We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Venue”
Review of Hay House

Hay House
Ranked #3 of 50 things to do in Macon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An Italian Renaissance villa open for public touring.
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Historic Venue”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Gorgeous historic home in the heart of downtown Macon. Beautiful for receptions, parties, luncheons, etc.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank AmesyF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    57
    13
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Searsport, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“The highlight of our time in Macon!”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

This gorgeous house is known as "The Palace of the South" & for good reason! If you appreciate European architecture & beautiful stained glass windows, you will love seeing this! Hope I can see it at Christmastime in the future...

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ClareET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perry, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Showplace of Macon”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

I actually toured the house as a teenager and was shown around by the lady living there( 1960s) . I was very much impressed with the furnishings and the size of the place. Later on around 1990 I toured it with my family and it is still a beautiful place.Very impressive.

Helpful?
2 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
onthecorner
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing Restoration!”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

A top house museum, well worth the visit! The dining room has just been restored and the interpretation of the home is well done.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank onthecorner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Interesting!”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Beautiful mansion with excellent tour guides that take you back to days gone by. The place is handicapped accessible; due to the tucked away small elevator that takes you from the basement, to the first and second floors. It is too small for a carriage or a large person, but it was big enough for two average size adults.
The house is also available for weddings and as it happens, a wedding party was just entering the premises as our tour was ending.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Phoenix33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hay House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing