We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Canterbury
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Comfortable and convenient”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

A very comfortable motel, extremely convenient for the centre of the township, just a few minutes walk from the various tourist attractions. The reception was friendly and efficient, the room comfortable (the heating had been put on in advance), well appointed and with good car parking space. The motel was spotlessly clean and the cooking facilities in the room (electric hob, microwave oven, toaster, kettle and electric fry pan) very good. I stayed here for 9 nights so my review is based on a reasonable length of stay.

Room Tip: I had room 4 on the ground floor. Easy access to the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnandjac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    156
    64
    12
    5
See reviews for
51
234
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We booked a one bedroom studio for our one night stay. This had 2 single beds in the bedroom and a queen bed in what really is the living area. There was also a kitchenette and a good sized bathroom with a spa bath.

Check-in was really easy and Adam gave some great advice about the town and the walks available around the glacier. He also had a book prepared about the various walks and other activities. It was really helpful. In our room another folder contained all the menus from the many restaurants and cafes in the area which again was really useful.

The beds were comfortable and once the electric heaters warmed up, the rooms were quite warm. It was really good being able to prepare breakfast in our room rather than go out and pay quite a bit for a few slices of toast.

The hotel was quite busy when we were there, but we had no problems with noise, even though our room looked onto the carpark. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: The studio apartment was really good value
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tripper2Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in a good location one street back from the main road close to everything, booking was easy staff are very friendly and welcoming. Booked a spa room which is what we got, but Spa was only a single spa which of course would suite some.
Over all we would stay here again, maybe not in a spa suite. Over all good value for money, clean and well maintained

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HamishQLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

The hotel is within walking distance to shops and helicopter pad.

Carpark is a little small, maybe difficult to navigate.

Typical motel rooms, which are small by Australia New Zealand standard, can be quite tight if you have luggage; but room and bathroom are clean, sleep is good. Expected for a ski area.

Price is reasonable.

Note: There is no mobile phone coverage once you start driving up the mountain, for approximately 4 hours (this is with Telecom NZ). You will only get mobile phone coverage about 15 minutes before arriving in town. If you need to call the motel before their reception closes, or call anywhere else, call before you start your trip up the mountains.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Azzsyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed at the Bella Vista for our time in Franz Josef - rooms are a bit small but comfortable and clean. The Motel is well located and staff friendly and very helpful. There are nice views of the Glacier from the motel.

Good value for money. Would definately recommend it to fellow travellers.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJIR_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knebworth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
302 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

If you opt to stay in a chain motel then you know that there will be a house style in all of them, so what's makes one different from another ? The attitude of the managers and staff is the answer and here Jill was great. Her demeanour was welcoming and she was very helpful in suggesting both a place to eat and pointing us towards the nearby hot pools, even giving us towels to take to avoid us having to hire them. The little things in the room were better too eg nice soaps; more TV channels; free wi-fi. Basically a functional, stop-over motel but because of the staff a very good one.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poconut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buderim, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights while we checked out the Franz Josef glacier and surrounding region. The motel is one street back from the highway so there was very little street noise. We felt that the room was quite small compared to other places we had stayed in New Zealand but noted that we had booked a "compact studio" room though the booking agency. All Bella Vista motels in New Zealand are apparently built to the same design and our identical motel in Hokitika had a larger room for a lower price. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable so we would just need to be mindful of not booking a "compact room" in future.

Room Tip: Don't take a "Compact Room"
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ozitravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.1 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#7 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,380 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,182 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
0.1 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
248 reviews
2.1 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier

Property: Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier
Address: 34 Cron Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Franz Josef
#7 Luxury Hotel in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are just a minute's walk to a variety of flights, glacier hikes, restaurants, the Wildlife Center with its Kiwis and the Glacier Hot Pools. Offering a range of modern studio accommodation including, spa bath, queen and twin studio, mountain view studio and larger one bedroom family accommodation. All accommodation includes in-room phones, free Wi-Fi, hairdryers, complimentary tea, coffee, drinking chocolate & fresh milk, fridge, small microwave, toaster and a hot water kettle. Some rooms have full kitchen facilities. Off-street parking, guest laundry and BBQ area are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Vista Hotel Franz Josef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing