We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“compact & friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Modern in decor, friendly in demeanor. WiFi was available for set hours, but when we needed a bit more, they accomodated our request. Excellent advice on where to eat. Comfortable and quiet paired with a location that allowed us to walk all over the town and really enjoy the surroundings. I would stay again and recommend you do the same.

Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank chawinflut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (355)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

248 - 254 of 355 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights and just needed a base to sleep as had a couple of busy days planned. Had a studio room which was as advertised, compact and good value for money. Also very warm which was appreciated! During my stay, chatted with the gents on reception about what I had planned, and they gave great tips on which trips, booking ahead, times to go and suggested other things to do in the area such as visiting Okarito. The local advise was much appreciated and spot on. Excellent location too, you can walk 5 mins max from here to the hot pools (motel gives you towels for these too), corner shop, cafes and bars. Would definitely stay here again, very good value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissyD000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed for one night in a compact queen. The room is as described: small but comfortable. These rooms are more suited for the single traveler or a couple. The hosts were very pleasant and kind.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yjrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

This was a pleasent surprise. The rooms were small compared with others we had visited on our travels. The rooms were clean, tidy and well serviced.There were laundary facilities.
What impressed us was the staff, who gave us excellent advice about reaching the foot of Franz Josef Glacier, and finding a location for 'gloworms'. THey even lent us the torches to find our way in the dark.
Good choice of eating venues, although a little repetative.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BREVID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Staff were extra friendly even when we arrived late. They helped us with information on food and where to get it at such late hour. Would recommend this hotel.
My only gripe if you would call it that and that is I found the room a little small to my liking but that's just me.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank duanenorrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

close to town and not a bad price, room is small but cosy , good heater as it was raining very hard when we arrived the room clean and tidy for us.Staff at front desk were very helpful letting us know what to do

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Having stayed in a couple of other motels at a similar price range I was pleasantly surprised when I arrived at Bella Vista FJ. Not only was the room and amenities modern, the kitchen was fitted out well, and the whole unit was clean and nicely decorated. We booked a family unit which adequately accommodated 3 adults (1 couple, 1 single) and our luggage. Adam the manager was extremely helpful, giving us tips on where to eat and what to do in the area, and lent us a couple of umbrellas when it was raining. It was winter so we expected the rooms to be cool however the small heaters and electric blankets soon took the chills away :)

Room Tip: Room 18 on the first floor has a great view from the bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cola1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.1 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,452 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,270 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
388 reviews
0.1 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#9 of 13 in Franz Josef
275 reviews
0 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier

Address: 34 Cron Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Franz Josef
#7 Luxury Hotel in Franz Josef
Price Range: $88 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are just a minute's walk to a variety of flights, glacier hikes, restaurants, the Wildlife Center with its Kiwis and the Glacier Hot Pools. Offering a range of modern studio accommodation including, spa bath, queen and twin studio, mountain view studio and larger one bedroom family accommodation. All accommodation includes in-room phones, free Wi-Fi, hairdryers, complimentary tea, coffee, drinking chocolate & fresh milk, fridge, small microwave, toaster and a hot water kettle. Some rooms have full kitchen facilities. Off-street parking, guest laundry and BBQ area are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Vista Hotel Franz Josef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing