We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you like seafood you'll like Shaw's.”

Jim Shaw's Seafood Grill
Ranked #11 of 351 Restaurants in Macon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Often described as the local's favorite seafood restaurants in Macon, GA, Jim Shaw's Seafood Grill has been open since 1979. This casual eat-in restaurant and bar serves some of the best fresh seafood in town. The restaurant is only open for dinner and they offer an Early Bird menu from 5:00 till 6:00 PM with reduced prices.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“If you like seafood you'll like Shaw's.”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Been here twice on visits to Macon. Consistently good food and service. Would definitely visit again when in Macon.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BlueRun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    68
    23
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Macon, Georgia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“An old Macon standby”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Drive by this eatery not knowing anyting about it and you would not dream of eating there: that is unless you noticed that the tiny parking lot was packed and that other businesses lots across the street were being used by Jim Shaw's customers.

The place is old, kinda shabby but just happens to serve some of the best seafood available in this town. It is a favorite of the locals who give it complete loyalty. Their specialty is oysters but on a given night, one also usually has a choice of grouper, redfish, trout, slamon and others available with baked potatoes, french fries and salads.

There are two dining areas, the bar and the restaurant. The latter has waitress service and has an early bird special Monday through Thursday. The bar is usually crowded and less formal but serves the full complement of dishes.

Considering the surroundings and the food, this eatery is a trifle on the expensive side but the food is invariably good and any problems(rare in my experience) are taken care of cheerfully and promptly.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mgriff41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
103 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good seafood/fish and service”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

May have given this a 4 star if we had not just come from the Florida Panhandle. (where we ate at 4 and 5 star seafood restaurants). This is a small restaurants that has excellent service. The prices are good and the food is good but not outstanding. The turnover is very high so the locals use this a lot.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank K B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mitchell, Alabama
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great local eatery”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Went to Jim Shaw's with two co-workers due to the reviews on Trip Advisor. The food was very good. The oysters were a little on the small side but everything else was excellent. I had a fried soft shelled crab and fried alligator. I didn't care for the breaded fries but that was just personal preference. The hush puppies were divine. Our server was very nice and took good care of us. I would certainly recommend this restaurant, especially since it is a local eatery.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lmsampson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perry, Georgia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good food, wonderful staff”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

My husband, daughter and I went to Jim Shaw's Seafood Grill on the recommendation of a friend and it did not disappoint. We started with Pimento Cheese Fitters (not on the printed menu so be sure to ask for them) and blackened crayfish. Both were delicious. As a seafood restaurant of course most of the menu is seafood. You can choose to get your seafood fried, blacked, grilled or broiled. We had a mix of cooking techniques and meats - clam, calamari, tilapia, grouper, alligator, crayfish, frog legs. All were delicious as were the fresh hushpuppies. It was a lot of food and we brought quite a bit home. The staff was very nice and helpful and the restaurant has a very nice relaxed atmosphere. My one piece of advice is to go early. We went on a Saturday when they are open 4:30-10. We got there at 4:45 and the small dining room was already over half full. By the time we left there was a long line out the door.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jim Shaw's Seafood Grill also viewed

 

Been to Jim Shaw's Seafood Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing