We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Franz Josef Montrose
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Would definitely recommend Montrose to any friend heading to Franz Josef. From the staff recommendations for Franz and Fox (try the pizza at Neve) upon check in to the cleanliness and amenities, we loved our 2 night stay (double room upstairs).

Very clean! Great location on the edge of town - close to walks, next to Blue Ice Bar (the most happening place in FJ). Parking available. Large kitchen and lounge room facilities. The hostel seemed to be busy with guests in the morning and evenings, but our upstairs room was quiet, spacious, and comfortable.

My only wee complaint would be that there was no line to hang laundry on - only dryers.

Room Tip: We had the corner double room at the top of the stairs in the main building and it was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (253)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

178 - 184 of 253 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2012

The staff at Montrose were so lovely, helpful and accommodating.

Everything was really clean and organised. The kitchen was well equipped, and there was a really good selection of board games, dvds and books if you wanted to chill at the hostel.

I thought the rooms were spacious and comfortable. Our top bunks didnt have rails, but when we brought this up to the owner, he was really lovely about it and actually put rails on the beds for us then and there! Really sweet and helpful.

They also had 2 computers with internet that people could use for free which was awesome, but with only 2 computers, it was hard to get on them. Because there was no wifi, this made it a bit tricky for guests who needed the internet.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noosag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

We had a friendly welcome from the team after they found our booking, they had mistakenly written it down for the following night. Our room was in a separate block to the main building and the guy from reception said we were the only people in there. It had a huge fairly new kitchen and lots of tables and chairs and sofas around a big flat screen TV. He said we could use the main kitchen etc but we enjoyed the peace and quiet of having an area to ourselves! Our double room was basic with just a bed an a TV on the wall. We had an ensuite which was fine and there were towels supplied, always a luxury when you're travelling. The only problem we had, which was no fault of the hostel, was a large noisy party going on til the early hours in the garden of the next door property so we had to sleep with ear plugs. 

After we had checked out the following morning they let us leave our car there and our food in the fridge while we went for a helicopter ride. Overall a good overnight stay and would return. 

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Montrose place is an okay place to stay.The guy at the reception was friendly and helpful. The rooms are quite small and would be rather squashy with everyones luggage etc in the room as well. There was plenty of parking and seeing the area is so small it was easy to walk to the restaurants, shops etc.

We had two bathrooms on the floor, one was combined toilet/shower, other was just shower and a seperate toilet. One thing was that the shower cubicles are rather small and if you are tall they are not the most comfortable. Would have been good to have had somewhere to put your shower items in the shower rather than the floor.

The lounge area is large but the kitchen set up is bizarre. With one cooking area in the lounge area and is just gas burners where you need to turn on a large exhaust fan so then you can't hear the tv as it is set to a certain volume and can't be altered. Some more cooking implements would have been great as well.

There was nothing wrong with this hostel but it is just pretty average for the price and I would maybe stay somewhere else next time

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunTan12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

There isn't much to complain about from the Montrose, but not much to recommend it either. Facilities are clean, if a bit oddly furnished. Our room was a bit cold and we had to pay extra to rent a towel, but since we only stayed one night we weren't too upset. The sauna is a bit silly (just a small wooden box with heat lamps), but the free DVD rental is nice and computers with internet are good if you can grab one. We stayed at another spot in town that we preferred more (it had better amenities for the same price), but there's nothing wrong with Montrose for a night or two.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank tcldenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

As we arrived Montrose at night, didn't really explore much. Kitchen size is ok, didn't use the facilities as we lack of time.
Parking is available.
TV area is really huge! There are 2 computers for the FOC internet.
We stayed in a triple, 1 bunk bed and 1 single. Got a basin inside but the basin's height is quite funny.
Shared shower and toilet is separated but within the same space.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Nt_Angel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Situated in the small Franz Josef town so pretty much within walking distance to all the shops and restaurants. Plenty of brochures and information for activities to do in the area. The lady at the reception was really friendly and helpful.

We stayed in a 4-bed dorm. The bunks were creaky and the room smelled a little musky but was fine after we opened the windows. Room was spacious enough for all of us. The bathroom was clean with a strong shower with warm water. There's even a sauna in another building but I didn't check that one out.

There are two computers for use downstairs and plenty of videos / DVDs for rent. Lounge area is huge with an equally huge TV, great for watching movies! Kitchen and dining area are spacious as well, definitely able to accommodate the peak-season crowd. kitchen facilities are adequate; I especially like it that they provided a huge pile of clean tea towels for drying the dishes. Everything was well-labelled and user-friendly. I was a little disappointed when I found that there was no tea bags in the free-tea tin.

Overall. It was a pleasant stay and definitely the place to meet and mingle with other like-minded travelers.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alienshu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Franz Josef
0.3 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,458 reviews
2.3 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
389 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Heartland Hotel Glacier Country
Heartland Hotel Glacier Country
#10 of 11 in Fox Glacier
18 reviews
9.8 mi away
Ivory Towers Backpackers Lodge
0.1 mi away
Glow Worm Accommodation
Glow Worm Accommodation
#3 of 14 in Franz Josef
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franz Josef Montrose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franz Josef Montrose

Address: 9 Cron Street | West Coast, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Franz Josef
Price Range: $42 - $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Franz Josef Montrose 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodge & Hostel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Franz Josef Montrose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montrose Backpackers Hotel Franz Josef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing