We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Allman Brothers Band Museum at the Big House
Ranked #2 of 50 things to do in Macon
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Greater than expected. Will visit again. The gift shop was a plus. I will remember the gift shop for birthdays and Christmas gifts. Friendly staff who were great at asking questions.

Helpful?
Thank Mmoonme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    36
    9
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Santa Ana, California
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Memories of The Rambling Man”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Very extensive collection of memorabilia lovingly put together by some devoted fans in a home once owned by a member of the band. Nostalgic walk into music history.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hapitrails2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“If you are a fan of music, you gotta go see this.”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Well I do have history with The Big House back from 1994 when the Allman Brothers Tour Manager moved in with his wife. Got to stay there when they were renovating. So much ABB history here. But that was when it was full of livingroom furniture and bedroom furniture. it was still great. But now, as far as a museum goes, WOW! 2 floors of ABB and Southern music memorabilia. Great guided tour or tour on your own. Great videos that can't be seen anywhere else. A guy named EJ was there and this dude exudes what the music means. If you go, and you should, you'll come out in awe with a great feeling that only the music can give you.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirka2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“You're my blue sky, you're my sunny day”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I would definitely recommend this museum to everyone from Macon and to everyone from out of town. There's so much memorabilia, and if you tried to read it all, it would take you all day and probably some more days too. We kind of had to get my dad to hurry it along because he would have been there all day! They have rooms set up as they would have been set up back then. Also there's a video documentary playing in the downstairs area, which was interesting. Lots of fun if you're an ABB fan for sure!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank southerngirl745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Must-see for music fans!”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I wasn't even aware of this cool little museum dedicated to the music and lives of the Allman Brothers band until I stumbled on it in the local visitors' guide! Eight bucks to view and experience the house where the band lived and played from 1970 to 1972 when tragedy struck a second time with the death of original bassist Berry Oakley, a year after Duane Allman's fatal accident - both motorcycle accidents. But the house is decked out in early 1970s hippie musician trappings plus a LOT of cool memorabilia, including lots of instruments. If you are a fan of the Allmans or are curious as to what this legendary band introduced to the world back then when music was still truly LISTENED to, you must see this place!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Lee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Allman Brothers Band Museum at the Big House also viewed

 

Been to The Allman Brothers Band Museum at the Big House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing