We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Macon / Mercer University
Ranked #3 of 67 Hotels in Macon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 13, 2011

Everyone I encountered a this hotel was courteous and helpful. The room was very clean.

I left clothes hanging in the closet when I left and the hotel mailed them to me at no charge.

I enjoyed my stay and would return.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rmmorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (692)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

651 - 657 of 692 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2011

Management is horrible and doesn't respond to emails or phone calls. Members of the staff are incompetent. It is a decent newer hotel but in a bad location. Save your money and headaches by booking another hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Koolkat9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIMacon, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Macon / Mercer University, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2011

Dear Koolkat9,

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn-Macon/Mercer University during your recent visit to Macon. The feedback from valued guests like yourself is instrumental in directing us to areas which need improvement. I would like to apologize on behalf of the management and our staff of our property that you were not satisfied with your stay and that we did not respond to your concerns in a prompt manner. I would appreciate any additional feedback that you could provide so that we could properly address your poor experience at our property and work to improve any areas of our hotel that are needed. I do understand any apprehension you may have, but we hope that you would give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations on your next trip to Macon. Thank you again for your feedback and please feel free to contact me if you have any questions or we can assist you.

Hospitably,

Matt Barlett
General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn-Macon/Mercer University

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2011

A colleague and I had the pleasure of staying at the Hilton Garden Inn in macon, ga. The front desk was run by an amazing young lady named Andrene who was very pleasant and helpful. We decided to eat in the restaurant which was ran by one young lady, which kind of scared us but, she kept up to the beat even though there were at least five other tables. Tineka made us feel like the only ones in the restaurant while she kept her cool and smile at bay and the Tilapia was delicious. We really enjoyed our stay and look forward to coming back.

Room Tip: view of campus
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jncwelch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2011

My extended family stayed at the above hotel during a family member's law school graduation. The service and small courtesies extended to us were above and beyond expectations. We were having a celebration cake in the lobby and the staff brought us coffee and the manager himself waited on us and refused a gratuity, saying "remember the chambermaids".
The staff in the included full breakfast was enthusiastic and helpful and never acted like we should hurry. One waitress remembered everyone's coffee and tea preference from one day to the next and was pleased to be acknowledged. The rooms were clean and every additional request was handled professionally and graciously..members of our party had to cancel for medical reasons and this was handled professsionally during a busy weekend.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jay2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2011

I am extremely picky about hotels, so when I read the reviews I was a little nervous about staying here. I was pleasantly surprised. I did not take advantage of all that the hotel had to offer, but I can comment on a few things. The rooms were a nice size and very clean. Rooms include a mini-frig and microwave. The beds were super comfy and although the hotel is right off of the highway (and our room was facing the highway), I did not hear any noise.

In terms of cons, for the price, I thought breakfast should have been included; breakfast was $8.95, so we went out to eat. If I could get a better rate, I would stay again. Even with the AAA discount it was still $107/night. Seems pricey for a small town.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thirdDegree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2011

Very plesant overall experience staying at the Macon Mercer University Hilton Garden Inn. Staff was very friendly and accomodating. Overall cleanliness was excellent from the lobby to the room, to my bathroom that I'm very particuliar about. I'm a Hilton Diamond Traveler and have been in a lot of hotels. This one is a very nice stay for traveling.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tscheatzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2011

ON THE NEGATIVE:

1. Customer Service: Came into the HGI at 6 pm or so - one individual ahead. Took front desk 10 minutes to get to us - no greeting, no apology.
2. Few times front desk unmanned in morning at 8-9 am. I assume this individual walked away to do someing else job-related. Still.....no on at the desk in the morning with customers waiting? These two items seem like staffing issues to me. Who trains and supervises here?

3. Elevator: Button malfunctioning - needed guest to show us how to work! (Told the front desk)

4. Room: Ok, but beds very soft. Not supportive.

5. Loud: Could hear showers, bathrooms next to us.

6. No coffee in lobby at night? Wow.

7. Breakfast costs $8.95! Seriously, I saw no reason for this. It was the same breakfast you could easily receive at any Holiday Inn, Hampton, or Marriott hotel - free (or at least included in your room price). And I checked.

ON THE POSITIVE: Great shower.

I've stayed at a lot better HGI'S.
Overall score out of 10 (with 10 being the best), 5. I will recommend it but with reservations. Don't be shy about speaking up if things are off.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nathan444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macon hotels
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Macon I-475
8.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Macon - North
0.1 mi away
Towneplace Suites Macon Mercer University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Macon I-75 North
2.5 mi away
Macon Marriott City Center
4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Macon West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Macon / Mercer University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Macon / Mercer University

Address: 1220 Stadium Dr, Macon, GA 31204-5501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Macon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Macon
#2 Business Hotel in Macon
#4 Romantic Hotel in Macon
Price Range: $142 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Macon / Mercer University 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located off I-75, the Hilton Garden Inn Macon / Mercer University hotel is easily accessible to the interstate, on the campus of Mercer University and within minutes of Downtown Macon's Shopping, Dining and Entertainment District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Macon / Mercer University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Macon / Mercer University Hotel Macon
Hilton Macon
Macon Hilton Garden Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing