We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return to Wilderness”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gatokae Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Wilderness Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gatokae Island
sydney,australia
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Return to Wilderness”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We returned to Wilderness( a year later) and loved it just as much as the first time.If anything the food was even better than before and plenty of it.It has such a relaxed atmosphere and you can never tire of the view from the bungalow veranda.
The only disappointing thing about this visit was the fact that there were only cold water showers whereas last year we had warm water each evening.Due to all the rain the overall temperatures were much cooler so the water seemed even colder. Please bring back the water heaters,they are very much appreciated.

Room Tip: Book a beach bungalow not a lodge room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hamilstra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
20
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Wilderness Lodge has so much to offer. Just getting there from Uepi Is - after 3 hours in a motorised , uncovered long boat, with mountainous waves and torrential rain - an unforgettable adventure. Gatoke airstrip offers a quicker entry.
The staff are very friendly; the food is plentiful and delicious; the bungalows on the beach are clean, comfortable, private, with great view of the lagoon. The nearby villages are interesting to investigate and you are always greeted with a smile. Many varied activities are on offer - visiting the nearby Biche village is an absolute must and the trek back is highly recommended.
You need to swim 100m to the outer reef to see some excellent coral. A two seater kayak is available and its possible to tie it onto an outer mooring while exploring the outer reef.
You will need to do some guided trips away from the outer reef (which tend to be expensive) if you are hoping to see schools of colorful fish. Uepi Is is more suited for this with its sharks and plentiful large fish.
We were there during the trade winds of July. Avoid this season if you want your swimming to be in less choppy water. Also be flexible with your time - Solomon Airlines departures are dependent on the weather - delays are common.

Room Tip: The two beach bungalows are more expensive but are definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank peter m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

This small lodge and two bungalows is in a private area set apart from the village of Peava on Gatokae Island. Solar power, good design, and spring-fed water make this a comfortable place without rumbling generators and air-cons; only the swish of the waves, the laughter of the kids and the crowing of the cocks disturb the peace.
Although it is outside the more well-known Marovo Lagoon, Peava has its own lagoon in front. The snorkelling is world class, especially the "Peava Wall" where the coral reef falls away into blue depths 400m deep. We did not do the many other activities that are offered, being very content to hang out in our bungalow and explore Peava Lagoon on a double kayak that is free to use. The Marovo region is famous for its carvers, and a simple request was enough for an extensive private showing to be arranged. This is done in the village to preserve the privacy of the Lodge.
The food was plentiful and very good, making creative use of local ingredients - what can be better than a huge plate of tropical fruit for breakfast? Dining out on fresh tuna and pineapple shashlicks on the deck overlooking the lagoon was pure pleasure. Chilled wine, beer and soft drinks are available from the small solar powered refrigerator.
Getting there by light plane and then motorized canoe is part of the adventure. Plan enough time for things to go wrong at Solomon Air. The main problem is that the airstrips get damaged in wet conditions, and flights get re-routed. Neither going nor returning did our flights go according to schedule. A dump of rain can temporarily close the strip at Gatokae.
The bungalows are only 2 years old, and offer all the comfort of facilities that Westerners expect, with high standards of cleanliness. There is a toilet and handbasin in the room, with the private open-air shower a few steps away outside. The lodge facilities are older and are shared, but are clean and perfectly good.

Room Tip: The bungalows have a double bed at either end, with shared toilet facilities and a small sitting are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank richard_barcham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnie, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2012

I travelled to a number of resorts within the Solomons, and the Wilderness Lodge was definately my favourite! Myself and a friend travelled together and we both loved it, and haven't stopped raving about it to our friends and family. We really appreciated the eco friendly approach, and the way they have fitted into the local environment and culture.
We arrived after a few days of roughing it, and long days of travel by boat, and it was so lovely to see the beautiful bungalows and the comfortable queen sized beds. The rooms are serviced every day, and anything that you could think of needing is provided. The wooden carvings around the resort are exquisite, and we met the man who did most of them and he proudly described the process to us which was fascinating.
The staff are so friendly and accommodating, especially Ronnie, who took us on walks, and had the answer to any question we asked.
The snorkelling is great, both around the jetty, and at the reef wall which is about 100m from the jetty. You can also go to the islands around Wilderness, just a short boat ride away.
We visited Biche village, which I would 100% recommend to anyone visiting Wildnerness. It was an amazing experience which I will never forget.

Wilderness has something for every traveller, whether you want to just relax on the deck of your bungalow, go for a 2 day trek through the rainforest, surf, fish, or snorkel. I am already planning my next visit!

Room Tip: It's worth spending the little extra to get a bungalow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney,australia
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2011

We have just returned from the Solomons and I am already planning my return to Wilderness Lodge, it was perfect in every way providing the right balance of simplicity with comfort.The beach bungalows are delightful, well set out ,spacious and kept immaculate by the charming staff who serviced daily.I loved the wooden louvres and the beautifully carved wooden poles that were part of the structure.
The food was fresh and bountiful, loads of fresh fish and fruit.The kitchen staff were very obliging with any special requests.
My son who is a keen fisherman found the fishing excellent. We enjoyed the snorkelling and in particular the Biche Is tour.It was the best place to purchase quality wooden, woven and stone items but it was the history that had us captivated.
The information booklet provided in each room was detailed and informative, it was invaluable in helping us get the most out of our stay.
This is a well managed and well maintained resort.The kitchen staff, the room staff, the manager and our main boat driver Stuart are all to be commended.

Room Tip: book a beach bungallow. The lodge rooms are basic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hamilstra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munda, Solomon Islands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2011

I've been to many resorts in the Solomons now, and Wilderness certainly takes the cake! Its exquisite bungalows leave no detail overlooked. Everything is done with care for the environment and local culture without compromising on the luxury. The hardest thing was deciding whether to head out on one of their many tours or enjoy the delightful surrounds of the beachfront bungalows. No, I lie, the hardest thing was to leave!

Room Tip: Splash out - stay in the new beachfront bunglows
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IngridMarcos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2009

Myself, my partner and my father stayed at the Wilderness Lodge in July 2009 for approx seven days. We were picked up from Uepi by the lodge and even though the weather was truly terrible (pouring rain, wind, waves etc), the trip was not too bad. The driver was excellent and made sure our trip was as comfortable as possible.
When we arrived we were thrilled to discover that hot water was available! First hot shower after about a month! Cory was not there when we arrived but appeared shortly afterwards to welcome us. Due to a mix up with our travel agent (or some misunderstanding at some point) we thought we had booked two rooms ie the whole lodge, as we needed a room for my father, and a separate room for me and my partner. So we were quite dismayed to find that only one room had been reserved. Cory was very helpful in sorting out this problem, and arranged for us to also be able to stay in his own dad's bungalow a short distance down the beach. This was a very nice self-contained bungalow - actually much more spacious than the room in the lodge. We were very lucky that this extra space was available, as otherwise it would have made for a very cramped and not-too-pleasant stay. It's important to realise that the accommodation is reasonably basic, and that the two rooms in the lodge are quite small and share a common wall and bathroom. You eat all your meals with the guests staying in the second room, and are in very close contact, so you would want to get along pretty well with them! Booking the whole lodge for two couples would be ideal. Everything was very clean, and it was no problem sharing a bathroom.
So having sorted out the initial accommodation problem, everything else ran fairly smoothly. The female staff were fantastic and friendly. We were lucky because the other two guests were very keen on fishing, and we benefitted from their great catches everyday! Lots of good yellowfin sashimi, spanish mackerel, BBQ'd wahoo etc. Food highlights were the chilli mudcrab - outstanding! Also lots of fresh fish, crays etc. Generally we were very happy with the food and felt the staff went to a lot of trouble. We even enjoyed trying the sea snail pizza!
This was our final destination in the Solomons so it was compared to the other places we had stayed. After the absolute pristineness of Tetepare it was a bit sad to see some rubbish etc in the forests around the villages and on the walks. I would urge the lodge to do absolutely everything they can to maintain the natural environment! But being in a village environment did have many positive aspects as well - it was great to interact with the locals and children and visit the gardens and school etc. Overall, once we walked out of the village the natural environment was pretty much pristine, which was nice. Madali beach was dramatic and beautiful with the towering rainforest coming all the way down to the water. We also walked across the island to Kele River, which was a good walk and the river was nice to cool off in! As an aside, my La Sportiva trail runners just did not cut it for the slippery vertical mud slopes! Not sure what would have been better as it was very hot, wet, rainy etc. Sandals and crampons! We sadly didn't see the tree snakes we were looking for, but did see many small lizards and frogs, and some interesting birds. I encourage the guides to be confident and point out more things to guests eg medicinal plants etc as this is really interesting. But of course I understand that guides are still learning about what interests tourists.
We didn't dive during our stay but did do lots of snorkelling and free diving. The snorkelling around the end of the pier is ok, quite a lot of fish species. The outer reef of the lagoon is much better with good visibility and more variety. Only spotted a few reef sharks, one hawksbill turtle, one ray during our stay but I think if you spent more time on the outer reef you could see quite a lot. We took the boat to Bulo Island and the visibility was fantastic, 40m +. Probably would have been better to dive, but snorkelling was still lots of fun with bigger fish species eg bumphead parrot fish etc.
Overall we enjoyed our stay, here are the highlights and some suggestions:
- Chilli mudcrab was a definite highlight! How often do you get all the mudcrab you can eat, while dining out under the stars with the ocean lapping right by the table?
- Relaxing at the lodge and enjoying the library of Solomon Islands books.
- Watching the children play in the lagoon everyday after school in their tiny dugout canoes!
- Bulo Island snorkelling
- Amazing fishing
- Playing with Cory's pet baby hornbill
- Nice carvings available at the lodge
Some suggestions:
- We would have liked to have a few more chats with Cory as we didn't really see much of him after the initial welcome. It would have been good to have some recommendations for activities etc.
- Boat trips available to look for dolphins, whales etc. Cory mentioned that humpback whales were around the first day we were there - it would have been great to see some up close!
Other than that it was really nice - highly recommended for relaxing, fishing, snorkeling, hiking...! This is a very special part of the world and everywhere we stayed we enjoyed for different reasons. If you're thinking of travelling to the Solomons, you won't be disappointed! It's absolutely safe, very friendly, and outstandingly beautiful. Feel free to contact me if you would like any more info, and have a look at my other Solomon reviews too.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank neareststar123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gatokae Island
0.0 mi away
Imagination Island
Imagination Island
#2 of 3 in Gizo
12 reviews
0.0 mi away
Heritage Park Hotel Honiara
0.0 mi away
King Solomon Hotel
King Solomon Hotel
#2 of 7 in Honiara
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Gizo Hotel
Gizo Hotel
#3 of 3 in Gizo
84 reviews
0.0 mi away
Solomon Kitano Mendana Hotel
0.0 mi away
Honiara Hotel
Honiara Hotel
#4 of 7 in Honiara
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wilderness Lodge

Property: The Wilderness Lodge
Address: Peava Village | Gatokae Island, Gatokae Island, Solomon Islands
Location: Solomon Islands > Gatokae Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gatokae Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a coral lagoon on Gatokae Island at the southeastern tip of the Solomons' Western Province, the wilderness lodge offers unique access to the rich natural and cultural world of Marovo Lagoon.Catering for a maximum of 12 guests the private Wilderness Lodge has been designed to meld the atmosphere of the Gatokae rainforest, ocean, and neighbouring small village with Western comforts and convenience. Oceanfront bungalows feature traditional sago palm leaf roofs and polished hardwood interiors for the ultimate in cool tropical living.Enjoy real Melanesian hospitality with your Marovo hosts Waelinah and Vaelathy and unique local experiences and genuine adventure with the Wilderness guides. Our all Solomon Island staff has been trained here in Peava, and years of experience and integration have created a unique example of culturally- and environmentally-sensitive tourism. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Wilderness Lodge Solomon Islands/Gatokae Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing