with Holiday Inn, but we didn't, so it was no big deal. The room was fine. Once we were settled in, we decided to go out to the pool. Well......the pool was filthy!!! Dirt on the bottom, dead bugs and debris floating in it. And it was WARM. Nothing like being in 100 degree temperatures and getting into a warm, dirty pool to cool off. Needless to say, we didn't stay long out there. The next morning my husband left to go to his meeting and stopped at the front desk to ask for a late check out (which is usually 2:00 p.m.). Well the same "unfriendly" woman was at the desk again and said she couldn't do that, that she could only give us til 12:30 at the latest, that she was expecting a "big group" to come in. Ok.......we were only 1 room. There was maybe 3 other occupants that had stayed over in other rooms that night and we were the last ones to leave. This hotel had 2 floors too. I don't think anyone was in the upper rooms. My husband shortened his meeting and we left at noon. She was behind the desk when we left and was very unfriendly to my husband when he asked for his receipt he needed for work. I will NEVER go back to that Holiday Inn again. I have never complained about any hotel on here before and we have stayed in many Holiday Inn's all over the country. But this Holiday Inn deserves the negative remarks. P.S. I think the 2 "good" reviews it got on here, were from the co-workers there.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank indicindi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 12, 2012

We strive to provide excellent customer service to each of our guests. However the pool outside was little warm because of the hot weather we have been getting, so that is understanding and the pool being dirty was cause of the storm we had. Also 2.00pm checkout you only get upon availability of that day even if your Platinum member. Also you did not know what the occupancy was that day as will. By the way our co-workers did not write great reviews on trip advisor you cannot do this on this website.
Please accept my sincere apology for your inconvenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (283)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Macon West
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

250 - 256 of 283 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed one night at this motel. Everything was fine until the following morning when we were packing to leave. I noticed smeared blood on the sheet where I had been sleeping. We started looking at the sheets and noticed small, dark bugs. We immediately called the desk clerk. He came to our room and told us they were pine beetles. He said they come into the rooms when the exterminator sprays and it happens yearly. We did not observe the bugs anywhere in the room except the bed. The manager refused to give us a full refund because we had slept in the bed. I told her that I would be writing a review of the hotel so that no one else would have to go through this experience. I do not know if i was bitten or the smeared blood was from the bugs.
CHECK THE BED BEFORE YOU GET IN IT!!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 11, 2012

We strive to provide excellent customer service to each of our guests. However, we understand that sometimes, regardless of what we do to resolve an issue it doesn't make up for your inconvienence. You did stay all day and all night that was the reason i did not give you a full refund, Be assured that the issues you have raised have been addressed and that appropriate action has been taken, We hope that you will give us another chance in the future.
We want each of our guests to feel at home with us. Please accept my sincere apology.

We wish you the best of luck with your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Our room wasnt ready on time. We awoke to the sound of scratching. My husband brought a three inch cockroach trapped in a cup to the front desk. The staff was flippant. She said "it's the South". If you have an issue with this hotel they will not help resolve it. We were spoken down to and the GM was rude. We booked a $130 room and we had to leave early, creeped out and upset.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeaceMother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shobha31206, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Macon West, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

We strive to provide excellent customer service to each of our guests. Our Check Inn time is 3.00pm, our ladies and gentlemen try their best to make our guest feel at home and make their stay comfortable and pleasant. Please accept my sincere apology.

We wish you the best of luck with your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Beautiful building, helpful staff, delicious breakfast, close to lots of restaurants, but no traffic noise. Seemed to be newly renovated rooms, lobby, etc. - very stylish! And super clean! Would stay there again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terrichka H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 11, 2012

Thank you for the nice review. We are very happy that you and your family had a great stay. The staff appreciates your comments and we look forward to the opportunity of hosting your next stay in Macon. I hope your travel was pleasant traveling back home.
Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Very nice and clean, great breakfast, nice pool and fitness center, excellent internet speed and access. Very quiet. Turn at the McDonalds and it is down the road to the right. Harder to find, but it makes it quieter. Very pleasant. Compared to many other places we have stayed, this one rocks!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kris w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 4, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I will make sure to pass along your comments to our Ladies and Gentlemen so they know their hard work and dedication is noticed and appreciated by our guests. It is guests like you, who take the time to share positive thoughts, that encourage our staff to always deliver excellent customer service.
We hope you had a wonderful vacation and hope to see you at our hotel again.

IN THE END THE ONLY PERSPECTIVE THAT MATTERS IS OUR GUEST!
Thank you so much
*****Happy 4th of July******

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

My children and I were impressed by this facility. It is nearly new, clean, and quiet. The personnel were all friendly and efficient. The breakfast was good and replenished frequently.
It was also a treat that our room had 2 queen beds, instead of two standards, with comfortable pillows and new-ish linens.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SoutheastJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shobha31206, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Macon West, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are grateful that all of our hard work and dedication is noticed and appreciated. I will make sure to share your thoughts and experience with my staff.

Again, thank you for sharing your experience. Our guests' appreication is what makes everything worth it. Our goal is to always meet and exceed your expectations. I'm thrilled to know we have consistantly done so.
Thank you so much greatly appreicated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

We stayed at this hotel on May 3rd and we couldn't have been more pleased. It is very clean and the staff was very courteous. The location was simple to find (via my Garmin) and it was very quiet at night. They also serve a great breakfast that is free of charge (B&G, baccon, pan cakes, muffins, juice - you name it). I would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RedneckTraveler420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shobha31206, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Macon West, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I will make sure to pass along your comments to our Ladies and Gentlemen so they know their hard work and dedication is noticed and appreciated by our guests. It is guests like you, who take the time to share positive thoughts, that encourage our staff to always deliver excellent customer service.
We hope you had a wonderful vacation and hope to see you at our hotel again.
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macon hotels
5.3 mi away
Best Western Riverside Inn
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Macon I-475
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Macon West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Macon / Mercer University
6.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Macon North
7.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Macon - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Macon West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Macon West

Address: 4970 Harrison Rd, Macon, GA 31206-4136
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Macon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 67 Hotels in Macon
Price Range: $107 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Macon West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a comfortable stay at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites. This Macon hotel is located just 0.8 miles from Macon State College, 0.8 miles from Anderson Conference Center, and 2 miles from Central GA Technical College. 5 miles from Mercer University and 13 miles from the Middle GA Regional Airport. Enjoy lodging at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites hotel in historic Macon, Georgia, located just off I-475, which provides access to several nearby Macon attractions, including the Imax Movie Theater, Eisenhower Crossing Shopping Center, Georgia Sports Hall of Fame and the Georgia Children's Museum. You must come and experience the fun of the annual Cherry Blossom Festival in March, which boasts more than 275,000 Yoshino Cherry trees. Other nearby attractions and activities in Macon include the Museum of Arts and Sciences, the Grand Opera House, and shopping at the local Macon Mall. The hotel is also in close proximity to local Macon businesses such as Colleges, Anderson Conference Center, and Georgia Power. Holiday Inn Express and Suites offers a hot breakfast bar every morning, which features signature cinnamon rolls along with a relaxing outdoor swimming pool for your entertainment. Whether you are here on business or traveling through, book your reservations today and experience the charm of true southern hospitality. The hotel's motto says "Stay Smart" at a price you can afford! What happens in Macon West stays in your heart, so stay with the name you trust to guarantee a memorable visit. "Southern Hospitality at its Best" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Macon West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Macon West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing