We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money - highly recommended.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent value for money - highly recommended.”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

I cannot rate the Bella Vista highly enough, I was very impressed to receive fresh milk on checking in, a good selection of hot drinks in the room, towels available from reception that we could take to the hot pools and free wifi.

The room which we had got at a very good rate on was very comfortable and warm.

The staff were excellent, particularly as we left something valuable behind in the room which they very kindly sent on to us. I would defintely recommend the Bella Vista to anyone staying in Franz Josef.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    152
    63
    12
    5
See reviews for
50
230
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Indeed Franz Josef is a small town with only one main street. The people there are friendly n warmth. We stayed at the Bella Vista Motel for 2 nights. When we arrived at the motel, the manager Adam was right outside to welcome us to his establishment. When we saw that we were traveling as a family he quickly without hesitation, reassigned us to a family suite. Now that is what I call impeccable service. The family suite was more than enough for a family of 4.with a fully stocked kitchenette.
When we were having problem getting from Franz Josef to Queenstown due to the rockslide. Adam worked with our travel agent n secured a charter plane to fly us over the Southern Alps so we can be on schedule with our tour of the Southern Island.
Thanks once again for your excellent service..... Indeed you made our vacation so much fun n enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asiantraveler-TRIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

The weather was pretty terrible when we stayed here, but even so, it was a very nice and comfortable motel. The bathtub was a nice bonus as it gave us the chance to relax after a fairly stressful drive (night time, very windy road in very windy conditions with heavy rain, not fun). The bed was very soft and comfortable, and the motel was nice and close to various eateries.

The room was a little smaller than I had expected, but it was still large enough to have our suitcases on the floor without us tripping over them to get to the bathroom.

Was clean and well presented, and I would be happy to stay there again if ever travelling through the area again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine_8_1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Franz Josef township itself is very small and unfortunately the glacier has receded a lot more than expected after four years (was there in Apr-May 2009). This time around, I visited with my mum and despite the nasty weather the day we were there, we spent two nights and eventually got to see the plateau between Fox and Franz Josef the morning we left the town.

That aside, Bella Vista accommodation was clean, affordable, quiet and the wifi access was great when forced to stay indoors because of the weather. There are a selection of DVDs in the lobby that we had access to and the staff were very helpful and friendly, even allowing us to borrow some umbrellas so we could at least do the glacier valley walk when the rain eased off a bit. The accommodation itself is very self contained but it isn't far to walk to the nearest pub or restaurant. The Wildlife Kiwi Experience is also just across the road and although the tickets were expensive it was great to see three gorgeous, rare little kiwis and learn about them too. There is also a nice Maori art/woodwork gallery at the edge of the town on the main road heading towards Fox Glacier.

Overall, Bella Vista gets the thumbs up from me and my mum and we hope to visit again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaisyHappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indonesia
Level Contributor
191 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Franz Josef is a small town..and really quiet there..maybe only 10 houses there..so nothing to do there especially in the afternoon or evening.
Bellas Vista has a good location,very near with intercity bus stop (5minutes walk) and supermarket and also franz josef glacier guide.
We booked family room with 5 beds,and so nice had 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms,and also full kitchenette .And something small but important for us,is free wifi,cause it's quite difficult to find it in new zealand..

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrysantha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Only stayed 1 night, but found the room very clean, comfortable bed, the receptionist was pleasant and very informative on where to eat and where to purchase petrol (service station was being upgraded). Would definitely recommend this motel. The only reason I didn't give it a 5 was because the heater was noisy during the night

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Stayed here for two nights on a recent trip around the South Island. Had stayed in the Bella Vista in Hokitika the night previously and we were again very happy with the accommodation. The room was clean, comfortable and spacious. Heater in the room and bathroom meant we were kept warm.
Receptionist was extremely helpful giving advice on what to do when and where was good to eat. Good little kitchen which was well equipped.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachagane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranzJosef007, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Hi,
I'm really glad you enjoyed you winter escape to the West Coast.
Thanks for your review!
Kind regards
Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.1 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
0.1 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#7 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.1 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier

Property: Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier
Address: 34 Cron Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Franz Josef
#7 Luxury Hotel in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are just a minute's walk to a variety of flights, glacier hikes, restaurants, the Wildlife Center with its Kiwis and the Glacier Hot Pools. Offering a range of modern studio accommodation including, spa bath, queen and twin studio, mountain view studio and larger one bedroom family accommodation. All accommodation includes in-room phones, free Wi-Fi, hairdryers, complimentary tea, coffee, drinking chocolate & fresh milk, fridge, small microwave, toaster and a hot water kettle. Some rooms have full kitchen facilities. Off-street parking, guest laundry and BBQ area are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Vista Hotel Franz Josef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing