We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“New, clean, and right by campus.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Macon / Mercer University

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Macon / Mercer University
Ranked #2 of 69 Hotels in Macon
Certificate of Excellence
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“New, clean, and right by campus.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

My family and I went to Mercer University to watch a basketball game. The hotel was next to the baseball field, sand volleyball courts, and within walking distance of everything on Mercer's campus. We stayed on the 1st floor. Our ceiling was about 15 feet high. It was quiet. The room was very clean and the beds were comfortable. The staff was friendly. The hotel looked to be new. We ate at a Mexican restaurant right down the street that was really good. It might have been called Margaritas. Overall we thought Mercer University and this hotel were excellent.

Room Tip: The first floor rooms seem very large due to ceiling height.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    115
    38
    10
    11
See reviews for
172
89
28
180
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

We arrived after an arduous day day of travel and were totally accommodated by Beatrice at the front desk. The room was well appointed and clean. We had looked forward to a nice dinner there, but that part fell short. Only the salad was good, and the server disappeared a lot. Unusual for a Hilton Garden Inn, one our favorite places to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tjc14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We arrived at this Hilton Garden Inn and found a well-appointed room, a clean and inviting lobby area, and a well-maintained gym. The outdoor pool and jacuzzi seemed to be in good shape, but it was wet and rainy so we didn't use those facilities.

This is the perfect spot to stay if you want easy access to Mercer University and its environs. Macon is a beautiful place to explore, especially when the cherry blossoms are blooming. The history of the town lends itself to fun week-end explorations as well. One of the recommended local eateries, the Fish 'n Pig, was a fun place to have a simple but delicious dinner and is within easy driving distance of the hotel. We ate at the hotel's dining room the next morning before we left and thoroughly enjoyed the made-to-order breakfast. The chef produced one of the best omelets I've had in a long time. He was great!

We asked for and got a late check-out which helped us because of business constraints.

I stayed at the hotel while my husband went to a business meeting. It was rainy, and there were no close-by stores to visit. this place is great for easy on/off the interstate. If you want to be within walking distance of the historical district, another hotel might be better for you.

Pros: A beautiful location on a college campus. Great room.
Con: During check-in, the receptionist was not friendly at all. The situation the next morning was fine; a different receptionist was very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: One side of the hotel faces interstate I-75, but the noise isn't significant. It might help to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hgh_54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATL, GA
Level Contributor
283 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

My family stayed overnight while in the area to attend the Monster Jam show at the Macon Centreplex (located less than 10 mins away). It was my six year old's last weekend of his winter break from school and this just capped it off. Great hotel and a delicious breakfast with wonderful staff. If we're in the area again for other events, we'd certainly stay again at this hotel. The bed was a bit firm but it was adjustable which was nice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GAFamilyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
73 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for two weeks while attending a course for two weeks just south of Warner Robins. About a 30 minute drive to the campus (Middle Georgia Tech). Hotel appears brand new and very clean. Rooms were the standard HGI, clean and comfortable. Being situated on the campus made it feel pretty safe. It is also a stone throw away from 'Mercer Village' with a few shops and resturants. Breakfast was included in my stay and I can say I enjoyed fast friendly service each morning. Beware, since it is situated on cmapus the hotel can get a bit loud if there are multiple games over a given weekend (during my stay two lacross teams and two basketball teams were in the hotel over the same weekend, but the hotel seemd to accomodate everyone just fine.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dc04983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

My husband was traveling to Macon for a Film Festival over Valentine's Day weekend and the team members at this location not only accommodated a special delivery I had for him but went and picked it up for me as well!!!

They worked diligently with me and the local merchant to ensure that this day would be perfect.

Absolutely incredible experience across the board.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BethBond24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calhoun, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on a recent trip to Mercer. We checked in on a Friday evening and had travelled 3 hours to get there. We took our baggage to our room and found it to be clean, up-to-date and inviting. We took a quick rest before heading over to the college. We ordered room service that night and the food was great.

Got up on Saturday to head back over for activities on Saturday. In our haste, we left my daughter's fleece blanket in the room. We have stayed in hotels before and accidentally left an item like a phone charger, which a phone call did not get returned and neither did the item. This Hilton however was different. My wife left a phone call for the housekeeping staff on Saturday evening and it was returned on Sunday. We explained the situation, found that they did have it and they verified our address. They sent it via USPS Priority Mail free of charge which was extremely shocking. Now that is service.

It looks like my daughter is going to be attending Mercer and I am proud to know that we have such a nice place to stay on our trips down.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macon hotels
8.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Macon - North
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Macon I-475
4.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn & Suites of Macon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Macon I-75 North
2.5 mi away
Macon Marriott City Center
1.5 mi away
1842 Inn
1842 Inn
#5 of 69 in Macon
4.5 of 5 stars 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Macon / Mercer University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Macon / Mercer University

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Macon / Mercer University
Address: 1220 Stadium Dr, Macon, GA 31204-5501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Macon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Macon
#2 Business Hotel in Macon
#4 Romantic Hotel in Macon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Macon / Mercer University 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located off I-75, the Hilton Garden Inn Macon / Mercer University hotel is easily accessible to the interstate, on the campus of Mercer University and within minutes of Downtown Macon's Shopping, Dining and Entertainment District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Macon / Mercer University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Macon / Mercer University Hotel Macon
Hilton Macon
Macon Hilton Garden Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing