We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love, love, loved it!”
Review of Blue Ice Cafe

Blue Ice Cafe
Ranked #2 of 19 Restaurants in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: New Zealand, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Echuca
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love, love, loved it!”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

What's not to like?!
Picked up in a white stretch hummer, taken to the restaurant, ate great food, drank great wine, service was spot on and taken back home in the hummer!!!!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Erin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    276
    224
    74
    25
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury UK
Level Contributor
154 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great little place”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Good food, good service from a staff who actually cared about how your meal was - what more can you ask for.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank QJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, UAE
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very average meals and service”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

My husband and I went here recently and to be honest after reading the other reviews on here it just didn't match up. Staff were fairly indifferent, took quite a while to come and take our order and appeared to be just chatting amongst themselves for quite a while. For the prices the food was just disappointing. My husband ordered the steak which was over $30 but came with what appeared to be packet/oven fries! I had a pasta which was really just nothing special and consisted mainly of a thick creamy sauce and limited fettuccine. For the price we were just expecting alot more. Dont think we will go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Aussibel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very pleased”
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

We've recently spent three very enjoyable days at Franz Josef glacier. We ate at the Blue Ice Cafe on recommendation of other TripAdvisor reviews.
We were certainly not disappointed.
Service was very good with waiter Nathan very capable and good knowledge of regional wine and food.
Thoroughly enjoyed the meal along with a surprisingly good range of wines by the glass....despite the reds being a little cold. Highlight of the evening were the green lipped muscles in a coconut milk, garlic and chili that provided a gentle heat to the dish.
Avail yourself of the free pick up and return service in the very well appointed, stretched Hummer… Very classy transportation!

Helpful?
Thank Kiernan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Very varied menu,reasonably priced. Venison was tender with a rich jus, just as I like it. The best Affogato I had in the whole of our trip. I don't know which ice cream was served but I think the chef is keeping it a big secret.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Ice Cafe also viewed

Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 

Been to Blue Ice Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing