We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but you should do this once in your life...”

The Helicopter Line West Coast
Book In Advance
More Info
$224.83*
and up
Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef
More Info
$224.83*
and up
Fox Glacier and Mount Cook Helicopter Flight
More Info
$174.87*
and up
Franz Josef Neve Discoverer Helicopter Flight
Ranked #7 of 11 Tours in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discover the magnificent phenomenon of the glaciers. Experienced helicopter pilots share their knowledge whilst overflying the dramatic expanse of the Franz Josef and Fox Glaciers and snowfields, exposing extraordinary colours of ice flow, ice caves and pinnacles in this largely inaccessible alpine region. All flights feature a snow landing. Alternatively combine a scenic helicopter flight with an unforgettable guided helihike amongst the glacial ice formations with the professional and experienced Franz Josef Glacier Guides.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Last time we were in Franz Josef was around 20yrs ago so decided was time to go back and as a birthday present family had all put in money for us to do a glacier flight/hike. We didnt prebook as wanted to see what the weather was like on the day first. We managed to strike it lucky and get a perfect day, no wind, cloud and stunningly clear - to good to pass up a full scenic helicopter flight up Franz Glacier, full circle around Mt Cook (which was fully visible) land on Fox Glacier, flying back down the glacier back to Franz. - around 30-35mins in air and 5-10mins landed up the top of Fox Glacier for time in the snow and photos. BRILLIANT - and totally recommended if you get a clear day. 6 in the helicopter - 2 in the front and 4 in the back (seats swapped after stop). There is a weight limit (requires you to be weighed) so if you are last minute bookers like us have a back up plan incase you get bumped. Check in process very confusing with different companies sharing premises and while you book thru one company you fly thru another? It is expensive but it is something you should splash out and do at least once in your lifetime - especially if the weather is on your side. I would strongly suggest you dont prebook and wait until you are there and have an idea of the weather, go early in the morning - they pen at7.30am and run plenty of different flights very regularly throughtout the day so you are bound to be able to get on something. Staff all very friendly and professional

3  Thank kiwigreenman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at The Helicopter Line West Coast, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Hi there,
Thank you for your review. What a great birthday present from your family !! I am so pleased that the weather was spectacular and you got to enjoy your birthday present. It’s also good to hear that you found the staff to be friendly and professional as this is something that we strive to achieve. I do apologize that you found the check in process confusing, as we are a small community all of the operators work closely together I can understand that sometimes it gets confusing this is something that we will work on in the future.

Once again thank you for your comments from the Team at The Helicopter Line

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (275)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

227 - 231 of 276 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2012

We took the 30 min flight over both glaciers, landing in the pristine snow above Franz Josef. Luckily we had a blue sky day and had great view as far as Lake Mattheson and the Tasman sea on the way back. Put it on your bucket list.

Thank BrunoRenato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at The Helicopter Line West Coast, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Hi there,
Thank you for taking the time to review our Twin Glacier Scenic Flight, We are pleased that the weather was perfect for you to be able to take part in the flight, it truly is a great way to take in the beauty of the Glaciers.
From the Team at The Helicopter Line.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

This was the best thing we did on our trip to NZ and I recommend everyone go on. A 20 minute flight over the glacier and the surrounding environment as well as a snow landing on an adjacent mountain. We captured some amazing pictures, and memories that we'll have forever.

Thank ShereeC82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at The Helicopter Line West Coast, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Hi there
Thank you for taking the time to review our Neve Discoverer flight. It’s great to hear that you enjoyed your flight up to the Glacier and got to take in the beauty of the surrounding areas.
From the Team at The Helicopter Line

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Cant believe i paid a small fortune taking my family of 4 to Switzerland when the equivalent is just across "the ditch" in NZ.....
We took a ride from Fox Glacier, met a friendly Aussie girl at the office, she put us in a chopper flown by a friendly young local (?) guy, who got us to the top of the glacier&back with no bumps at all. Awesome stuff. Kids loved it. Worth the cost even though it's quick. (and no being shunted around by grumpy over-worked Europeans as we experienced at our last glacier adventure.)
Was so impressed i signed up with TA just to do this review

Thank LostOzzies A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at The Helicopter Line West Coast, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Hi there,
Thank you for taking the time to join Trip Advisor so you could review our Scenic Flight.
It’s great to hear that you and your family had an awesome time and got to experience our beautiful scenery without any bumps along the way, good to hear that our pilot and ground staff were helpful and friendly.
Enjoy the rest of your trip around New Zealand.
From the Team at The Helicopter Line

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We rolled into Fox Glacier township early arvo and saw the Helicopter Line office on the main street. We were greeted by friendly Tanya, who listened to our preferences&recommended the best trip for us. We appreciated her frank advice - weather not nice enough yet; the flight may be a waste of time right at that moment, she would not yet take any money but would book us in for early the next day (forecast looked good) so we would then get better value for money. We saw other choppers taking off; clearly the Helicopter Line are not a greedy mob! She also suggested we book through our particular motel to receive a discount - nice!

Next day, as Tanya had predicted, glorious sunshine, we rolled up to do the paperwork, were driven out to the heli-pad, and put in the very capable hands of our pilot, Lance. We had mentioned that as West Aussies we rarely see snow, so Tanya&Lance arranged for us to have a little extra time up on top of the glacier for a snow-ball fight. Thanks!!!!!

The flight was smooth and spectacular as we sailed in front of Cook then Tasman, and easy landing on the glacier. It was my first ever chopper-ride, and was thrilling. Once on the glacier Lance was chatty&very cluey about the area, and at no stage did we feel rushed or uneasy. The policy is to swap the seating around on each leg of the journey so everyone gets a go at the front (depending on size/weight of passenger; my son&i both sat up front on way up), but even in the back seat the views were fabulous.

It's only when you fly above the Fox&it's ancient valley you can grasp just how huge the glacier must have been during the last ice-age, and it is so hard to fathom even now such a large glacier exists amongst rain-forest and only kms from the coast.

This is a must-do when in the area. Yes, heli rides are pricey, but this was one of the most amazing things we did in NZ, and i thoroughly recommend the Helicopter Line for their service&professionalism&friendliness. Thanks Tanya&Lance for a very special experience.

1  Thank D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at The Helicopter Line West Coast, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Hi there,
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with The Helicopter Line West Coast. As we strive to offer excellent customer service it is great to hear Tanya and Lance have done an outstanding job informing you and your family about your best options available. We are also pleased that the weather cleared and you were able to take your flight and get in your snowball fight!! It is the best way to completely comprehend the beauty of the Glacier.
Once again thank you for your review from the Team At The Helicopter Line

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Helicopter Line West Coast also viewed

Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 

Been to The Helicopter Line West Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing