We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really enjoyed the visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hay House

Hay House
Ranked #2 of 43 things to do in Macon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An Italian Renaissance villa open for public touring.
Macon, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Really enjoyed the visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

My dad took me on a tour of this place when I was a kid. I did the same for mine this year. This place in incredibly cool and interesting. My 9-year old loved it.

We did the basic tour. My only complaint is that the in-depth tour is limited to certain times and at a much greater cost.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    56
    8
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Macon, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Beautiful & memorable.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Like a little Baltimore house. An amazing old home with a rich history. If you can, go during the holidays. It is decorated in the period of history.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank asmith1255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
193 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Spectacular unique Italianate antibellum mansion that is a major architectural triumph for the period and is far more elegant th”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

This palatial 5-story Italianate mansion has been lovingly restored over the past 20 years by the Georgia Trust with architectural features that amaze the visitor. Knowledgeable docents conduct tours almost hourly and many have witnessed the multi-million dollar renovations (? $32 million) which have been painstakingly made over the years. This home is of interest to adults and mature children but would probably bore most youngsters for the 45-60 minutes for the house tour.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank H S G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Interesting..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Been there several times. A couple of times a year they have a free day, where you can check it out without a guide and just roam all over the place. Lots of history, even a few good ghost stories lol. Built in middle 1800's, one of the first houses in Ga to have indoor plumbing and electricity.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank tmeador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Short but very Sweet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

It takes only an hour, but a guided tour of the restored part of the house is a mini history lesson in itself. Being conscious of a shortage of US history, the guides give all the family details that brings to life their lives and impact on the house. Much more restoration to go, especially on the upper floors, but the ground floor, 1st floor and basement are all worthwhile. There's even an old 2 person lift. No internal photos allowed, which is a great shame.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LFP_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hay House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing