We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty cool step back in time”
Review of Cannonball House

Cannonball House
Ranked #8 of 49 things to do in Macon
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Donalsonville, Georgia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Pretty cool step back in time”
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

When you enter the door you step right back into time. It amazed me to listen to the guides explain traditions and superstitions of that time. Pretty cool to see the cannonball, too! My kids enjoyed this place.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank pirbrightgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    21
    9
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quite the contrast to the Hay House. Worth visiting.”
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

We walked from the Hay House to the cannonball house. It is about half a block. The original owners of this house were obviously not as wealthy as the owners of the Hay House. It provided a good contrast between the very wealthy and the middle/high class of that time period. The young lady who toured us around the house knew her stuff. The house itself is nicely restored and there is a collection of civil war items displayed in one room upstairs.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank RedPony138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton,TN
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cannonball House, Macon,GA”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Very enjoyable for history seekers. A little disappointed that we could not actually see where the cannon ball had landed.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tammy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dothan, AL
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our highlight was hearing the ghost!”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We enjoy civil war history and ole time ways of life. Our tour guide took us thru each room of the house explaining the history of the house and the happenings of the time when the house was hit by a "cannon ball." It was really more of a large bullet like mortar. The house is in mourning-- all of the mirrors are covered by black cloth. There's even a casket in one of the parlor rooms. The tour guide says they do something different each month to highlight different traditions that were kept back in the day. Anyway... The highlight of the tour for us was entering the servant's house and kitchen. Just as we walked in the room, we heard a squeaky toy sound. When I asked what that noise was - thinking it was a dog playing with a squeaky toy, she kinda hestitated and said we call him Matt. I thought, maybe that it was her grandson that she was watching during the summer. No. It's the little child that they hear playing sometimes. The ghost child they hear playing sometimes! Wow! Thanks for a terriffic tour!! We'll be back to investigate more of Macon history.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AlabamaCruisers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Small but Pleasent Gem”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Just round the corner from the Hay House, you can visit both if you want to in the same morning/afternoon. Well worth the comparison, too, as this house has the feel of a real home. Hit by a cannon ball at the start of the civil war is its claim to fame, but it has been beautifully and faithfully restored.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank LFP_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cannonball House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing