We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An incredible experience in a dream like setting”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kavieng
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lissenung Island Resort
nyc
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“An incredible experience in a dream like setting”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

In short: Paradise

The extended version: From the moment we arrived in Lissenung, we wad fallen in love with the place. Dietmar and Ange, the handsome & convivial couple who have built Lissenung with their own hands (and hearts) go over and above to make guests feel welcomed. Also Victoria a beautiful and intelligent fresh faced PNG native takes a very personal interest in your stay. Of course "Uncle P" who you'll probably meet as well. He is kind, charming and makes you laugh with his stories. Everyone makes sure that you have everything you need and that you are perfectly well looked after without being overly intrusive.. The entire staff on the island are full of smiles and are there to help you with whatever questions you may have. Also to ensure your trip is remarkable.

The sleeping accommodations are private, lovely and comfortable - they have everything you need. Your sleep on Lissenung will as deep as the surrounding waters (that's a guarantee). Every morning you will rise refreshed and excited to explore a day of activities or a day of nothing at all. (I prefer the latter - that's just me)

For someone like me, who isn't a "diver" per-se, the island provided my partner and I with more then we could have imagined. We "opted out" of deep dive days and instead choose to snorkel around the entire island, several times! The amount of marine life on the "home reef" is abundant. With color, vibrancy and more little (and big) fishys than you can count.

This hidden treasure is brimming with beauty, we had our own private beach, pristine bath-like water to swim in, cuisine prepared with fresh fare from the surrounding waters and markets in Kavieng - My favorite was the Tuna Tataki! A tour of the surrounding area and were privileged to meet the local community and it's inhabitants. A rather inspiring and centering experience for a city-dwelling New Yorker like myself.

The island is extremely eco-conscious. Dietmar and Ange have created an intricate system of running water that is powered by mother natures rain water. You will never be short on it however they are kind to the environment and suggest that you are as well by reducing your waste by being aware of usage - something we should ALWAYS do!

In brief, coming to a place like this as a multitude of glorious benefits. It heals your soul and soothes your mind from the outside world of impeding distractions. There is something very luxurious about completely removed from any and all distraction, Lissenung is a retreat that you never want to leave and will be conflicted about amplifying it's charms as you'll want to selfishly keep it to yourself. This brilliant diamond in the Solomon Sea is where you should venture If you want to truly engage paradise and discover a place like no other.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank urbantravelernyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ange073, Owner at Lissenung Island Resort, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Hi Patrick & Chris,

Thanks so much for the awesome comments. We loved having you guys, it's just been too short! Next time there is a triathlon in Oz, you have to come and visit again. And if Dietmar and I ever make it to NYC, we'll definitely let you know.

Take care,
Ange & The Gang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    19
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
5
40
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Been to Ange and Dietmar's place twice, at two different seasons spanning a few years and have seen different things on both visits. A world away from the other diving "resorts" in PNG...not even going to mention the other ones as they don't come close to this one. Yes, you can see different things under the water in those other places, but what those other places don't have are two people and a dedicated staff who go out of their way to ensure you remember Lissenung for all the right reasons.

If you want a Hyatt holiday with guaranteed cake and ice cream above and below the waves and lots of cringeing and fawning to make you feel good about your income, then go to Mexico and buy your way out of your over-inflated self worth. At Lissenung, you begin to get what it is to be an islander in New Ireland: physically, mentally and, if you want, culturally too.

Below the waves, there are some Maldivian currents (with appropriately impressive pelagics) alongside some delightfully easy going swims made all the more pleasant by some small boat trips that hurl you back through time as you pass tiny little South Sea settlement; or individuals on outriggers fearlessly solo diving in ocean swells. Above the waves, Dietmar and Ange are enthusiastic advocates of the local culture and can open your mind to Malagan society. A more rounded experience and lovely place isn't, yet, to be found in PNG.

Room Tip: Basic rooms and some are semi-detached. But get used to South Sea Island life!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zardoz59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ange073, Owner at Lissenung Island Resort, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Thank you so much for your awesome comments, guys! However, I have to say the other resorts in PNG are also very nice.
You are absolutely right though, we don't do fussy and over the top, but relaxed and familiar. That tends to try to make our guests wishes happen a lot easier, we all have a lot more fun in the process, and yes, you learn much more about island style in PNG that way.
Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

This was the most relaxing two days of my 8 months in PNG. The food was great, the company entertaining and the island was a wonderful haven of peace and tranquility. The snorkeling was amazing - I have never seen so many different shapes and sizes of fish and the divers all seemed to be having a good time. We had our own beach, a lovely balcony and when we arrived the room was immaculate with lovely hibiscus flowers everywhere.

Room Tip: They all seem great but one room has a brilliant view of the sunset - if you are a couple as for tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ange073, Owner at Lissenung Island Resort, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Lisa, many thanks for your lovely comments. We loved having you and Elles, and I'm sorry there were no turtle eggs to be found the day we went to Ral Island. But hopefully, we'll see you back again one day soon! Take care, and have fun in Port Moresby!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

What more can be said about this lovely place… Liz and I spent 10 wonderful days here, 4 of which we were the only guests. I could not think of a better way of escaping the craziness of Port Moresby. Peace and quiet, everyone was super friendly, food was great, the house reef is unsurpassed we snorkelled each day and every time there was something different to see. The surprise private dinner on the beach on our wedding anniversary was wonderful and unexpected.
Ange and Dietmar are great hosts, after only a short time you feel like you are one of the island family (if only for a couple of days). A special thankyou to Nozaki and Victoria who were super friendly and real assets to the island resort. Loved the special trips to look for Turtle nests and snorkelling over the giant clam collection. All up a great holiday and we will be talking up the place to all in Port Moresby looking for some R&R. Hope to return someday.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoli_Zoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ange073, Owner at Lissenung Island Resort, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Hi Liz & Shawn, thanks so much for your lovely comments, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. Nozaki and Vicki went to Ral 2 weeks later at full moon and discovered a nest, plus we've had 2 turtles come to Lissenung to lay their eggs, so we'll be very busy with turtle babies in January! Do you have time to come and visit us then? Hope to see you soon, take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaggenau, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

The LISSENUNG Island Resort was our third lodging during our journey through Papua New Guinea. From Port Moresby with a short stopover at Rabaul we landed at Kavieng after 2.5 hours flight time. The feisty Nozaki was already waiting for us and after a 10-minute-ride by car we arrived at the boat bridge. From there we reached the LISSENUNG Island Resort within 20 minutes boat ride. Already during the boat trip we enjoyed a terrific sundown. Barely arrived on the island, we got rid of our shoes and enjoyed our remaining stay being barefooted because of the smooth sand.

LODGING:
The welcoming by the Austrian Dietmar Amon and his wife Ange was more than open-hearted. You just feel like arrived at home. While they both showed us the island our bags were already delivered to our room and the diving gear into the divers room. In front of each bungalow a bowl full of clean water is available so you can clean your feet first before entering inside. The rooms are really beautiful, inconspicuous integrated into the tropical garden and providing enough space for clothing and maybe an existing camera equipment. The bathroom is very roomy and perfectly cleaned up. The water on the island is obtained by rain water so it is self-evident for not taking a shower for hours but to protect the resources. Nearly every day the paths have been sweeped and fallen down branches cleared up. The rooms are just a stone´s throw away from the ocean and because of that responsible for privacy and romantic mood.

FOOD:
The breakfast can be ordered à-la-carte. Coffee is standing on a side table equally like water, juice and a plate with fresh fruits. Drinks can be taken from a fridge the whole day. Beside the fridge a tally sheet is hanging out so you can just help yourself with drinks and don´t need the service team – that´s tight!
Lunch is a dish served on a plate. The dinner is served in a 3-course-menue and always very tasty and balanced. It is very nice sitting all together so you can exchange your experiences and talk about the events of the day. Dietmar and Ange as well as dive-guide Nozaki always join. Just like one big family.

DIVING:
Two dive boats brought us daily to the numerous and stunning dive spots around Lissenung Island. There where not more than just 6 divers on the boat, always small groups of divers only. Perfect. From macro through current up to wreck dives, something for everyone´s liking. Sharks have been spotted nearly at every dive and the huge sea fans took our breath away sometimes. The house reef of the LISSENUNG Island Resort is a real firework of all shapes and colours. Depth maximum 9 metres and beautiful coral blocks with lots of life existing. After a detailed conversation with Dietmar we adepted that 8 of 9 different clownfish species found their home at this reef. According to a study there is a double present fishes as in the whole Caribbean. Also a night dive is really recommendable. As soon as it is getting dark the underbelly of the reef is waking up and all kind of crabs, shrimps and different critters are coming out. The dives are planed with all participants the evening before so that everyone gets his charge.

RÉSUMÉ:
We had wonderful 8 days at LISSENUNG Island Resort. For those who want to celebrate a relaxed stay and explore beautiful dive spots – you are definitely right here. The lodging, the location of the rooms and the island in common are impressing because of a unique Robinson-Crusoe-flair. Dive guides, service- and kitchen team were always very friendly and attentive. Every wish came true. The LISSENUNG Island Resort is managed very professional and lovingly by Dietmar and Ange. A stay on this island is a must-do while travelling through Papua New Guinea. For those who love the flair of a lonely island, unique dive spots and great diving – you will love it.


Mel & Dave

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lissenung010, Owner at Lissenung Island Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Hi Mel & Dave,

thank you very much for the great review. We're happy to hear that you had a good time here at Lissenung and also enjoyed the diving.

Hope to catch up with you at the BOOT Show in January.

Cheers
Dietmar & Ange
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
184 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

My husband and I had an AMAZING 10 days on Lissenung Island!
It is a tiny island that you can work around in half an hour on low tide. The snorkelling and diving right off the island is world class!! What is even more amazing is the 17 dives we did throughout our stay, going off every morning with a wonderful guide on a private boat to AMAZING reefs and wrecks! I have dived in Mexico and in Asia and it is just as good if not even better! What an amazing dive holiday it was!

What was even more wonderful is that I got to travel with my mother, father, sister and brother in law. We all had our own bungalows and privacy as well as coming together at meal times at a shared tabled with the other few guests on the island (only 15 people or less can stay on the island at one time). We really really enjoyed these shared meal times with other travellers and the food was outstanding!!!
My husband and I are vegetarian and we let them know prior to arriving so they could prepare for us. They had no problem and we were served delicious food with no fuss! If you didn't like something, they would accommodate for you happily. It was a great vibe!!

The couple that own the island are nothing short of INCREDIBLE! We loved meeting Ange and Deetmar who work very hard to make very little detail lovely, authentic and memorable! Everyday our room was made beautifully, the sand paths on the island are always swept, it is super clean and staff and super friendly. They are both very professional and have a wonderful knowledge and outlook into island living and PNG. Thanks for making our holiday amazing guys!!

Remember that Lissenung Island resort is an authentic gorgeous island resort. This is not the same as a USA amped up resort that you would find on the hotel strip in Cancun. This is an authentic island escape with thatched bungalows, sandy paths, coconuts falling on your roof, romantic sunsets etc...
Be prepared that this is still a natural island- SO you do get ants, mosquitos, geckos, fun animal chirping, humidity, sun rising early through the simple curtains in your room, no hot water in the showers, no mini bar fridge, intermittent wifi connection, windows with excellent screens but no shutters, tropical storms that come and go... We were completely into this and loved it! But I know not everyone is into this kind of atmosphere.. so have the right expectations and relax!
It was a true escape!
The room is always clean (made everyday), we never had a mozzi problem in the room (but bring repellent for evenings). Nothing bothered us- it was paradise!

We never got bored, we enjoyed so much the amazing service, diving, night dives, being taught how to climb coconut trees and crack them open, quality home made food, canoeing, snorkelling, did I say amazing diving?! haha

PNG is an amazing holiday location and Lissenung Island is definitely the place to stay!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikaela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lissenung010, Owner at Lissenung Island Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Hi Mikaela & Chris,

thanks a lot for the nice review.
It was great having you and your family here at Lissenung and we definitely enjoyed your company.

We hope your 'new' life in KL is treating you well.
Thanks,
Dietmar & Ange
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

An exceptional team in an exceptional place!
We stayed for a very relaxing week with some outings to close attractions.
We were well cared for by the lovely staff and felt included socially which was very nice.
As with most remote resorts the ample power system is provided by a 24hr generator which can detract from the tranquillity but this is soon forgotten as you explore the spectacular reefs and enjoy the company of dedicated people in the right job.
Our beautiful bungalow room was discretely tidied and cleaned everyday with "the island touch".
Every meal (without exception) was delicious and substantial. We enjoyed fish, chicken, lobster, crab and shellfish treats. Breakfasts are generous with plenty of choices between toast, eggs, cereals, all served by the excellent staff.
Meal times are communal which adds to the experience in the idyllic resort setting.
On the resort island alone you will find an incredible variation in plants, coral and fish. If you like to venture further the hosts offer a very wide range of packages of which most can be customised to your preferences.
Nothing was a burden to the team.
A Special highlight for us was the snorkelling trip to a near island, while we wallowed the guide cooked a magnificent BBQ lunch for us and provided local history and environmental info.
Make sure you canoe around the island.
Highly recommended destination, well worth surviving the PNG transit chaos.

Room Tip: Rooms 7 & 8 share a wall in the shower/toilet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bushlivin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ange073, Owner at Lissenung Island Resort, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Hi guys,

Thank you so much for your awesome comments! I have read out the bits about the food and room cleaning to our girls and they say a big Thank You for noticing, and telling other people about it. When they left the office, they were all an inch taller than before. ;)
The full day island village tour is indeed hugely popular and guests especially enjoy the island-style lunch.

Thanks for being such lovely and easy going guests. Hopefully, you'll brave Port Moresby again some time soon for another visit.

Till then, take care,
Ange
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lissenung Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lissenung Island Resort

Property: Lissenung Island Resort
Address: P.O. Box 536, Kavieng 631, Papua New Guinea
Location: Papua New Guinea > Islands Region > Kavieng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Kavieng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lissenung Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine a small tropical island covered in palm trees, surrounded by a white sandy beach, a beautiful house reef and some of the best diving, snorkeling and surfing in the world. Lissenung Island is located just a 20-minute boat ride from the airport in Kavieng, New Ireland Province. Nestled amongst natural surrounds traditionally-built bungalows accommodate a maximum of 14 guests. Forget your high heels, suits and ties; barefoot, tropical attire is our dress code. The open sided restaurant is where local and international cuisine is served, with local seafood featuring high. Breakfast, lunch & dinner are included in the rates, which are per person. At Lissenung Island Resort, personal service is guaranteed and a visit here is truly exclusive! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lissenung Island Hotel Kavieng
Lissenung Island Resort Papua New Guinea/Kavieng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing