We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The past remembered.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocmulgee National Monument

Ocmulgee National Monument
Ranked #1 of 43 things to do in Macon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A tribute to the Native American tribes that lived in the Macon area for 10,000 years.
Spring Valley
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The past remembered.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

We like to start out with an orientation film and this one certainly gives a fine history. Wonderful displays. The National Park Service always has a quality site. The staff member was very cordial and gave good insights.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Geraldine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    122
    17
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great stop on a road trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

They have a beautiful shady area with picnic tables, and a fascinating small museum in the visitor center. There are several short trails to hike with beautiful views. We stopped there for two hours on a drive from Atlanta to Clearwater, it was a great lunch break for all of us. Really neat for both kids and adults.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alliegirld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Walking tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Great to spend the day walking. Bring a lunch & just enjoy nature. These mounds from the Mississippian era (possibly had Mayan influence). Built by the ancestors of the modern Creek Indians.
The web site holds lots more info. We spent a nice quiet day there.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PoodleGlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect for family outing.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

This in one of America's national treasures. It is a great place to spend the day with your kids. It is very educational and tells a great story about the tribe of Indians who inhibited the Ocmulgee area. It also is a great place to run or hike trails, or take your canine friend out for a walk.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gray, Georgia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Always clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

I have gone several times and it is always well kept. We enjoy taking our Boxer, Bella for walks and found the museum interesting.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank cntlyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocmulgee National Monument also viewed

 

Been to Ocmulgee National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing