We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Get a taste of the real Solomons”
Review of Gizo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gizo Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Gizo
Penrith, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Get a taste of the real Solomons”
Reviewed November 5, 2011

We were scuba diving in Gizo and found this hotel was great if you want to experience what the Solomons are really like. Being in town means you can walk around and experience the town of Gizo.
Room was adequate - air conditining and a fan - great for dealing with the humidity.
The pool is awesome - it's clean and cool and great for lazing around - our room was on the bottom floor and made the pool very easily accessible.
Internet is available but you need to purchase a card, make sure you go to the hotel desk in the morning to purchase one or there may not be any left.
Food in the restuarant is tasty but takes a long time to arrive, some of my freinds waited almost an hour and a half to get their main meals (island time :)), oreder the pizza, it tastes good and is cooked quickly.
If you like your drinks cold then you're in for a suprise - you have to request ice at the bar - they don't make much and run out of it fast when they do.

Room Tip: Downstairs near the pool - we stayed in 113.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geminikitty66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    25
    21
    8
    10
See reviews for
5
10
16
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Did not stay here but ate at the restuarant. Menu changes all the time, and they have just put in a pizza oven. Service is VERY VERY SLOW, everything is in Solomons time. Prices start from about $120 SBD for a meal. Food is OK, not amazing. Other options include Lamasa for lunch, which is a fraction of the price (a roti stuffed with vege curry is $10SBD), and PT109 which is a little cheaper than the hotel but serves similar dishes (but no pizza).

Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ashkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2011

If you want to be in town, this is the place (Fatboys and others are better if you want a more out-of-the-way resort-type place). Very basic, but better than you'd expect in a location like this. Dinner was quite qood (stick with the fish), breakfast was very limited. Wifi promised at the website was not available--only worked via prepaid cards and they'd run out some days earlier, and none were available in town over a weekend. But if you are really demanding about amenities, you wouldn't be going to Gizo.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hhoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2010

hotel is in an excellent position set in a small village atmosphere...friday night is very noisy as the hotel becomes the meeting plce for a rave that goes on until it is finished, in other words no time lmit . Suggest take top floor of hotel , if you wanr some rest.
Hotel staff wonderful , and the dining room has a great view and a pleasant place to enjoy a Solbrew after a swim in the pool.....3 to 4 days a good length of stay....Fatboys is popular

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hamptonboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2009

I didn't know what to expect of Gizo and was pleasantly suprised to have struck lucky with the Gizo Hotel. I will admit to not having seen any other lodgings in town, but from what I heard, they do not compare to this hotel, the exception being an unknown smaller lodging up on the hill overlooking Gizo (as descibed by a fellow traveller).
The Gizo Hotel is the situated on the main street opposite the wharf which operates the airport ferry. I was in an upstairs sea view room which was basic but confortable. Despite being right in centre of town and more or less opposite the daily market, it was nicely quiet for this light sleeper. The balcony view of the water was somewhat obscured by high palm trees but this just meant that it was the perfect private location to sit and enjoy an early evening drink with a friend and observe the world passing by on the main street beneath.
The hotel restaurant is top notch, best in town with a good menu changing daily. Beers are average priced, wines are all aussie, over priced...but you are in the middle of nowhere. The restaurant/bar is also the place where the local personalities, NGO reps and other travellers congregate. If you're a lone traveller, this is the best place in town to meet people and there is always a bit of buzz.
Staff were good fun and really on the ball, especially when compared to the sister hotel in Honiara (King Solomons).
My reason to visit was personal, a dive holiday with Dive Gizo (which I can also recommend). The shop will either pick you up from the front of the Hotel or you can walk for 8 mins..no big deal, especially as the main street was due to be tarmacadamed in September 09 which would only make the otherwise mud/dust main street more passable.
In summary, I like this hotel and the local area, underwater included. It was a terrific trip.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank O2Bubbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAIRNS
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2009

turned out to be a good choice for a first timer to the Solomons. I spent my days diving with Dive Gizo which i will reveiw separately.

given the faraway location, Gizo hotel is very professionally run.
Reception staff are attentive and helpful and nothing is a problem plus they sorted out a bill query promptly with no fuss. Rooms were service daily. The air conditioning worked well - for me this was important for 2 reasons - 1 it is hot and humid and 2 i need a dry place to assemble my u/w camera equipment each morning. the hot water may not have worked for a couple of days but who cares when you are 8 degrees off the equator!.
Breakfast and Dinner service was prompt and the meals were substantial. breakfast is $70 Sol and consists of bacon and eggs. Toast, tea/coffe/cocoa and fresh fruit and fruit juice. Evening meals consist of entrees for $60 and mains from $100 all the way up to $150 for a whole crayfish or $175 for steak. servings are substantial. Beer is Solbrew and is $19 at the hotel - call it $20 and tip the hardworking bar staff.
Evening entertainment consisted of sing sings and dances as well as giant bamboo pipes and to top if off a girl doing baton twiling Solomons style! - with a 26 inch bush knife (Machette) instead of a sissy baton. Has to be seen to be beleived.
roooms surround a nice pool and well kept gardens. Harbour view rooms are best as you look out over the fish markets and you can sit on your balcony and see people go about their daily business.
There are less expensive accomodation options however the saying "what you pay for is what you get" applies the world over. if you want to stay for more than a week to surf or dive till you drop - suggest you enquire abot Gavinas or PT109 - they are not as expensive and are very basic but liveable.
I would stay at the Gizo hotel again

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MoraymanCairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leer, Germany
Level Contributor
56 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2008

Gizo Hotel is the best place to stay in Gizo. From the airport it's only a short boat ride to Gizo town. The hotel is located right in front of the jetty. We stayed in a deluxe room which was very nice. The pool area is also very nice, but the pool is small.
There is a little dive company near the hotel which we used for diving and snorkeling. It was some of the best diving we have done so far. There is a japanese wreck, the Toa Maru near the airport which was full of sake bottles. Even a small tank and ammunition was lying near it. The dive company organises trips to small offshore islands around Gizo.
In the evening there is an island night with singing and dancing about twice a week. The food in the restaurant is good, but can become a bit boring after a couple of days.

  • Liked — Friendliness
  • Disliked — ---
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank msdstefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gizo
0.0 mi away
Imagination Island
Imagination Island
#2 of 3 in Gizo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
0.0 mi away
King Solomon Hotel
King Solomon Hotel
#2 of 7 in Honiara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.0 mi away
Solomon Kitano Mendana Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Heritage Park Hotel Honiara
0.0 mi away
Honiara Hotel
Honiara Hotel
#4 of 7 in Honiara
3.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rekona Lodge
Rekona Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gizo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gizo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gizo Hotel

Property: Gizo Hotel
Address: Western Province, Gizo, Ghizo Island, Solomon Islands
Location: Solomon Islands > Ghizo Island > Gizo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Gizo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gizo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gizo Hotel is a Holiday Resort catering for tourists, families and people doing business in or around Gizo Island. We have modern facilities including free WIFI for patrons, Internet Cafe, outdoor swimming pool, massage house, Fishing Charter, Hire boats for guided day tours, Restaurant/Bar, full laundry and house keeping service and of course 45 modern rooms with Air-conditioning, Cable TV Flat screens 32" or 42", toilet/shower, balcony, fridge, room safe, ceiling fan. We have a team of highly trained staff that will make sure your stay is as comfortable as possible. A team of ten security guards patrol the hotel 24/7, security cameras are fitted outside entrance doors for added peace of mind making the Gizo Hotel the safest accommodation available in Gizo. The Gizo Hotel is the perfect place to stay to experience the beauty that this Island and its surroundings has to offer. We are an Australian family owned hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Gizo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing