We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Stay Ever.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Macon
Ranked #19 of 67 Hotels in Macon
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville TN
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best Stay Ever.”
Reviewed July 13, 2011

The Service here is Excellant starting at the Front Desk & Management. The Housekeeping Staff was Very Professional. The Room & Facility was Very Clean. This Hotel is located to several restraunts. So Pet Friendly they even know your dogs name. We stayed here for 6 days & it was a Great home away from home! Thank you to all of you.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjhardy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    52
    20
    5
    9
See reviews for
61
45
26
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2011

Perhaps I'm spoiled by older hotels, but this room seemed VERY small for a "suite." We got a single queen-sized bed room, on the first floor in the back, and there's enough room for the bed, one nightstand, a recliner, tv/dresser, table, and the kitchen and bath. Not really a suite, but a room with a kitchen. That's fine -- it was great to have the kitchen. We got a discount, so I think I got my money's worth. Hotel's clean, quiet, pretty convenient - as long as you know you're driving. You're not walking ANYWHERE from this hotel. We didn't use the free laundry, pool, hot tub or grill, but it was nice to know they were there. The free wireless internet was great.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaraMadra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2011

We were transferred to Candlewood Suites because our room at a competitor was not ready for us at 10:30 pm and there were no vacant rooms! What a disappointment!! We were not familiar with Candlewood Suites and pretty upset. The woman at Check-In was extremely nice and helpful and made us feel so much better. The room she assigned us was beautiful...so comfortable. The Candlewood Suites does an excellent job...nice beds, quality towels, 2 flat screen trees, beautiful well equipped kitchen! The only disappointment was that there is no free breakfast...but there is a nicely stocked 'pantry' to choose breakfast and snacks in and charge it to your room on the 'honor' system. That worked out well but a breakfast bar would have been better! For an extended stay, this is PERFECT! We will try to stay at Candlewood Suites again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaykee48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2010

Let me just say "Southern Hospitality" at its best! We (wife and I) are down here from NY on business and after a horrible experience with Marriott in Long Island while we were on vacation there, we were forced to change hotel chains. (We were previously loyal to Marriott). We walked in (no reservations) and Lynn at the front desk immediately took the time to show us the different rooms available. As we are down here for an extended period (3 weeks), we ideally wanted a room with a kitchen. The rooms here surpassed our expectations! Not only are they clean and sufficient size but they also have full size fridges, plenty of cabinet space, dishwasher, range and microwave! The staff is wonderful! Oh. they also have a "pantry" with convenience store items (food, incedentals, drinks, etc.). We really hope to have the oportunity to stay here again. Also, we LOVE you Georgia!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a1glass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2009

This was my first stay at a Candlewood Suites. Macon does not have a lot of choices in pet friendly, decent places. The room is basically a large room with a kitchenette.
The hotel was new, clean, and had very nice front desk staff. On check in, the front desk clerk made sure to assign me to a quiet room (never heard the trains). I did not hear guest noise or door slamming.
The bed was fine, not fabulous. Same for the pillows.
Having never stayed in this brand before, I would say it is a notch below Staybridge. No breakfast, furnishings not quite as nice. But it was quite fine for one night, and probably would do fine for longer term stays. Parking was free and well lit and felt safe. There is a small store which works on an honor system. The pool was closed for the season.
I would not really call this a pet friendly property for short stays, as the fee is high ($45.00), but I was staying on points, so it did not matter so much.
I would consider staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carztraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2009

I'm in hotels 2 to 4 nights out of every week. I stay at your typical $80 to $120 hotels like Holiday Inns, Wingates, Hamptons, etc.. My stay at Candlewood in Macon is without a doubt the best hotel I've ever stayed at, and it was less than $100! The rooms are LARGE with a mini kitchen. They have a nice grill on site.. DVD player.. Small 'store'. I've stayed at old dumps for the same price. I read the other reviews on this site and was worried about the train. I never heard the train, but my room wasn't on the side near the tracks. Trains wouldn't bother me anyway, I'm from a town that full of trains!


I would also like to add the front desk VERY friendly and went out of their way to make my stay an enjoyable one.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2009

I like Candlewood Suites and this is one of the best that I've seen from this chain. Very clean and new, this property is at the end of a street that's home to maybe a half-dozen hotels. Unlike most Candlewoods, the front desk remains open 24/7, rather than close 11p-7a. There's also a PC with printer off the lobby, and free in-room wi-fi, which didn't work as well as one might want, but was OK for one night.

The chain doesn't give you breakfast, but there's a coffeemaker in the room, plus free supplies. Also, there's a full fridge and a microwave. A Publix (very clean) and a Kroger (not that great) are just to the left on the main road, past the highway entrance.

As for the trains, I faintly heard one during the night. No big deal, and certainly a lot better than noisy neighbors.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HonestReviewForU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macon hotels
0.6 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Macon
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Macon North
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Macon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Best Western Inn & Suites of Macon
3.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Macon
7.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Macon West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Macon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Macon

Property: Candlewood Suites Macon
Address: 3957 River Place Dr, Macon, GA 31210-1730
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Macon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Macon
#9 Business Hotel in Macon
#12 Family Hotel in Macon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Macon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Candlewood Suites, you'll find everything you need to feel right at home. Whether you're visiting for vacation or in town for a long-term business trip, the Candlewood Suites offers all the amenities you need and the comforts you deserve. Each of our 83 suites feature a fully equipped kitchen including a full sized refrigerator, sink, dishwasher, microwave, and stovetop. Kick back in your leather recliner while watching your flat screen TV and DVD Player. Relax with a dip in our sparkling pool. Additional amenities include FREE Internet Access, FREE guest laundry, a 24-hour gym, business center, and grilling area. We are also pet friendly (non-refundable fee applies). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites Macon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Macon Hotel Macon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing