We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Most Interesting Dining Option in Macon”

Dovetail Crafted Cuisine
Reserve with OpenTable
Dovetail Crafted Cuisine is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 358 Restaurants in Macon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 2nd and 3rd
Palm Springs, California
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“The Most Interesting Dining Option in Macon”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

In a city not really known for creative or interesting dining options Dovetail stands out. I completely agree with previous posts that the cost of the food is very reasonable compared to its quality. At our table, we tried the deviled eggs as an app, salads (both the garden and green tomato), the vegetarian main course and the veal. All were excellent.Though interesting, the corn bread wasn't my favorite - I prefer a traditional preparation. The service was professional and attentive and the decor was thoughtful and interesting. I found the wine list a little thin but Macon is not known as a demanding wine town. I'll be back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 758Paul423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    28
    8
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warner Robins, GA
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Our New Anniversary Place”
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

We live in Warner Robins and we always go to a nice place for our anniversary. Our place was The Langston House south of Perry, but it recently closed. I had heard of Dovetail and decided we should try it. So glad we did! The service was spot-on. The food was impeccable. The atmosphere was also nice. It was the night of the Cherry Blossom Street Festival, so the bar area was a bit loud. We were seated close to other couples which made me uncomfortable at first, but soon we were making friends. There was a type of salted caramel pie that we were told we had to try by our new friends seated next to us. It was heavenly. During dessert our new friends had gone and our server told us that they paid for our dessert. What a nice surprise! He also mentioned that if he had known it was our anniversary dessert would have been on the house anyway. We will be back, maybe next time with a group. And, on our anniversary again next year!

Helpful?
Thank lms326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“What a surprise!”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Whilst visiting Macon for a conference/Cherry Blossom season someone recommended Dovertail to us for dinner on the Saturday night. At first we had to go on a waiting list, but the booking was quickly and efficiently confirmed. The food and service in this restaurant were wonderful Jacob H. was out waiter and he was most helpful with suggestions and recommendation - as well as telling us his favorite way to eat the delicious dips that we ordered for starters. It is a really tasty place to eat and would send anyone going to Macon there for a great time. Thanks.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kazz_from_oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a gem!!”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

My husband and I can't believe we waited so long to eat here. The food from the starter to dessert was a treat!! Our server, Chad, was so attentive and knowledgable. The experience and atmosphere were wonderful. The cost of the food is surprising low compared to the quality of food they serve. What a great night out.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christinarn75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Fine little Gem”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Traveling up I-75 we referred as always to trip advisor and found this little Gem. Such a charming downtown area of Macon. Called made a reservation with no problem, found parking close to the restaurant and had an enjoyable meal in a reasonable amount of time to get back on the road traveling. The wait staff was very nice, the food creative and flavorful. My drink from the bar was the only down side of the meal, they do not know how to make a Moscow Mule and yes you need mint. Note when your from out of town the restaurant is upstairs and it's hard to see from the road just driving by.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Greektravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dovetail Crafted Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Dovetail Crafted Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing