We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wouldn't Go Back Again” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Ice Cafe

Blue Ice Cafe
Ranked #1 of 19 Restaurants in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: New Zealand, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Wouldn't Go Back Again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

This came highly recommended but it was so very disappointing. We went in around 5.30pm so was a bit early but the waiter was not that friendly or warm as if we had interrupted something. As our table downstairs was not as cosy as one had imagined when looked from outside, we went upstairs to see if we could sit up there. But it is actually a bar upstairs with pool table so not really suitable for dinner. My Thai mussel soup had too much coconut in it so it was too heavy and creamy, my husband's steak was chewy.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AmrushaGaruda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    266
    214
    70
    24
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Outstanding restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

Everything was good venison, seafood and lamb. Good service, nice staff. Only thing good in Franz Josef - just stop for dinner and keep going.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Echuca
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love, love, loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

What's not to like?!
Picked up in a white stretch hummer, taken to the restaurant, ate great food, drank great wine, service was spot on and taken back home in the hummer!!!!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Erin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury UK
Level Contributor
154 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great little place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Good food, good service from a staff who actually cared about how your meal was - what more can you ask for.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank QJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, UAE
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very average meals and service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

My husband and I went here recently and to be honest after reading the other reviews on here it just didn't match up. Staff were fairly indifferent, took quite a while to come and take our order and appeared to be just chatting amongst themselves for quite a while. For the prices the food was just disappointing. My husband ordered the steak which was over $30 but came with what appeared to be packet/oven fries! I had a pasta which was really just nothing special and consisted mainly of a thick creamy sauce and limited fettuccine. For the price we were just expecting alot more. Dont think we will go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Aussibel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Ice Cafe also viewed

Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 

Been to Blue Ice Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing