We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Helpful staff and a good spot” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Franz Josef
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Helpful staff and a good spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Franz Josef township itself is very small and unfortunately the glacier has receded a lot more than expected after four years (was there in Apr-May 2009). This time around, I visited with my mum and despite the nasty weather the day we were there, we spent two nights and eventually got to see the plateau between Fox and Franz Josef the morning we left the town.

That aside, Bella Vista accommodation was clean, affordable, quiet and the wifi access was great when forced to stay indoors because of the weather. There are a selection of DVDs in the lobby that we had access to and the staff were very helpful and friendly, even allowing us to borrow some umbrellas so we could at least do the glacier valley walk when the rain eased off a bit. The accommodation itself is very self contained but it isn't far to walk to the nearest pub or restaurant. The Wildlife Kiwi Experience is also just across the road and although the tickets were expensive it was great to see three gorgeous, rare little kiwis and learn about them too. There is also a nice Maori art/woodwork gallery at the edge of the town on the main road heading towards Fox Glacier.

Overall, Bella Vista gets the thumbs up from me and my mum and we hope to visit again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaisyHappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    147
    62
    12
    5
See reviews for
49
223
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
indonesia
Level Contributor
191 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Franz Josef is a small town..and really quiet there..maybe only 10 houses there..so nothing to do there especially in the afternoon or evening.
Bellas Vista has a good location,very near with intercity bus stop (5minutes walk) and supermarket and also franz josef glacier guide.
We booked family room with 5 beds,and so nice had 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms,and also full kitchenette .And something small but important for us,is free wifi,cause it's quite difficult to find it in new zealand..

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrysantha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Only stayed 1 night, but found the room very clean, comfortable bed, the receptionist was pleasant and very informative on where to eat and where to purchase petrol (service station was being upgraded). Would definitely recommend this motel. The only reason I didn't give it a 5 was because the heater was noisy during the night

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Stayed here for two nights on a recent trip around the South Island. Had stayed in the Bella Vista in Hokitika the night previously and we were again very happy with the accommodation. The room was clean, comfortable and spacious. Heater in the room and bathroom meant we were kept warm.
Receptionist was extremely helpful giving advice on what to do when and where was good to eat. Good little kitchen which was well equipped.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rachagane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranzJosef007, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Hi,
I'm really glad you enjoyed you winter escape to the West Coast.
Thanks for your review!
Kind regards
Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingscliff, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Nice comfortable stay in a great little location...Receptionist was very helpful, friendly and informative for activities and meals around the town Motel offers a great location to everything you need for a relaxing stay

Room Tip: great location
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam H, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Hi Phil, Thanks for your review, Glad you enjoyed your time at Franz. The Alice May, Restaurant next door have just launched a new menu. The Venison Osso Bucco has become a new favorite! Cheers for staying with us.
Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

we stayed in Bella Vista for just a night as we traveled by the Tranz Alpine from Christchurch and reached the village only at evening. After checking in quickly we took the last coach to the glacier. The visit was worth it, though we wished we could have spent more time walking right up to the Glacier. We enjoyed a quiet walk in the village till late night, and had a sumptuous dinner. The morning was beautiful with the great view of the glacier. Breakfast was bread which had been supplied by the caretaker the night before. A tiny kitchenette provided the microwave and electric tea maker. It was simple and tolerable for a day. The room was quite small but clean. The great part was the view visible from just outside the room. The place was well located with all the eating joints very near. Actually everything was within walking distance. Take your own drinks etc as there were very few shops. The place could grow on you, but was fine for a day visit. Since it was October, the helicopter rides and all the trekking etc had yet to begin

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pratimagoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam H, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thanks for staying with us,
Traveling over to the West Coast from Christchurch on the Tranz Alpine Train sure is popular. It is a great service with a connecting coach picking you up at the Greymouth train station to arrive at Franz about 5.10pm. A $12.50 return shuttle bus can be arranged to take you up to the glacier valley car park from where you can wander up the glacier valley. It may have been raining a little the day you were here, the helicopters / trekking run all year round, weather permitting. There are lots of things to do on a rainy day including the Glacier Hot Pools / quad bikes and kiwi. Hope you enjoyed your NZ travels.
Kind regards
Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

A very comfortable motel, extremely convenient for the centre of the township, just a few minutes walk from the various tourist attractions. The reception was friendly and efficient, the room comfortable (the heating had been put on in advance), well appointed and with good car parking space. The motel was spotlessly clean and the cooking facilities in the room (electric hob, microwave oven, toaster, kettle and electric fry pan) very good. I stayed here for 9 nights so my review is based on a reasonable length of stay.

Room Tip: I had room 4 on the ground floor. Easy access to the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnandjac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.1 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,298 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
0.1 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
0.1 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#6 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier

Property: Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier
Address: 34 Cron Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Franz Josef
#7 Luxury Hotel in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are just a minute's walk to a variety of flights, glacier hikes, restaurants, the Wildlife Center with its Kiwis and the Glacier Hot Pools. Offering a range of modern studio accommodation including, spa bath, queen and twin studio, mountain view studio and larger one bedroom family accommodation. All accommodation includes in-room phones, free Wi-Fi, hairdryers, complimentary tea, coffee, drinking chocolate & fresh milk, fridge, small microwave, toaster and a hot water kettle. Some rooms have full kitchen facilities. Off-street parking, guest laundry and BBQ area are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Vista Hotel Franz Josef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing