We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Quiet Location”
Review of 58 On Cron Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
58 On Cron Motel
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch,New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Clean and Quiet Location”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed in a 2 bedroom motel unit with a full kitchen which was nicely laid out and spotlessly clean. In a lovely location opposite the hot pools and the end of the village - close enough to walk anywhere for dinner but beautifully quiet. Lovely friendly service from all of the staff.

One slight niggle was that we found it difficult coming in wet (it rains a lot on the West Coast) as there was no covered space outside the unit and straight onto the carpet when inside.

Overall, a lovely comfortable base to explore the wonderful walks and scenery on offer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MadHattor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    183
    33
    6
    1
See reviews for
119
268
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Our 2 bedroom unit had heaps of room for 2 adults and 4 big teenagers. Really well equipped with everything you could possibly need. Across the road from the hot pools and down the road from a great little restaurant called Alice May Bar & Restaurant. Very quiet surrounds, had a great sleep and super friendly helpful staff. Great place to stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the last unit on the right and it was really quiet, warm, great decor and very comforta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

I highly recommend the 58 on Cron Motel for people staying in Franz Josef. The motel is clean, well located and has truly excellent service. The staff helped us figure out things to do in the area after our plans to see the glaciers were cancelled due to rain (which is apparently a very common occurrence). Thanks to the staff's help, we still had a great time on the west coast of NZ's south island. Another plus is the free DVDs that you can borrow (and you probably will want to considering how much it rains in Franz Josef).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BerkeleyCaveman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Really enjoyed our one night here. Staff were friendly. It was a cold rainy day, but we arrived to a warm and exceptionally clean room! Couldn't be happier - the room was spacious, modern, equipped with everything you'd need. The shower was great!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2beros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Brilliant friendly welcome on a wet day after a long drive from Wanaka. Gave us lots of options for the wet afternoon. The room was spotless, spacious and well equipped. You could have eaten off the floor.

Room Tip: Looked to me like they were all of the same high quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

My wife and I stayed 1 night. Owners very welcomimg and even provided a litre of milk. Room spotless and surrounding mountains provide wonderful ambience. Plenty of places to eat in walking distance and staff very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Spent 1 night at 58 on Cron. The room was clean and comfortable-enjoyed the electric blanket provided. The person at the desk was friendly and helpful and recommended several places to eat. (Ate at Alice Mays and really enjoyed it). Would recommend this place and would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.1 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,169 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,365 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
357 reviews
0.1 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#7 of 13 in Franz Josef
248 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 58 On Cron Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 58 On Cron Motel

Property: 58 On Cron Motel
Address: 58 Cron Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7886, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Franz Josef
#2 Family Hotel in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — 58 On Cron Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
58 on Cron is set amongst beautiful rain forest but just a 5 minute stroll to the village. We are also conveniently located across from the Glacier Hot Pool complex. The Motel is architecturally designed for the discerning traveller and each unit is fully equipped with everything needed to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. Our guests enjoy 50+ Channels of Sky TV and Free WI-FI Access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your 58 On Cron Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
58 On Cron Hotel Franz Josef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing