We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special”
Review of The Landing

The Landing
Ranked #5 of 20 Restaurants in Franz Josef
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Shanghai
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I had the lasagne. Not very good. Way too much meat and little pasta inside. Started reading a book, that made waiters show up every few minutes to ask if I want something else. Yep, I left.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank RolandShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    466
    519
    219
    71
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hapert, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I ordered pork ribs and they were amazing. The meat was tender and the bbq sauce delicious. I would definitely recommend trying the pork ribs! My girlfriend ordered the 'mountain of nachos' and that course lived up to its name for certain. Overall a good service and a very friendly staff

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maurice J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tasty but expensive”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We had a great and tasty breakfast...but it was a bit expensive. We enjoyed the atmosphere in the morning

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Daniela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale, Pembrokeshire UK
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best food eaten in New Zealand”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

really vibrant atmosphere-delicious food and nothing is too much trouble the manager is top notch - he demands alot from his staff but boy they deliver and lively fun and efficient way. the outside seating is great - heaters if you are chilly umbrellas to shade of protect from the one day of rain on our holiday and boy did it bucket down all day. so it was agreat place to chill, do internet , talk to people and the food was lovely - i had local venison which was a dinner menu but again ask the chef and its fine to have at lunch - tender and delicious. the mussel chowder was to die for and whatever steve [husband] had made him smile and he loved it. we went to another speights bar further north and it was not as good so 10/10 for manager and staff. bloody good value too! huge plates full-doggy bag if too much and..... beautifully presented

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anna s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent service and good food!”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We loved the atmosphere at the landing and the service was fantastic! The food was good (not the best we have had) but we would definitely go again!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SteveandJulie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Landing also viewed

Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 

Been to The Landing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing