We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A go to choice for downtown Macon” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Market City Cafe - CLOSED

Market City Cafe
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Seating, Waitstaff
Bonaire, Georgia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“A go to choice for downtown Macon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Market City is one of our regular haunts, usually on a Sunday after Church, or doing the week for a nice lunch. Everything on the menu is top quality, and very little of what comes out of their kitchen hasn't been hand crafted in their kitchen. From soup to desert what you're eatting is scratch made on premises. I'm a sucker for their sandwich menu, frequently ordering them evn for dinner (they're that good) and my personal favorite is the "Bobie" which my kids call Thanksgiving on a roll. Hand carved roast turkey breast, corn bread stuffing, and cranberry sauce on a fresh french baguette roll, with lettuce and tomato to round it off. All the sandwiches come with freshly made potato chips, although you can up charge for fried, rings, or other sides if you want, but how often to you get to eat freshly made potato chips? The fried green bean appetizer with a wasabi dipping sauce will make you swear off french fries. And their deserts? Don't ever make the mistake of ordering one per person, a slice of cake here feeds 4 easy. The only down side is the service. The wait staff is a mixed bag, some are the best in the business, others can ruin the whole meal with their inattentivness. We've been coming here for years and have had some trying times with wait staff, but the food keeps us coming back time after time. To top it off, the menu is fairly priced and you can usually eat very well for $10 to $12 a head.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Blue-Eyes-Fam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    36
    10
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
76 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Enjoyable lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

We met friends here for lunch on a Sunday (late morning) after finding out the other place we planned to eat was closed on Sundays, and it was a good choice. There were five in our party, and a couple ordered sandwiches, and the others chose from the breakfast menu. Everyone was pleased with their choices. I had the French Toast Napoleon, and I would definitely order it again. Their servings are generous as well. Others who have reviewed this establishment have commented on poor service; our service was outstanding. The server was pleasant, and he often refilled our water and coffee. We will definitely go back when in Macon.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelerSkier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evans, Ga
Level Contributor
340 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Not overly impressed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stop in for lunch before going to a meeting at the University. We were seated quickly, it was about 11:40am. Our server was very nice and efficient. I ordered their grilled chicken sandwich and my son ordered a breakfast biscuit. My sandwich was ok, needed a little more honey mustard dressing on it, as it was a little dry, their home made potato chips, were not very crisp, and not a lot of flavor. My sons biscuit was very small, and it did not come with a side. Over all we had a pleasant lunch. I would go back and give it another try, as their menu was quite large. Atmosphere was pleasing.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tleeEvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mixed feelings!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

When we first walked in it looked like a great choice, bright and cheery. But then the waiter clearly didn't care that we were there, and couldn't even tell us what kind of beer they had. The food was really good, except the soup was very salty but they quickly removed it from the bill. Never offered drink refills, or dessert, even though I expressed an interest in the dessert menu from the beginning. Ordered banana pudding, out, ordered bread pudding, and they were out of that too. Bathrooms were in a different building, and Awful, no toilet paper, because it was all over the floor, dirty toilets and no soap!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank thebrownsflyaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
138 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good food but the servers were meh”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

Went for Sunday brunch. Server was very slow to come take our order. Food arrived and was pretty good. Our drinks were empty for some time before the server graced us with her presence and refilled them.
(Side note: she also had disgustingly long fingernails that are in no way sanitary.)
We'll probably go back since the foo was good, but if this woman is out server I'll ask for someone else.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 95traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Market City Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing