We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Every year I go there...”
Review of Rose Hill Cemetery

Rose Hill Cemetery
Ranked #5 of 50 things to do in Macon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An example of a 19th-century cemetery park.
Cleveland
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Every year I go there...”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

This is a historic cemetery with a lot of notables. We visit the graves of Duane Allman and Berry Oakley. It's a shame that some people's behavior made the Berry's sister put up a fence. But it's very tasteful. It's also sad that some people felt it necessary to put graffiti on various tombs.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian_of_Cleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    40
    9
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sand Springs Ok
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Old, very old”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Yes, this is an old cemetery, the driving paths are not wide, hardly wide enough for a car to pass in places. We went to see the Allman Bros. graves in the carnation? section. We continued driving through the rest of the cemetery too. The large monuments speak of the wealth of the past, I suppose many were plantation owners, or prominent businessmen, now, mostly forgotten.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sstraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“This Place is Unbelievable”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

It goes on and on forever with beautiful stone monuments to those of Macon's past. It overlooks the Ocmulgee River and has lots of history. It is such a big labyrinth that I recommend a tour guide, such as Rock Candy Tours in Macon.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Roostrdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warner Robins, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Love the History”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Take a self guided tour and simply appreciate the history recorded in this lovely cemetery. Its very serene and a great place to contemplate life. The architecture is beautiful too.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LAD6363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
86 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Walk the cemetery to soak up the history dating back to the civil war but including Dwayne Allman and Berry Oakley”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Went specifically for the ABB connection but fell for this beautiful, peaceful, historical site. I get the attraction.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rose Hill Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing