We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Forgot that we had this treasure in town”

Nu Way Weiners - Downtown
Ranked #38 of 349 Restaurants in Macon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Macon, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Forgot that we had this treasure in town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

After years of just not thinking about this place, one day we were looking for something different. NuWay kept showing in the recommended restaurants for Macon, so we gave it a try and it was fantastic. They have a special chili sauce that they put on the little hamburgers and I also had a slaw-dog which has cole-slaw and mustard on top of the very red looking hotdog. The color of the dog can be a little surprising at first, but it tastes wonderful.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yerbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    39
    13
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
Level Contributor
73 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“What a weiner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

This hot dog joint is a must-stop if you are traveling through Georgia. I highly suggest visiting the original restaurant downtown with the original diner bar stools and booths. We had read about the "flame red" color of the dogs so we were prepared for it to look unlike dogs we normally eat. I got my dog "all the way" because I all previous ratings for this house special - slaw, chili, mustard, and onions. Pretty good. It's not really about the food at Nu-Way but rather the tradition and feel of such a prized, local establishment. After the dogs we explored downtown Macon a bit on foot - again another reason to eat at the downtown location is to see the home of the Confederacy Treasury!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank callie1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
82 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“NuWay Downtown is GREAT PLACE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

I was born in Macon and as a very young child I ate at this place but didn't have a memory of it. So as an adult and 50 years later on a trip to Atlanta from Florida, we stopped at the original NuWay downtown Macon and had a meal. The place is wonderful and filled with history. You won't find these "red" hotdogs anywhere else. Order all the way with the special chili sauce!! You could sit and eat several they are so good.

In July we went to Pine Mountain and exited 1-75 at Ft. McCoy and they had a NuWay!!! Had no idea. It was 9:30 in the morning and I turned a travel trailer around and parked it in the lot and got 6 hotdogs to go and split them with my friend. And the ice is a must have also. They are just as famous for their ice. Very small crushed ice. Lasts forever. What else can I say....I think you would love the hotdogs!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RVGirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdosta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“history and hotdogs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

My wife and I visited on a Saturday with 2 teenage boys after a baseball game. I enjoyed the history and old photos - Oprah was in one. The boys didn't care about this small, 100 year old downtown diner's history, but ate 4 dogs each. The All The Way Chile Cheese Slaw dog was our pick. This place is probably much busier on a weekday at lunch with the local, downtown crowd. Worth the trip.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pem77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremen, Georgia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“When in Macon do as Maconites do.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

Grew up in Macon and eating the Chili Chese dog with mustard all the time. Moved away and now it is a treat when I go back to middle GA. It is fast food and therefore may not be for everyone but if you like dogs it is worth stopping by. My son says the double scrambled dog is the best.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nu Way Weiners - Downtown also viewed

 

Been to Nu Way Weiners - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing