We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Franz Josef
Post
Inbox
Search

“Nice food in great location, recommended ”
Review of The Landing

The Landing
Ranked #6 of 25 Restaurants in Franz Josef
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Really nice menu with well prepared and tasty meals. Not the cheapest option in town, but not at all pricey for what you are getting. I stayed two nights in Franz Josef and ate here both nights

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank garethj419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,803)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 23 of 1,803 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We enjoyed both dinner and breakfast here during our recent trip to Franz Josef. The staff were friendly and welcoming to our kids (and dog). The food was nice with great sized portions. Lovely coffee too! Thanks

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank MrsDeeBeeCHCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

They have indoor and outdoor seating area. We opted to sit outdoors. Friendly service. Portions are satisfying. We shared garlic prawns (delicious) , satay chicken kebabs (very good but not really satay) and lamb shanks (was a bit undercooked) . Good choice for lunch or dinner.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank WRashed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were strolling past and had a quick look at the menu out front, during this time we noticed a few amazing looking meals being brought out to patrons already seated and thought this place looks really good. A very polite lovely young waitress was walking past at the same time and asked if we were ok. We decided we’d eat here and she proceeded to find us the perfect table, made sure we were comfortable & had someone light the heater. Perfect service. Our table was waited on perfectly, meals came out quickly and were absolutely spot on!!
10/10 for service!! Some of the best I’ve ever had. YUMMY carbonara pasta for dinner that we both ordered & ate without leaving a scrap.
Highly recommend this restaurant for an all round fantastic experience!!
Thanks for having us

Date of visit: January 2020
1  Thank Lorettamolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Good brunch. Very attentive and friendly staff, really keen to make sure we were ok. Reasonably good value food which arrived quickly.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank L0zzaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Landing also viewed

Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 

Been to The Landing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing