We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The King Suite is Not so Sweet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Macon / Mercer University
Ranked #3 of 67 Hotels in Macon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I give an overall rating of disappointing for this visit for only 3 'below normal' service levels as can be expected from Hilton Hotels.

(My wife and I have stayed at this hotel 2 times before this stay. She wrote a review which detailed what to reserve and I forgot to follow her guidelines.)

First, let me say that everyone of the staff I met was very friendly and polite. The general appearance of the hotel is clean and neat, giving a welcoming feeling to the guests. It is located directly on the Mercer campus and that one fact is its major star attraction.

Our room, 418 on the top level and only two doors down from the elevators was clean, neat and had a pleasant smell. Even though it was near the elevators, we did not experience any loud hallway noise from the other guests or staff.

Here is where the rating takes a nose dive to bottom of the heap.

1. We reserved a King Junior Suite (includes a front sitting area with TV), but instead of a King size bed, we had a Queen size bed. It was late when we arrived and we did not complain as we just wanted to rest.

2. Now, the Queen size did fit us, albeit a little snug. However, the mattress had a HUGE valley in it, which was the side that most people would use to sleep in. My wife had that side and I had the 'mountain' side. Seriously, there was about a 4 inch drop between the side I slept on and hers.

3. Do not try to buy wine or liquor from their cute dinning room bar. The staff has 'no clue' about bar tending, plus the drinks are way over-priced. Liquor stores are plentiful nearby.

I did talk to Beatrice at the front desk upon check out about the problems with the room, but she said she could not reimburse me or do anything for me as I booked with Expedia

Room Tip: We recommend choosing a room away from the elevators and one that is on the highest level. We highl...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MI_WorldTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan A, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Macon / Mercer University, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience. Let me start by apologizing for the inconveniences you and your wife endured while staying with us. All of our suites have standard 76" x 80" king mattresses with the Garden Sleep System, however I apologize the bed in room 418 was not up to standard. When booking with a third party there are specific rules that we as a hotel have to follow. However, if you would please contact me directly at the hotel, I will be more than happy to work with you to find a reasonable solution. Thanks again for your comments and I look forward to speaking with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (654)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Garden Inn Macon / Mercer University
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

568 - 574 of 654 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2013

Clean, friendly good breakfast. The 24 pantry has a wonderful selection of items. The breakfast bar was very good and the wait staff very kind. Cookies on the counter for my evening check in were a nice touch! Located right off the highway and easily accessible to everything!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank noplacelikehome123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Beautiful hotel! We came here for a visitation of Mercer University, which is within close walking distance. The staff were very friendly and helped us with whatever we needed or asked for. I have never stayed in a hotel that smelled so nice! The rooms were clean and comfortable. They have a very nice and comfortable sitting area in the lobby. The restaurant food was good and their staff was very polite and helpful. Many choices on the breakfast buffet. Not very many restaurants right close by, but in Mercer village there was a great Mexican restaurant, Margaritas and a pizza place. You could walk to them. If we ever drive south again, we will definitely make this our stop!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Superb location, room and staff! My group was comprised of huge Chicago Blackhawks fans and we especially enjoyed watching the win on Sunday afternoon in the comfortable lobby sitting area after checking out and beginning the next leg of our trip to Savannah.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JDP705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

My family and I went to Mercer University to watch a basketball game. The hotel was next to the baseball field, sand volleyball courts, and within walking distance of everything on Mercer's campus. We stayed on the 1st floor. Our ceiling was about 15 feet high. It was quiet. The room was very clean and the beds were comfortable. The staff was friendly. The hotel looked to be new. We ate at a Mexican restaurant right down the street that was really good. It might have been called Margaritas. Overall we thought Mercer University and this hotel were excellent.

Room Tip: The first floor rooms seem very large due to ceiling height.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nancy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

We arrived after an arduous day day of travel and were totally accommodated by Beatrice at the front desk. The room was well appointed and clean. We had looked forward to a nice dinner there, but that part fell short. Only the salad was good, and the server disappeared a lot. Unusual for a Hilton Garden Inn, one our favorite places to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tjc14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We arrived at this Hilton Garden Inn and found a well-appointed room, a clean and inviting lobby area, and a well-maintained gym. The outdoor pool and jacuzzi seemed to be in good shape, but it was wet and rainy so we didn't use those facilities.

This is the perfect spot to stay if you want easy access to Mercer University and its environs. Macon is a beautiful place to explore, especially when the cherry blossoms are blooming. The history of the town lends itself to fun week-end explorations as well. One of the recommended local eateries, the Fish 'n Pig, was a fun place to have a simple but delicious dinner and is within easy driving distance of the hotel. We ate at the hotel's dining room the next morning before we left and thoroughly enjoyed the made-to-order breakfast. The chef produced one of the best omelets I've had in a long time. He was great!

We asked for and got a late check-out which helped us because of business constraints.

I stayed at the hotel while my husband went to a business meeting. It was rainy, and there were no close-by stores to visit. this place is great for easy on/off the interstate. If you want to be within walking distance of the historical district, another hotel might be better for you.

Pros: A beautiful location on a college campus. Great room.
Con: During check-in, the receptionist was not friendly at all. The situation the next morning was fine; a different receptionist was very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: One side of the hotel faces interstate I-75, but the noise isn't significant. It might help to...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hgh_54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macon hotels
8.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Macon - North
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Macon I-475
2.9 mi away
Best Western Riverside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Macon I-75 North
2.5 mi away
Macon Marriott City Center
7.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Macon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Macon / Mercer University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Macon / Mercer University

Address: 1220 Stadium Dr, Macon, GA 31204-5501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Macon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Macon
#2 Business Hotel in Macon
#4 Romantic Hotel in Macon
Price Range: $129 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Macon / Mercer University 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located off I-75, the Hilton Garden Inn Macon / Mercer University hotel is easily accessible to the interstate, on the campus of Mercer University and within minutes of Downtown Macon's Shopping, Dining and Entertainment District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Macon / Mercer University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Macon / Mercer University Hotel Macon
Hilton Macon
Macon Hilton Garden Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing