We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful to Visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rose Hill Cemetery

Rose Hill Cemetery
Ranked #5 of 43 things to do in Macon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An example of a 19th-century cemetery park.
Macon, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful to Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

I like walking around here. It is an interesting place and I like how it kind of winds around and isn't just one path.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ALTVM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    38
    8
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roswell, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
132 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Stepping Back In Time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

I personally like to visit historical cemeteries and note the dates of birth and death. Reading the (legible) tombstones sometimes tell interesting stories. The Jewish cemetery had birth dates from the 1700s. There are areas for military burials and family plots. Fascinating.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Go N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“But better if you know Macon history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Historical and very peacefully pleasant. However, if you drive, the roads can be challenging, especially if you drive a large vehicle.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, GA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Impressive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Found the Greg Almand and Barry Oakley gravesites. I had no idea that this was an old cemetary. There are over 1000 civil war graves, several Georgia governors, many mayors and a senator.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverview, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Historic, beautiful cemetery.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I loved walking through this cemetery. The headstones were beautiful and plots were mostly well maintained. The soldiers' square was interesting and Informative. It was a great walk for a Sunday morning.

Helpful?
1 Thank Nicki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rose Hill Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing